Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time: 14 epic fantasy books

Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time high fantasy series is epic in more ways than one. There are 14 installments where Jordan creates an imaginary magical world in immense detail, and introduces thousands of good and evil characters. Sadly, Jordan died in 2007. The last three books in the series were completed by Brandon Sanderson (famous for the Mistborn science fiction series) using notes left behind by Jordan for another writer to use.

The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan
The Eye of the World first edition from 1990

The series begins with The Eye of the World, published in 1990, and ends with A Memory of Light, published in 2013. There is also a prequel to The Eye of the World and two companion books. The Eye of the World remains an essential read for fantasy fans.

The Amazon Prime series marks the first time that the novels have been adapted for TV or cinema.

Jordan’s world features 3,000 years of history where humanity has risen and fallen, a Middle Ages-style setting, and a type of magic called channeling. The companion books are useful in mapping out the world and offering background information.

The Wheel of Time is essential to how Jordan's world functions so the books are simultaneously set in the the distant past and the future. The books feature parallel plots with events occurring far apart. There are factions, kingdoms, alliances and treachery. People who enjoyed George RR Martin's Song of Fire and Ice/Game of Thrones books are often drawn to Jordan's novels.

More Wheel of Time reading

Prequel, set 20 years before the events of the first novel.


More Science fiction & Fantasy

19 October, 2021
Considered the most prestigious literary award in science fiction, the Hugo Award is awarded annually to the best science fiction or fantasy book from the previous year. Explore our list of every Hugo Award winner for best novel dating back to 1953.
1 Min Read
By Richard Davies
20 September, 2021
“He who controls the spice controls the universe.” The Dune universe began in 1965 when Frank Herbert published Dune and changed the science fiction genre forever. This bestselling novel won the inaugural Nebula Award for Best Novel in 1965 and the 1966 Hugo Award, and launched an epic series.
1 Min Read
By Richard Davies
21 June, 2021
Discover 50 must-read science fiction books from Jules Verne and H.G. Wells to Neal Stephenson and China Miéville.
1 Min Read