The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Mathematics, from One to Infinity

3.98 avg rating
( 3,460 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781848878440: The Joy of X: A Guided Tour of Mathematics, from One to Infinity
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Award-winning Steven Strogatz, one of the foremost popularisers of maths, has written a witty and fascinating account of maths' most compelling ideas and how, so often, they are an integral part of everyday life. How should you flip your mattress to get the maximum wear out of it? How many people should you date before settling down? How does Google search the internet? Why does the stock market swing so often, and so wildly? Maths is everywhere, often where we don't even realise. Award-winning professor Steven Strogatz acts as our guide as he takes us on a tour of numbers that - unbeknownst to the unitiated - connect pop culture, literature, art, philosophy, current affairs, business and even every day life. In "The Joy of X", Strogatz explains the great ideas of maths - from negative numbers to calculus, fat tails to infinity - with clarity, wit and insight. He is the maths teacher you never had and this book is perfect for the smart and curious, the expert and the beginner. It is suitable for readers of Ian Stewart's Professor Stewart's "Cabinet of Mathematical Curiosities", Alex Bellos' "Alex's Adventures in Numberland", Marcus de Sautoy's "The Number Mysteries".

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'Strogatz's graceful prose is perfectly pitched for a popular maths book: authoritative without being patronising, friendly without being whimsical, and always clear and accessible. His x marks the spot - and hits it.' Alex Bellos, author of Alex's Adventures in Numberland

Book Description:

Award-winning Steven Strogatz, one of the foremost popularisers of maths, has written a witty and fascinating account of maths' most compelling ideas and how, so often, they are an integral part of everyday life.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Steven H. Strogatz
Published by Atlantic Books
ISBN 10: 1848878443 ISBN 13: 9781848878440
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books From California
(Simi Valley, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books. Paperback. Condition: Fine. Seller Inventory # mon0001047461

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
9.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.86
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Strogatz, Steven
ISBN 10: 1848878443 ISBN 13: 9781848878440
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: very good. 386 Gramm. Seller Inventory # M01848878443-V

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
14.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.04
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds