Items related to Destroying Angel: Winner of the 2019 CWA Historical...

Destroying Angel: Winner of the 2019 CWA Historical Dagger (The Seeker)

4.42 avg rating
( 960 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781786484185: Destroying Angel: Winner of the 2019 CWA Historical Dagger (The Seeker)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Murder, treachery and a reckoning with his past await Captain Damian Seeker in Yorkshire in this gripping historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements

'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar

'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The Seeker

Captain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming London

An invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.

Seeker must find out the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly, if anyone, can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A suspenseful, atmospheric addition to one of the best historical crime series around (The Times)

Different elements are cleverly melded, with MacLean's depiction of the paranoia and fear caused by the Trier and his court particularly chilling and believable, as well as her talent for character development that makes the enigmatic Seeker such a compelling protagonist (Crime Review)

Book Description:

Murder, treachery and a reckoning with his past await Captain Damian Seeker in Yorkshire in this gripping historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781786484161: Destroying Angel: Winner of the 2019 CWA Historical Dagger (The Seeker)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1786484161 ISBN 13: 9781786484161
Publisher: Quercus, 2018
Hardcover

9781786484178: Destroying Angel: The Seeker 3

Quercus, 2018
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

S. G. MacLean
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2022)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. WINNER OF THE 2019 CWA HISTORICAL DAGGER'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The SeekerCaptain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming LondonAn invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.Seeker must find out the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly, if anyone, can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?. Seller Inventory # HUK9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

S. G. MacLean
Published by The Seeker (2022)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Brook Bookstore
(Milano, MI, Italy)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # bbe3b34d2876e7c797c26069e0d84e04

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.29
From Italy to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

S.G. MacLean
Published by Quercus 2019-02-07 (2019)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Paperback Quantity: 6
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-GRD-9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Maclean, S. G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 34633319-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

MacLean, S. G.
Published by Quercus Publishing 1/25/2022 (2022)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Paperback or Softback Quantity: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Destroying Angel. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Shona MacLean
Published by Quercus Publishing 2019-02-07, London (2019)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Softcover Quantity: 7
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER! SHIPS IN STURDY CARDBOARD PACKAGING!. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 535ZZZ0137D5_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 531ZZZ012SR5_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

MacLean, S.G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2022)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 536ZZZ01495S_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book