Museum of Unconditional Surrender (New Directions Paperbook)

4.02 avg rating
( 646 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780811214933: Museum of Unconditional Surrender (New Directions Paperbook)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Title: The Museum of Unconditional Surrender <>Binding: Paperback <>Author: DubravkaUgresic <>Publisher: NewDirectionsPublishingCorporation

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

An unusual beautifully written East European novel in the tradition of Kundera and Borges

About the Author:

Dubravka Ugresic is the author of several works of fiction, including The Museum of Unconditional Surrender and Fording the Stream of Consciousness, and three collections of essays, Have a Nice Day, The Culture of Lies, and most recently Thank You for Not Reading. She has received several international prizes for her writing, including the Swiss Charles Veillon European Essay Prize, the Austrian State Prize for European Literature, and most recently the Premio Feronio-Citta di Fiano. Born and raised in the former Yugoslavia, she left her homeland in 1993 for political reasons and currently lives in Amsterdam.

Celia Hawkesworth was Senior Lecturer in Serbian and Croatian at the School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College, London until her retirement. She has published numerous articles and several books on Serbian, Croatian and Bosnian literature, including a study Ivo Andric: Bridge between East and West, and Voices in the Shadows: Women and Verbal Art in Serbia and Bosnia. She has also published numerous translations, including several works by Ivo Andric and Dubravka Ugresic.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780811214216: Museum of Unconditional Surrender

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0811214214 ISBN 13:  9780811214216
Publisher: New Directions, 1783
Hardcover

9781861590619: The Museum of Unconditional Surrender

W&N, 1998
Softcover

9781861590961: The Museum Of Unconditional Surrender

W&N, 1998
Hardcover

9780753807354: The Museum Of Unconditional Surrender

Phoenix, 1999
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

UGRESIC,DUBRAVKA
Published by WW Norton Publishers
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description WW Norton Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0811214931

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Dubravka Ugresic
Published by New Directions Publishing Corporation, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Directions Publishing Corporation, United States, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The Museum of Unconditional Surrender--by the renowned Yugoslavian writer Dubravka Ugresic--begins in the Berlin Zoo, with the contents of Roland the Walrus's stomach displayed beside his pool (Roland died in August, 1961). These objects--a cigarette lighter, lollipop sticks, a beer-bottle opener, etc.--like the fictional pieces of the novel itself, are seemingly random at first, but eventually coalesce, meaningfully and poetically.Written in a variety of literary forms, The Museum of Unconditional Surrender captures the shattered world of a life in exile. Some chapters re-create the daily journal of the narrator's lonely and alienated mother, who shops at the improvised flea-markets in town and longs for her children; another is a dream-like narrative in which a circle of women friends are visited by an angel. There are reflections and accounts of the Holocaust and the Yugoslav Civil War; portraits of European artists; a recipe for Caraway Soup; a moving story of a romantic encounter the narrator has in Lisbon; descriptions of family photographs; memories of the small town in which Ugresic was raised.Addressing the themes of art and history, aging and loss, The Museum is a haunting and an extremely original novel. In the words of the Times Literary Supplement, "it is vivid in its denunciation of destructive forces and in its evocation of what is at stake.". Seller Inventory # AAS9780811214933

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Dubravka Ugresic
Published by New Directions Publishing Corporation, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Directions Publishing Corporation, United States, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The Museum of Unconditional Surrender--by the renowned Yugoslavian writer Dubravka Ugresic--begins in the Berlin Zoo, with the contents of Roland the Walrus's stomach displayed beside his pool (Roland died in August, 1961). These objects--a cigarette lighter, lollipop sticks, a beer-bottle opener, etc.--like the fictional pieces of the novel itself, are seemingly random at first, but eventually coalesce, meaningfully and poetically.Written in a variety of literary forms, The Museum of Unconditional Surrender captures the shattered world of a life in exile. Some chapters re-create the daily journal of the narrator's lonely and alienated mother, who shops at the improvised flea-markets in town and longs for her children; another is a dream-like narrative in which a circle of women friends are visited by an angel. There are reflections and accounts of the Holocaust and the Yugoslav Civil War; portraits of European artists; a recipe for Caraway Soup; a moving story of a romantic encounter the narrator has in Lisbon; descriptions of family photographs; memories of the small town in which Ugresic was raised.Addressing the themes of art and history, aging and loss, The Museum is a haunting and an extremely original novel. In the words of the Times Literary Supplement, "it is vivid in its denunciation of destructive forces and in its evocation of what is at stake.". Seller Inventory # AAS9780811214933

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Dubravka Ugresic
Published by New Directions Publishing Corporation, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Directions Publishing Corporation, United States, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The Museum of Unconditional Surrender--by the renowned Yugoslavian writer Dubravka Ugresic--begins in the Berlin Zoo, with the contents of Roland the Walrus's stomach displayed beside his pool (Roland died in August, 1961). These objects--a cigarette lighter, lollipop sticks, a beer-bottle opener, etc.--like the fictional pieces of the novel itself, are seemingly random at first, but eventually coalesce, meaningfully and poetically.Written in a variety of literary forms, The Museum of Unconditional Surrender captures the shattered world of a life in exile. Some chapters re-create the daily journal of the narrator's lonely and alienated mother, who shops at the improvised flea-markets in town and longs for her children; another is a dream-like narrative in which a circle of women friends are visited by an angel. There are reflections and accounts of the Holocaust and the Yugoslav Civil War; portraits of European artists; a recipe for Caraway Soup; a moving story of a romantic encounter the narrator has in Lisbon; descriptions of family photographs; memories of the small town in which Ugresic was raised.Addressing the themes of art and history, aging and loss, The Museum is a haunting and an extremely original novel. In the words of the Times Literary Supplement, "it is vivid in its denunciation of destructive forces and in its evocation of what is at stake.". Seller Inventory # BTE9780811214933

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Ugresic, Dubravka
Published by Brand: New Directions (2002)
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Brand: New Directions, 2002. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0811214931_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.27
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Dubravka Ugresic, Celia Hawkesworth (Translator)
Published by New Directions (2002)
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description New Directions, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0811214931

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Dubravka Ugresic
Published by NEW DIRECTIONS (2002)
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)

Book Description NEW DIRECTIONS, 2002. Trade Paperback. Condition: New. TRADE PAPERBACK Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. General. Book: NEW, New. Bookseller Inventory # 01978081121493305. Seller Inventory # 01978081121493305

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.33
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Ugresic, Dubravka
Published by New Directions (2002)
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description New Directions, 2002. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # MB00QORGBKG

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
21.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.54
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Ugresic, Dubravka/ Hawkesworth, Celia
Published by New Directions (2002)
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description New Directions, 2002. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 238 pages. 7.75x4.75x0.75 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # 0811214931

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
27.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Dubravka Ugresic
ISBN 10: 0811214931 ISBN 13: 9780811214933
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # S-0811214931

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
49.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.67
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book