The International Booker Prize archives: award winners

Time Shelter, written by Georgi Gospodinov and translated by Angela Rodel, has won the 2023 International Booker Prize for Translated Fiction. The book introduces a ‘clinic for the past,' an institution which offers those suffering from Alzheimer’s an inspired treatment: each floor reproduces a past decade in minute detail. Time Shelter is the first book translated from Bulgarian to win the International Booker Prize.

Each year, the International Booker Prize is awarded to a book translated into English and published in the United Kingdom or Ireland. It is intended to recognise and value world-class fiction on a global basis.

In 2005, the International Booker Prize was awarded for the first time still under the title of the "Man Booker International Prize". Early winners include Ismail Kadare (2005), Chinua Achebe (2007), Alice Ann Munro (2009), Philip Milton Roth (2011), as well as Lydia Davis (2013) and László Krasznahorkai (2015). The aim of the prize is to encourage the reading of high quality fiction from around the world and also to appreciate the work of translators.

The prize is worth £50,000, which is shared equally between the author and the translator. Additionally, each shortlisted title receives £2,500.

International Booker Prize-winning books

By Georgi Gospodinov
By Geetanjali Shree
By Marieke Lucas Rijneveld
By Jokha Alharthi
By Olga Tokarczuk
By David Grossman
By Han Kang


More essential reading lists

20 October, 2021
Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time high fantasy series is epic in more ways than one. There are 14 novels where Jordan creates an imaginary magical world in immense detail and introduces thousands of good and evil characters.
1 Min Read
10 November, 2021
The mythical, the magical, and the magnificent! Fairy tales are some of our earliest stories and for centuries, children and adults alike have pored over the tales of princes and princesses, beasts and fairies.
1 Min Read
26 November, 2021
Books published by Black authors between 1850 and 1930 are rarely referenced in recommended reading lists and appear largely forgotten. Our list of 25 forgotten books by African American authors includes novels, memoirs, autobiographies, short stories and essays, poetry, and investigative journalism.
1 Min Read