The Name of the Blade, Book One: The Night Itself: 1

3.69 avg rating
( 1,202 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781406342383: The Name of the Blade, Book One: The Night Itself: 1
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When Mio steals the family's katana – a priceless ancestral sword – from her parents’ attic, she just wants to spice up a fancy-dress costume. But the katana is much more than some dusty antique and her actions unleash a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. Soon Shinobu, a fearless warrior boy, appears to protect Mio – and threatens to steal her heart. With the gods and monsters of Japanese myth stalking her and her friends, Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe, and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life ... but the love of a lifetime.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Fantasy writer Zoe Marriot explode back onto the scene * Times * It's been a long time since I enjoyed a book this much * The Mountains of Instead * A cracking start to The Name of the Blade trilogy, roll on number 2! * Books4Teens * If you like your trilogies fast and furious, then this is definitely for you * Serendipity Reviews * Clever and cool all at once * Sister Spooky * I just want more of everything * Fluttering Butterflies * I cannot rave about The Night Itself enough * Readaraptor * I just fell for it, hook line and sinker * The Pewter Wolf * My only disappointment is that I've got to wait another year for the next instalment * Feeling Fictional * I can already tell that it will become one of my favourite series, like, ever * Cic Loves Books * I am so looking forward to reading more in this series! I just want more of everything. * Fluttering Butterflies * If you want a book that you can relate to but with a different and fresh perspective that go read this book * Teacher Moloney King * This book is definitely right up there with some of my favourites. * Juniper's Jungle * There was nothing in it I would change, which is wonderful and scary because how is the next book going to live up to that? * Luna's Little Library * I adored The Night Itself * Big Book Little Book * Cool, fast-paced and fun. -- Amanda Craig * The Times * A rising star of fantasy fiction. -- Amanda Craig * The Times * [A] readable and engaging story. . . for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare * Booktrust * Marriott has a high level if literary intelligence and is terrific at rebooting fairy-tales with wonderful descriptions of the natural world. -- Amanda Craig * The Times * YA urban fantasy, with as much glittery glamour as action... the use of Japanese legends coming to life in modern London to create the supernatural elements enlivens the plot. * The School Librarian * Fantasy aspects are skilfully woven into a credible urban setting and the romantic element of the novel is mostly subtle but can be quiveringly intense when it needs to be. * Inis * Lived up to every expectation I had. It was gripping, fast paced and had so many twists in it, I never felt bored when reading this * The Pewter Wolf *

Book Description:

Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Very Good
Light rubbing wear to cover, spine... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Zoe Marriott
Published by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Walker Books Ltd. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 3207243693

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
5.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Zoe Marriott
Published by Walker (2013)
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)

Book Description Walker, 2013. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. **Simply Brit** Shipped with Premium postal service within 24 hours from the UK with impressive delivery time. We have dispatched from our book depository; items of good condition to over ten million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with reliable and efficient service at all times. Seller Inventory # 1479917

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Zoe Marriott
Published by Walker (2013)
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Paperback Quantity available: 2
Seller:
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Walker, 2013. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Seller Inventory # 1750033

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Zoe Marriott
Published by -
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description -. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The Name of the Blade, Book One: The Night Itself: 1 This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. Seller Inventory # 7719-9781406342383

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Zoe Marriott
Published by Walker 04/07/2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Paperback Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)

Book Description Walker 04/07/2013, 2013. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Seller Inventory # 6545-9781406342383

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Marriott, Zoe
Published by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Walker Books Ltd. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 1406342386-2-4

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
10.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Marriott, Zoe
Published by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Phatpocket Limited
(Waltham Abbey, HERTS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Walker Books Ltd. Condition: Acceptable. Used - Acceptable. Water damage to pages. Your purchase helps support Sri Lankan Children's Charity 'The Rainbow Centre'. Ex-library with wear and barcode page may have been removed. Our donations to The Rainbow Centre have helped provide an education and a safe haven to hundreds of children who live in appalling conditions. Seller Inventory # Z1-C-004-02363

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
1
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10.64
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Zoe Marriott
Published by Walker Books Ltd, United Kingdom, London (2013)
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Paperback Quantity available: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Walker Books Ltd, United Kingdom, London, 2013. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer. When Mio steals the family s katana - a priceless ancestral sword - from her parents attic, she just wants to spice up a fancy-dress costume. But the katana is much more than some dusty antique and her actions unleash a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. Soon Shinobu, a fearless warrior boy, appears to protect Mio - and threatens to steal her heart. With the gods and monsters of Japanese myth stalking her and her friends, Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe, and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life . but the love of a lifetime. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR005571368

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
4.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Marriott, Zoe
Published by Walker Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Softcover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)

Book Description Walker Books Ltd. Gut/Very good: Buch bzw. Schutzumschlag mit wenigen Gebrauchsspuren an Einband, Schutzumschlag oder Seiten. / Describes a book or dust jacket that does show some signs of wear on either the binding, dust jacket or pages. Seller Inventory # M01406342386-V

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
9.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.18
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

10.

ZOE MARRIOTT
Published by WALKER BOOKS (2013)
ISBN 10: 1406342386 ISBN 13: 9781406342383
Used Soft cover Quantity available: 1
Seller:
Happyfish Books
(Meopham, KENT, United Kingdom)

Book Description WALKER BOOKS, 2013. Soft cover. Condition: Good. THE COVER HAS SOME LIGHT RUBBING AND WEAR TO THE EDGES AND CORNERS, THERE IS SOME CREASING TO THE BACK COVER. THE SPINE AND COVER IS STILL NICE AND BRIGHT. THE PAGES ARE CLEAN AND CREASE FREE. THE BINDING IS STILL TIGHT. THIS IS A VERY GOOD EXAMPLE OF THIS HARD TO FIND EDITION. Seller Inventory # Ag KH 310

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
9.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book