The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Mathematics, from One to Infinity

3.99 avg rating
( 3,723 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781848878440: The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Mathematics, from One to Infinity
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Award-winning Steven Strogatz, one of the foremost popularisers of maths, has written a witty and fascinating account of maths' most compelling ideas and how, so often, they are an integral part of everyday life. How should you flip your mattress to get the maximum wear out of it? How many people should you date before settling down? How does Google search the internet? Why does the stock market swing so often, and so wildly? Maths is everywhere, often where we don't even realise. Award-winning professor Steven Strogatz acts as our guide as he takes us on a tour of numbers that - unbeknownst to the unitiated - connect pop culture, literature, art, philosophy, current affairs, business and even every day life. In "The Joy of X", Strogatz explains the great ideas of maths - from negative numbers to calculus, fat tails to infinity - with clarity, wit and insight. He is the maths teacher you never had and this book is perfect for the smart and curious, the expert and the beginner. It is suitable for readers of Ian Stewart's Professor Stewart's "Cabinet of Mathematical Curiosities", Alex Bellos' "Alex's Adventures in Numberland", Marcus de Sautoy's "The Number Mysteries".

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'Strogatz's graceful prose is perfectly pitched for a popular maths book: authoritative without being patronising, friendly without being whimsical, and always clear and accessible. His x marks the spot - and hits it.' Alex Bellos, author of Alex's Adventures in Numberland

Book Description:

Award-winning Steven Strogatz, one of the foremost popularisers of maths, has written a witty and fascinating account of maths' most compelling ideas and how, so often, they are an integral part of everyday life.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780544105850: The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Math, from One to Infinity

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0544105850 ISBN 13:  9780544105850
Publisher: Mariner Books, 2013
Softcover

9780547517650: The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Math, from One to Infinity

Eamon ..., 2012
Hardcover

9781848878457: The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Mathematics, from One to Infinity

Atlant..., 2014
Softcover

9781848878433: The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Mathematics, from One to Infinity

Atlant..., 2013
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Steven H. Strogatz
Published by Atlantic Books
ISBN 10: 1848878443 ISBN 13: 9781848878440
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books From California
(Simi Valley, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. Seller Inventory # mon0001795599

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Steven Strogatz
Published by Atlantic Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 1848878443 ISBN 13: 9781848878440
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
HPB-Diamond
(Dallas, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Good. Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!. Seller Inventory # S_232086260

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
3.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Steven Strogatz
Published by Atlantic Books
ISBN 10: 1848878443 ISBN 13: 9781848878440
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 2939773800

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
6.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Strogatz, Steven
ISBN 10: 1848878443 ISBN 13: 9781848878440
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR005876698

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
4.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Steven Strogatz
Published by Atlantic Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 1848878443 ISBN 13: 9781848878440
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Mathematics, from One to Infinity This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Seller Inventory # 7719-9781848878440

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Steven Strogatz
Published by Atlantic Books 01/11/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 1848878443 ISBN 13: 9781848878440
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books 01/11/2012, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Seller Inventory # 6545-9781848878440

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds