Destroying Angel: Winner of the 2019 CWA Historical Dagger (The Seeker)

)  
9781786484185: Destroying Angel: Winner of the 2019 CWA Historical Dagger (The Seeker)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Murder, treachery and a reckoning with his past await Captain Damian Seeker in Yorkshire in this gripping historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements

'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar

'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The Seeker

Captain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming London

An invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.

Seeker must find out the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly, if anyone, can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A suspenseful, atmospheric addition to one of the best historical crime series around (The Times)

Different elements are cleverly melded, with MacLean's depiction of the paranoia and fear caused by the Trier and his court particularly chilling and believable, as well as her talent for character development that makes the enigmatic Seeker such a compelling protagonist (Crime Review)

Book Description:

Murder, treachery and a reckoning with his past await Captain Damian Seeker in Yorkshire in this gripping historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S. G. MacLean
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2019)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. WINNER OF THE 2019 CWA HISTORICAL DAGGER'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The SeekerCaptain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming LondonAn invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.Seeker must find out the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly, if anyone, can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?. Seller Inventory # HUK9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.82
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Shona MacLean (author)
Published by Quercus Publishing 2019-02-07, London (2019)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Quercus Publishing 2019-02-07, London, 2019. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

S.G. MacLean
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. WINNER OF THE 2019 CWA HISTORICAL DAGGER'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The SeekerCap.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 416 pages. 0.282. Seller Inventory # 9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

S. G. MacLean
Published by Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom (2019)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Quercus Publishing, United Kingdom, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. WINNER OF THE 2019 CWA HISTORICAL DAGGER'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on The SeekerCaptain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming LondonAn invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.Seeker must find out the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly, if anyone, can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?. Seller Inventory # HUK9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

MacLean, S. G.
Published by Quercus Publishing (2019)
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Quercus Publishing, 2019. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # HU-9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

S.G. MacLean
ISBN 10: 1786484188 ISBN 13: 9781786484185
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AussieBookSeller
(Lidcombe, NSW, Australia)

Book Description 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. WINNER OF THE 2019 CWA HISTORICAL DAGGER'A gripping tale of crime and sedition' Sunday Times on The Black Friar'The best historical crime novel of the year' Sunday Express on .Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 416 pages. 0.282. Seller Inventory # 9781786484185

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 29.31
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds