Items related to A Crime in the Neighbourhood: Winner of the Women’s...

A Crime in the Neighbourhood: Winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction

3.46 avg rating
( 2,276 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140273328: A Crime in the Neighbourhood: Winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

10-year-old Marsha is in turmoil following the collapse of her parents' marriage, and the brutal murder of a local boy. When the shy bachelor from next door begins to take an interest in Marsha's mother, Marsha is drawn into a cruel spiral of events that quickly spins out of control.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A murdered boy, a runaway husband, a family spinning out of control-- Suzanne Berne's A Crime in the Neighbourhood is no ordinary coming-of-age novel. The narrator of this dark tale of 1970s suburbia is 10-year-old Marsha, who lives with her mother and older twin siblings in a suburb of Washington, D.C. In the spring of 1972, a young boy is molested, murdered and then dumped behind a shopping mall. That the child was not particularly likeable is just one of Berne's deviations from the expected, as clear-eyed Marsha recalls the boy's many character flaws, even as she relates the details of an undeniably horrifying crime. Though murder is the most visible crime in Marsha's neighbourhood, it is by no means the only one; when Marsha's father and aunt run off together, their enormous betrayal sends Marsha's mother into a tailspin and Marsha into a strange dalliance with Mr. Green, the neighbour next door.

A Crime in the Neighbourhood is a deft and provocative first novel that turns many of the coming-of-age conventions on their heads. There is nothing sepia tinted about Marsha's recollections of her childhood--the lives of 10-year-olds are mired in the mistakes of adults and the cruelties of other children. The pitiless eye Marsha brings to bear on the friends family, and acquaintances of her youth makes A Crime in the Neighbourhood an unusual and worthwhile read.

Review:

"A remarkable first novel...that captures the history of child-parent relations for the last quarter of a century."--The New York Times Book Review "Like Alice McDermott's That Night and in the tradition of Harper Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird, Suzanne Berne has crafted a child's disillusionment that mirrors a greater disaffection."--Newsday

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Suzanne Berne
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION'This ambitious account of a sudden coming of age reminded me strongly of To Kill a Mockingbird - and is every bit as moving and satisfying' Daily TelegraphIn the long hot summer of 1972, three events shattered the serenity of ten-year-old Marsha's life: her father ran away with her mother's sister; a young boy called Boyd Ellison was molested and murdered; and Watergate made the headlines. Living in a world no longer safe or familiar, Marsha turns increasingly to 'the book of evidence' in which she records the doings of the neighbors, especially of shy Mr Green next door. But as Marsha's confusion and her murder hunt accelerate, her 'facts' spread the damage cruelly and catastrophically throughout the neighborhood. 'It is impossible not to be completely swept along. Berne's vision is gently humorous, ironic, quirky, and she writes with such piercing sensitivity . . . a compelling debut novel' The Times 'Intensely evocative. I loved it' Observer'The writing is marvellous . . . comparisons have been made between her and Anne Tyler and Harper Lee. Same ball-park, delightfully different voice' Mail on Sunday. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780140273328

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Suzanne Berne
Published by Penguin 1999-05-06 (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New Paperback Quantity: 6
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-GRD-9780140273328

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Suzanne Berne
Published by Penguin Books Ltd 1999-05-06, London (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780140273328

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Suzanne Berne
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, London (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. In the long hot summer of 1972, three events shattered the serenity of ten year old Marsha's life- her father ran away with her mother's sister Ada; Boyd Ellison, a young boy, was molested and murdered; and Watergate made the headlines. Living in a world no longer safe or familiar, Marsha turns increasingly to 'the book of evidence' in which she records the doings of the neighbors, especially of shy Mr Green next door. But as Marsha's confusion and her murder hunt accelerate, her 'facts' spread the damage cruelly and catastrophically throughout the neighborhood. Told by a child, on the surface the story appears to be the naove observations of an imaginative mind, but it turns into something far more sinister. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780140273328

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Suzanne Berne
Published by Penguin 1999-05-06 (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-PEN-9780140273328

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Berne, Suzanne
Published by Penguin Group(CA) (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0140273328-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Berne, Suzanne
Published by Penguin Group(CA) (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Dust Jacket Condition: new. Seller Inventory # MBSN0140273328

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Berne, Suzanne
Published by Penguin Group(CA) (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9780140273328_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Suzanne Berne
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 8
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. 10-year-old Marsha is in turmoil following the collapse of her parents' marriage, and the brutal murder of a local boy. When the shy bachelor from next door begins to take an interest in Marsha's mother, Marsha is drawn into a cruel spiral of events that quickly spins out of control. Seller Inventory # B9780140273328

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Berne, Suzanne (Author)
Published by Penguin (1999)
ISBN 10: 0140273328 ISBN 13: 9780140273328
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 256 pages. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0140273328

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book