A History of Rome under the Emperors

3.5 avg rating
( 14 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780415101134: A History of Rome under the Emperors
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century.
Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth century, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. His fame rests on his History of Rome as well as his work on Roman law and on the Roman provinces. But the work that would have concluded his history of Rome - which ran to the reign of Augustus - was never completed. This book represents that great lost work.
In 1980 Alexander Demandt discovered in an antiquarian bookshop a full and detailed handwritten transcript of the lectures on the Roman Empire, which Mommsen gave for many years from 1863 to 1886, made by two of his students. This transcript has been edited to provide the authoritative reconstruction of the book Mommsen never wrote, A History of Rome Under the Emperors.
Barbara and Alexander Demandt have carefully edited the text and provided detailed annotation and explanatory references. For the English edition, Professor Thomas Wiedemann has written an introduction which surveys Mommsen's position and influence in nineteenth century German scholarship and introduces his work for English speaking readers.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"This precious volume will undoubtedly remain a major tool for the historians of Rome!."
-The Journal of Indo-European Studies
"Those readers wishing detailed examination of Roman struggles for territory or political power will not be disappointed. [Mommsen's] analysis of the response to barbarian incursions in the fourth century is particularly compelling....the publishing of this great historian's views is an invaluable contribution to classical historiography."
-"Booklist
"A magnificent discovery."
-Rolf Hochhuth, "Die Welt
..."a new valuable edition far more complete than any past work."
-"The Bookwatch

From the Back Cover:

Theodor Mommsen's History of Rome, for which he was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1902, was never completed. The manuscript of the fourth volume, the History of Rome under the Emperors, was burnt in a fire in Mommsen's house in 1880, and subsequently never published. Even though Mommsen lectured on the topic extensively from 1863 to 1886, it was believed that the lost volume could never be reconstructed. Alexander Demandt's discovery of complete and detailed transcripts by two of Mommsen's students finally gives us access to Mommsen's interpretation of the age of the emperors. Barbara and Alexander Demandt have carefully edited the text and provided detailed notes. For the English edition, Thomas Wiedemann has written an introduction which surveys Mommsen's position and influence in nineteenth century German scholarship and introduces his work to English-speaking readers.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780415206471: A History of Rome Under the Emperors (Routledge Key Guides)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0415206472 ISBN 13:  9780415206471
Publisher: Routledge, 1999
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mommsen, Theodor
Published by Routledge
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Routledge. Hardcover. Condition: New. 0415101131 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW33.2124148

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
32.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.89
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Theodor Mommsen
Published by Routledge (1996)
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Routledge, 1996. Hardcover. Condition: New. Reprint. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0415101131n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
80.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Theodor Mommsen
Published by Taylor & Francis Ltd, United Kingdom (1996)
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Taylor & Francis Ltd, United Kingdom, 1996. Hardback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. This book caused a sensation when it was published in Germany in 1992, and was front page news in many newspapers. For readers of English, it will be an authoritative survey of four centuries of Roman history, and a unique window on the German tradition of the last century.Theodor Mommsen (d. 1903) was one of the greatest Roman historians of the nineteenth century, and the only one ever to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. His fame rests on his History of Rome as well as his work on Roman law and on the Roman provinces. But the work that would have concluded his history of Rome - which ran to the reign of Augustus - was never completed. This book represents that great lost work.In 1980 Alexander Demandt discovered in an antiquarian bookshop a full and detailed handwritten transcript of the lectures on the Roman Empire, which Mommsen gave for many years from 1863 to 1886, made by two of his students. This transcript has been edited to provide the authoritative reconstruction of the book Mommsen never wrote, A History of Rome Under the Emperors.Barbara and Alexander Demandt have carefully edited the text and provided detailed annotation and explanatory references. For the English edition, Professor Thomas Wiedemann has written an introduction which surveys Mommsen's position and influence in nineteenth century German scholarship and introduces his work for English speaking readers. Seller Inventory # LHB9780415101134

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
90.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Theodor Mommsen, Alexander Demandt
Published by Routledge 1996-06-27 (1996)
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Routledge 1996-06-27, 1996. Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 4-5 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Seller Inventory # NU-TNFPD-00100451

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
88.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

MOMMSEN, THEODOR.
Published by Routledge (1996)
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Routledge, 1996. Hardback. Condition: NEW. 9780415101134 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. For all enquiries, please contact Herb Tandree Philosophy Books directly - customer service is our primary goal. Seller Inventory # HTANDREE0210003

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Mommsen, Theodor
Published by Routledge (2017)
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Routledge, 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2017; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780415101134_lsuk

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
99.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Theodor Mommsen, Alexander Demandt (Editor)
Published by Routledge (1996)
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Routledge, 1996. Hardcover. Condition: New. Reprint. Seller Inventory # DADAX0415101131

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
118.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Mommsen, Theodor (Author)/ Krojzl, Clare (Translated by)/ Demandt, Alexander (Edited by)/ Demandt, Alexander (Edited by)/ Wiedemann, Thomas (Introduction by)
Published by Routledge (1996)
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Routledge, 1996. Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 642 pages. 9.75x6.50x1.25 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0415101131

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
111.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Demandt,Alexander
Published by Routledge
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller:

Book Description Routledge. Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Hardcover - This title is now printed on demand - please allow added time for shipment! A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Seller Inventory # 3401569

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
120.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Theodor Mommsen
Published by Routledge (1996)
ISBN 10: 0415101131 ISBN 13: 9780415101134
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Routledge, 1996. HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IQ-9780415101134

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
144.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book