One Last Thing Before I Go

3.75 avg rating
( 15,332 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780142196816: One Last Thing Before I Go

Meet Silver. Forty-four, divorced and living alone. His once celebrated music career is now a faded memory and his ex-wife is about to marry another man. The only good thing in Silver's life is his Princeton-bound teenage daughter, Casey - and she would probably say the exact opposite about him. So in Silver's opinion, things could be going better . . . a lot better.

Then Casey drops a bombshell: she's pregnant. Yes, it was her first time, and, no, she hasn't told her mom. Silver knows things have got to change, and when he discovers he has a fatal heart condition that means he could drop dead at any minute, he decides it's time to make a list:

1. Be a better father

2. Be a better man

3. Fall in love

4. Die

But the question is, can Silver rebuild his life, regain the respect of his family, and be there for Casey when she needs him most, or has he left it all too late?

Laugh-out-loud funny and tear-jerkingly sad, One Last Thing Before I Go is a testament to Jonathan Tropper's impeccable observation, faultless style and utterly unrivalled wit.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Genuinely very funny, as well as engaging and rather moving ( DAILY MAIL)

Witty story of Silver, a lonely middle-aged ex-rockstar with a pregnant teenage daughter. ( HEAT)

Another tear-jerker that's told with great wit, this time written from a bloke's point of view. Jonathan has been a pick on the Richard and Judy Book Club before, and this is a nicely observed poignant take on learning to be a man and a father before time runs out. ( STAR magazine)

Tropper is a master of the mid-life male coming-of-age story, and his latest is full of the charm and wit his readers cherish ( BOOKLIST)

It's amazing what can happen in the hands of the casually brilliant author. . . . Read and weep with laughter ( ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY)

'A poignant story about facing death and celebrating life, even when things seem well beyond repair' ( THE DAILY BEAST)

'Eminently quotable, hilariously funny, and emotionally draining, this arresting tour de force will entertain well after the book is done' ( LIBRARY JOURNAL)

'A tender and unexpectedly hilarious take on the messiness of family life' ( PEOPLE)

Very well-observed . . . fabulously entertaining ( THE TIMES on THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU)

Consistently witty, often insightful and full of strong and engaging characters ( DAILY TELEGRAPH on HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER)

Sad, funny, brilliant ( EVENING HERALD on HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER)

'Darkly entertaining . . . fast and fresh' ( NEW YORK TIMES on HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER)

Book Description:

For fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, a brilliantly funny and touching new novel from the bestselling author of HOW TO TALK TO A WIDOWER, selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tropper, Jonathan
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801421968160000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jonathan Tropper
Published by Plume Books, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume Books, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The bestselling author of This Is Where I Leave You returns with a hilarious and heart-rending tale about one familiy s struggle to reconnect. Mistakes have been made. Drew Silver has begun to accept that life isn t going to turn out as he expected. His fleeting fame as the drummer for a one-hit wonder rock band is nearly a decade behind him. His ex-wife is about to marry a terrific guy. And his Princeton-bound teenage daughter Casey has just confided in him that she s pregnant because Silver is the one she cares least about letting down. So when Silver learns that he requires emergency life-saving heart surgery, he makes the radical decision to refuse the operation, choosing instead to spend what time he has left to repair his relationship with Casey, become a better man, and live in the moment even if that moment isn t going to last very long. As his exasperated family looks on, Silver grapples with the ultimate question of whether or not his own life is worth saving. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780142196816

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jonathan Tropper
Published by Plume Books, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume Books, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 198 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The bestselling author of This Is Where I Leave You returns with a hilarious and heart-rending tale about one familiy s struggle to reconnect. Mistakes have been made. Drew Silver has begun to accept that life isn t going to turn out as he expected. His fleeting fame as the drummer for a one-hit wonder rock band is nearly a decade behind him. His ex-wife is about to marry a terrific guy. And his Princeton-bound teenage daughter Casey has just confided in him that she s pregnant because Silver is the one she cares least about letting down. So when Silver learns that he requires emergency life-saving heart surgery, he makes the radical decision to refuse the operation, choosing instead to spend what time he has left to repair his relationship with Casey, become a better man, and live in the moment even if that moment isn t going to last very long. As his exasperated family looks on, Silver grapples with the ultimate question of whether or not his own life is worth saving. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780142196816

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tropper, Jonathan
Published by Dutton
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller
GIANTBOOKSALE
(HAUPPAUGE, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dutton. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142196819 Great book !! Established seller with great ratings! A+ Customer Service! Orders ship from the USA!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0142196819ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Tropper, Jonathan
Published by Dutton
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dutton. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142196819 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2121938690

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Tropper, Jonathan
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0142196819

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Tropper, Jonathan
Published by Penguin LCC US (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin LCC US, 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780142196816

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tropper, Jonathan
Published by Dutton
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Movie Mars
(Matthews, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dutton. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142196819 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 16250105

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Tropper, Jonathan
Published by Dutton (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Dutton, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0142196819

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.41
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jonathan Tropper
Published by Plume Books
ISBN 10: 0142196819 ISBN 13: 9780142196816
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume Books. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, One Last Thing Before I Go, Jonathan Tropper. Bookseller Inventory # B9780142196816

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book