Items related to Catch 22 (Everyman's Library classics)

Catch 22 (Everyman's Library classics)

3.98 avg rating
( 764,085 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781857152203: Catch 22 (Everyman's Library classics)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A burlesque epic in the tradition of The Good Soldier Schweik, Catch-22 exposes the absurdity of war by applying its own demented logic to America's involvement in Korea. The 'catch' is that soldiers have to claim to be mad in order to get out of fighting - but being capable of making such a claim automatically proves them sane. With a cast of magnificently larger-than-life characters who are rushed along at a breathless pace, for once this really is a novel it's hard to put down., Catch-22 was made into a film.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

""Catch-22" is the only war novel I've ever read that makes any sense." Harper Lee"

One of the greatest anti-war books ever written. "Vanity Fair""

One of the most bitterly funny works in the language . . . Explosive, bitter, subversive, brilliant. The New Republic"

To my mind, there have been two great American novels in the past fifty years. Catch-22 is one. Stephen King, Entertainment Weekly"

This novel is not merely the best American novel to come out of World War II, it is the best American novel that has come out of anywhere in years. Nelson Algren, The Nation"

It s the rock and roll of novels . . . There s no book like it. . . . Surprisingly powerful. Norman Mailer, Esquire"

To call it the finest comic novel of our day is faulting it. If Joseph Heller writes no other book, he will be well remembered for this apocalyptic masterpiece. Studs Terkel, Chicago Sun-Times"

Wildly original, brilliantly comic, brutally gruesome, it is a dazzling performance that will probably outrage nearly as many readers as it delights. Orville Prescott, New York Times Book Review"

One of the greatest anti-war books ever written. Vanity Fair"

"Catch-22 is the only war novel I've ever read that makes any sense." --Harper Lee

"One of the most bitterly funny works in the language . . . Explosive, bitter, subversive, brilliant." --The New Republic

"To my mind, there have been two great American novels in the past fifty years. Catch-22 is one." --Stephen King, Entertainment Weekly

"This novel is not merely the best American novel to come out of World War II, it is the best American novel that has come out of anywhere in years." --Nelson Algren, The Nation

"It's the rock and roll of novels . . . There's no book like it. . . . Surprisingly powerful." --Norman Mailer, Esquire

"To call it the finest comic novel of our day is faulting it. If Joseph Heller writes no other book, he will be well remembered for this apocalyptic masterpiece." --Studs Terkel, Chicago Sun-Times

"Wildly original, brilliantly comic, brutally gruesome, it is a dazzling performance that will probably outrage nearly as many readers as it delights." --Orville Prescott, New York Times Book Review

"One of the greatest anti-war books ever written." --Vanity Fair

Book Description:

One of the great novels of the twentieth century -- a satirical indictment of military madness and stupidity, and the desire of the ordinary man to survive it.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781451626650: Catch-22

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1451626657 ISBN 13: 9781451626650
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, 2011
Softcover

9780099529125: Catch-22: 50th Anniversary Edition

Vintag..., 2011
Softcover

9780679437222: Catch-22 (Everyman's Library Contemporary Classics Series)

Everym..., 1995
Hardcover

9781451621174: Catch-22

Simon ..., 2011
Hardcover

9780099536017: Catch-22

Vintage, 1994
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Joseph Heller
Published by Everyman, United Kingdom (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A burlesque epic in the tradition of THE GOOD SOLDIER SCHWEIK, CATCH-22 exposes the absurdity of war by applying its own demented logic to America's involvement in Korea. The 'catch' is that soldiers have to claim to be mad in order to get out of fighting - but being capable of making such a claim automatically proves them sane. With a cast of magnificently larger-than-life characters who are rushed along at a breathless pace, for once this really is a novel it's hard to put down. CATCH-22 was made into a film. Seller Inventory # AAZ9781857152203

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Joseph Heller
Published by Everyman 1995-09-21, London (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description hardback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781857152203

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.49
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Joseph Heller
Published by Everyman, United Kingdom (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A burlesque epic in the tradition of THE GOOD SOLDIER SCHWEIK, CATCH-22 exposes the absurdity of war by applying its own demented logic to America's involvement in Korea. The 'catch' is that soldiers have to claim to be mad in order to get out of fighting - but being capable of making such a claim automatically proves them sane. With a cast of magnificently larger-than-life characters who are rushed along at a breathless pace, for once this really is a novel it's hard to put down. CATCH-22 was made into a film. Seller Inventory # FOY9781857152203

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
20.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Heller, Joseph
Published by Gardners Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9781857152203_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Joseph Heller
Published by Everyman (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781857152203

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Joseph Heller
Published by Everyman (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000457894

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Heller, Joseph
Published by Everyman (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. 1995. New ed. Hardcover. A burlesque epic in the tradition of The Good Soldier Schweik, this title exposes the absurdity of war by applying its own demented logic to America's involvement in Korea. The 'catch' is that soldiers have to claim to be mad in order to get out of fighting - but being capable of making such a claim automatically proves them sane. Num Pages: 569 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FJM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 213 x 134 x 37. Weight in Grams: 650. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781857152203

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.85
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Joseph Heller
Published by Everyman's Library (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: Brand New. 569 pages. 8.27x6.30x0.79 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1857152204

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Heller, Joseph
Published by Everyman (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Barney's books
(Beer, DEVON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. New book. Seller Inventory # ABE-15989205894

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Heller, Joseph
Published by Everyman (1995)
ISBN 10: 1857152204 ISBN 13: 9781857152203
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. 1995. New ed. Hardcover. A burlesque epic in the tradition of The Good Soldier Schweik, this title exposes the absurdity of war by applying its own demented logic to America's involvement in Korea. The 'catch' is that soldiers have to claim to be mad in order to get out of fighting - but being capable of making such a claim automatically proves them sane. Num Pages: 569 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FJM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 213 x 134 x 37. Weight in Grams: 650. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781857152203

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.61
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book