Books

The best fairy tale books

The mythical, the magical, and the magnificent! Fairy tales are some of our earliest stories and for centuries, children and adults alike have pored over the tales of princes and princesses, beasts and fairies. Here are ten amazing fairy tale books ranging from Scottish folklore to a modern take on unicorns to unforgettable classics from Andrew Lang, The Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen. Harry Potter fans will be delighted to find a little magic from J.K Rowling. Children will love the vibrant illustrations, while adults will enjoy these timeless tales.

10 essential fairy tale books

By Hans Christian Andersen
From The Ugly Duckling to The Little Mermaid and The Emperor's New Clothes, this beautifully presented collection shares the eternal magic of these stories with a selection of eight tales, each illustrated with sparkling vintage artwork from the 1890s to the 1980s.

By Gabrielle-Suzanne Barbot de Villenueve
Generations of readers have been bewitched by the epic love story of a beautiful young girl imprisoned in the magical castle of a monstrous beast. The classic fairy tale is brought to life in this spectacular illustrated edition as originally envisioned by Gabrielle-Suzanne Barbot de Villeneuve in 1740.

By Theresa Breslin
Slithering stoorworms, mischievious brownies, fierce kelpies and magical selkies - these are the creatures of Scottish folklore. Soar with the goshawk, dive with selkies and battle with the stoorworm, as each story is brought to life with exquisite illustrations by Scottish fine artist Kate Leiper, which brim with otherworldly beauty.

By Kate Forrester
The traditional stories of Ireland, Scotland, Brittany, and Wales transport us to the fantastical world of Celtic folklore. Translated and transcribed by folklorists in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the 16 stories in this compilation conjure forgotten realms and rare magical creatures in vivid prose.

By Brothers Grimm
This beautiful hardback anthology is based on the Grimm's popular 1857 edition and features 27 of their best-loved stories in a vibrant and meticulous new translation commissioned for this publication. The tales are accompanied by exquisite vintage illustrations from the past 200 years, including masterpieces from the legendary Kay Nielsen and British artists Walter Crane and Arthur Rackham.

By Andrew Lang
From the day that they were first printed, the Lang fairy tale books of many colors have entertained thousands of children, as they have also brought pleasure to the many parents who have read these unforgettable classics to their children. The Blue Fairy Book was the first volume in the series and so it contains some of the best known tales, taken from a variety of sources from Grimm to Charles Perrault and Madame d'Aulnoy.

By J.K. Rowling
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Newt Scamander's classic compendium of magical creatures, has delighted generations of wizarding readers. With this beautiful, large-scale new edition illustrated in full color, Muggles too will have the chance to discover where the Runespoor lives, what the Puffskein eats, and why shiny objects should always be kept away from the Niffler.

By J.M. Barrie
For more than a century, the adventures of Peter Pan and Wendy Darling have captured the hearts of generations of readers. In this enchanting illustrated volume, the fantastical world of Neverland and its magical inhabitants, including the Lost Boys, Captain Hook, Tiger Lily, and the beloved Tinker Bell, are brought to life like never before.

By Selwyn E. Phipps
A vibrantly illustrated official guide to everything unicorn-related. With breathtaking artwork, this book is a veritable treasure trove of unicorn lore - the facts, the fiction, the where, why and what of these elusive creatures. Discover where unicorns really live around the world, how to find them, and what they eat. Learn how to look after them, what powers they have, how to tempt them, train them, and even ride them, and so much more.

By Catherine Gilbert Murdock
This epic and engrossing quest story by Newbery Honor author Catherine Gilbert Murdock is for fans of Adam Gidwitz's The Inquisitor's Tale and Grace Lin's Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, and for readers of all ages. Features a map and black-and-white art by Ian Schoenherr throughout.


Share

More children's books to explore

By Richard Davies
27 August, 2021
Biggles has been fighting off bandits at 2 o’clock since 1932. He’s legend of children’s literature and one of the great adventure heroes.
1 Min Read
26 August, 2021
See our list of the books you'll remember if you were a child in the 1990s.
1 Min Read
26 August, 2021
A key part of every childhood is the books we read. From authors like E.B. White, C.S. Lewis and Enid Blyton, we found words that opened our imaginations, and took us to strange, wonderful new realities.
1 Min Read