Items related to How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on...

How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours - Softcover

3.33 avg rating
( 459 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780670919147: How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Harry Mount's How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories.

Q. Why are English train seats so narrow?

A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots.

For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather.

You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow.

Praise for Harry Mount:

'Highly readable, encyclopeadic, marvellous, illuminating. Mount portrays England via dextrous excavations of its geography, geology, history and weather' Independent

'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion' Daily Mail

'Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed' Guardian

Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
A lovely book, very engaging and easy to read. There are chapters on weather and soil and stone, on the history of hedges or the making of suburbia, all of them infectious did-you-knows. Mount is a natural and enthusiastic sharer of knowledge (Evening Standard)

Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed (Guardian)

Lively, a delight. Mount's paragraphs explode with information . . . I love all this, want more, and am given it. The sort of book, in its temperament and in its detail, that has helped to make England English (Spectator)

Mount is as perceptive as he is obsessive, and time and again he skewers with unfailing accuracy some aspect of our national character (Mail on Sunday)

'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion (Daily Mail)
About the Author:
Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherPenguin
  • Publication date2013
  • ISBN 10 0670919144
  • ISBN 13 9780670919147
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages368
  • Rating
    3.33 avg rating
    ( 459 ratings by Goodreads )

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780670919130: How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  ISBN 13:  9780670919130
Publisher: Viking, 2012
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Mount, Harry
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Books of the Smoky Mountains
(Pflugerville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # newport0670919144

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
13.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.36
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Harry Mount
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780670919147

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
11.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Harry Mount
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, London (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. The English national character is principally an accident of geography and weather. In How England Made the English, Harry Mount scours the length and breadth of the country to find the curiosities, idiosyncrasies and peculiarities that have made us who and what we are.Harry Mount's How England Made the English- From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories.Q. Why are English train seats so narrow?A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots.For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather.You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too- the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow.Praise for Harry Mount-'Highly readable, encyclopeadic, marvellous, illuminating. Mount portrays England via dextrous excavations of its geography, geology, history and weather' Independent'Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion' Daily Mail'Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed' GuardianHarry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London Packed with facts and stories, this book helps you to learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; and why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780670919147

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
16.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Mount, Harry
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 16226590-n

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
14.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.08
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mount, Harry
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenDragon
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Buy for Great customer experience. Seller Inventory # GoldenDragon0670919144

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
16.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.56
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mount, Harry
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Byrd Books
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. In Never used condition. Seller Inventory # Nbynew0670919144

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
18.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.57
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mount, Harry
Published by Penguin (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New Paperback Quantity: 5
Seller:
Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9780670919147-GDR

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
11.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Harry Mount
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 16
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Packed with facts and stories, this book helps you to learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; and why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. Seller Inventory # B9780670919147

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
11.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mount, Harry
Published by Viking (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldenWavesOfBooks
(Fayetteville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. New. Fast Shipping and good customer service. Seller Inventory # Holz_New_0670919144

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
18.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.15
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Mount, Harry
Published by imusti (2013)
ISBN 10: 0670919144 ISBN 13: 9780670919147
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
LibraryMercantile
(Humble, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # newMercantile_0670919144

More information about this seller | Contact seller

Buy New
19.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.36
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book