Penguin Drop Caps: beautiful books from A to Z

Created by Penguin Art Director Paul Buckley and illustrated by type designer Jessica Hische, Penguin Drop Caps is a series of 26 rainbow-hued hardcover editions of literature's finest treasures. An edition for each letter of the alphabet, the series features authors from A (Jane Austen) to Z (Carlos Ruiz Zafon). You'll find contemporary literature under I (Kazuo Ishiguro) and K (Sue Monk Kidd), and poetry and prose under W (Walt Whitman). Adventure tales, Victorian romance and science fiction are here too, scattered throughout this eye-catching collection of desirable books.

The ABC of beautiful books

Watch our Colours of Penguin video

0:00 / 0:00
Video Companion
The Colors of Penguin


Discover more beautiful books

By Sandra Hindman
24 January, 2022
Books of Hours were medieval bestsellers. Sandra Hindman, an expert on medieval manuscripts, explains why these books were, and still are, so important.
8 Min Read
By Julie Oreskovich
27 August, 2021
The New Naturalist Series is an on-going series of books published by Collins that focuses on natural history. The series, famous for its dust jacket designs, began in 1945 with Butterflies by E.B. Ford and more than 100 titles have been published.
2 Min Read
27 August, 2021
Andrew Lang was a Scottish poet, novelist and literary critic, but his enduring legacy is not his prodigious writing. Lang is best remembered for his contribution to folklore and storytelling thanks to his 12-volume 'Fairy Books' collection.
1 Min Read