Anne Perry Traitor's Gate

ISBN 13: 9780449224397

Traitor's Gate

3.96 avg rating
( 2,737 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780449224397: Traitor's Gate
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"In combination with her meticulous research, Ms. Perry's infallible feeling for the historical moment yields animated political debate over the colonization of Africa, glittering views of Victorian society at play and tantalizing glimpses of a confident, assertive creature known as the 'new woman.'"
--The New York Times Book Review
Someone in the Colonial Office is passing secrets to Germany about England's African strategy. While Police Superintendent Thomas Pitt investigates this matter of treason, he is quietly looking into the tragic "accidental" death of his childhood mentor, Sir Arthur Desmond. Pitt believes he was murdered, and that the crime is connected with the treachery in the government. He is making little progress, until a second murder reverberates through London.
In the small hours of a May morning, a Thames waterman finds the strangled body of an aristocratic society beauty floating near lonely Traitors Gate. Only then do hard-pressed Pitt and his clever wife, Charlotte, begin to untangle the threads of passion and intrigue, to see clearly the pattern of tragedy and frightening evil that Pitt must deal with, at the risk of his career--and his life.
"In the tradition of Margaret Millar and Ruth Rendell, Perry saves her largest, tastiest revelation for the very last paragraphs."
--Los Angeles Times
"First rate. . . The saga of Charlotte and Thomas is always a delight."
--Mostly Murder

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:


"Perry's infallible feeling for the historical moment yields animated political views of Victorian society at play and tantalizing glimpses of a confident, assertive creature known as the 'new woman.'"--The New York Times Book Review

"A tale of mystery, corruption, detection, and justice as complex as the colorful characters who populate its pages."--Mystery News

"In the tradition of Margaret Millar and Ruth Rendell, Perry saves her largest, tastiest revelation for the very last paragraphs."--Los Angeles Times

"Riveting . . . devious . . . fascinating . . . soars with pathos and humor and, of course, a crackerjack mystery."--Mobile Register

From the Back Cover:

THE MOST HEINOUS OF CRIMES: TREASON

Superintendent Thomas Pitt of Bow Street is up against the most sensitive and politically demanding case of his career. There is a traitor at work in the Colonial Office, passing confidential information to the German Embassy, and the expansion of the Empire is at stake. The field of suspects is limited to a handful of highly distinguished public servants, all with formidable reputations to maintain, all with considerable power to defend themselves from intrusive investigations.

Simultaneously, Pitt is quietly looking into the death of his childhood mentor, who has apparently taken an overdose of laudanum. What possible connection can there be to the hidden traitor? Pitt begins to wonder if personal grief is clouding his judgement, as he can find no way forward. It takes a second sensational death to reveal the tangled truth, and to put at risk not only Pitt’s life but that of his wife, Charlotte.

“What distinguishes Perry’s books is her incisive and imaginative analysis of character and conscience”
THE LADY

“Intriguing”
OXFORD TIMES

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780345514172: Traitors Gate (Charlotte and Thomas Pitt)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0345514173 ISBN 13:  9780345514172
Publisher: Ballantine Books, 2010
Softcover

9780449906347: Traitors Gate

Fawcet..., 1995
Hardcover

9780517173442: Traitors Gate

Random..., 1997
Softcover

9780006498179: Traitors' Gate (A Victorian murder mystery)

Harper..., 1997
Softcover

9780786204519: Traitors Gate (Thorndike Large Print Cloak and Dagger Series)

Thornd..., 1995
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Perry, Anne
Published by Fawcett
ISBN 10: 0449224392 ISBN 13: 9780449224397
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Monky Business: briansmonky
(Worcester, MA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Fawcett. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0449224392 FAST, RELIABLE, GUARANTEED and happily SHIPPED WITHIN 1 BUSINESS DAY! Ask about discounted shipping available when multiple items are purchased at the same time. INTERNATIONAL: Rate shown only covers items 8 oz or less! IF item is heavier, additional postage WILL BE REQUIRED. Seller Inventory # MX19-0537

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
3.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.32
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Perry, Anne
Published by Fawcett
ISBN 10: 0449224392 ISBN 13: 9780449224397
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Fawcett. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0449224392 New Condition. Seller Inventory # NEW33.1769456

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
39.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds