Inger Ash Wolfe The Calling

ISBN 13: 9780156033985

The Calling

3.71 avg rating
( 2,266 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780156033985: The Calling
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

There were thirteen crime-scene pictures. Dead faces set in grimaces and shouts. Faces howling, whistling, moaning, crying, hissing. Hazel pinned them to the wall and stood back. It was a silent opera of ghosts.

Detective Inspector Hazel Micallef has lived all her days in the small town of Port Dundas and is now making her way toward retirement with something less than grace. Hobbled by a bad back and a dependence on painkillers, and feeling blindsided by divorce after nearly four decades of marriage, sixty-one-year-old Hazel has only the constructive criticism of her old goat of a mother and her own sharp tongue to buoy her. But when a terminally ill Port Dundas woman is gruesomely murdered in her own home, Hazel and her understaffed department must spring to life. And as one terminally ill victim after another is found--their bodies drained of blood, their mouths sculpted into strange shapes--Hazel finds herself tracking a truly terrifying serial killer across the country while everything she was barely holding together begins to spin out of control.

Through the cacophony of her bickering staff, her unsupportive superiors, a clamoring press, the town's rumor mill, and her own nagging doubts, Hazel can sense the dead trying to call out. But what secret do they have to share? And will she hear it before it's too late?

In The Calling, Inger Ash Wolfe brings a compelling new voice and an irresistible new heroine to the mystery world.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Whether this novel is a thriller, mystery or police procedural, or a combination of all three genres, it is original and suspenseful." "The story is gripping, with a tight plot, packed with shivering descriptions and taut writing." Sent to: Amazon.com and Indie Next [www.bookweb.org/indiebound, formerly Book Sense/ABA], and will appear in the next issue of I Love a Mystery [iloveamysterynewsletter.com]. It will thereafter be posted on DorothyL and 4MA [For Mystery Addicts] and should appear [online] in the NoName Cafe Book Review Corner [www.LorieHam.com] and Spinetingler Magazine [www.spinetinglermag.com/reviews/home.html] and, in print and online, in Mystery Women [www.mysterywomen.co.uk], Crimespree Magazine and in Midwest Book Review's "Reviewer's Bookwatch" [under "Theodore's Bookshelf"].
-- (03/30/2009)

From the Publisher:

Perfect for fans of Thomas Harris, Karin Slaughter or even Fargo, this is a thrilling, chilling, sinister crime novel with an all-too believable, dark villain at its core.

The killer truly is the stuff of nightmares and yet, cleverly, the gruesome and the terrifying give way to some really fun characterisation. What Inger Ash Wolfe achieves to great effect is the perfect balance of light and dark excitement. The Calling is a race against the clock, beautifully written and thoroughly absorbing from beginning to end.

It is also the first in a series featuring the very real Hazel Micallef, and readers will want to meet her again!

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780151013470: The Calling (Hazel Micallef)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0151013470 ISBN 13:  9780151013470
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2008
Hardcover

9780771088971: The Calling

McClel..., 2008
Hardcover

9780771088964: The Calling: A Hazel Micallef Mystery

McClel..., 2009
Softcover

9780552171663: The Calling (Hazel Micallef 1)

Corgi, 2014
Softcover

9780593060391: The Calling

Bantam...
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wolfe, Inger Ash
Published by Mariner Books (2009)
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Gulf Coast Books
(Memphis, TN, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mariner Books, 2009. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0156033984 Ships from Tennessee, usually the same or next day. Seller Inventory # Z0156033984ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Wolfe, Inger Ash
Published by Mariner Books (2009)
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mariner Books, 2009. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0156033984_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Wolfe, Inger Ash
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0156033984. Seller Inventory # Z0156033984ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Wolfe, Inger Ash
Published by Mariner Books 2009-05-19 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mariner Books 2009-05-19, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. 0156033984. Seller Inventory # Z0156033984ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Wolfe, Inger Ash
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0156033984. Seller Inventory # Z0156033984ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Wolfe, Inger Ash
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0156033984. Seller Inventory # Z0156033984ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Wolfe, Inger Ash
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0156033984. Seller Inventory # Z0156033984ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Inger Ash Wolfe
Published by Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0156033984

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.85
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Wolfe, Inger Ash
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0156033984. Seller Inventory # Z0156033984ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Inger Ash Wolfe
Published by Mariner Books (2009)
ISBN 10: 0156033984 ISBN 13: 9780156033985
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Mariner Books, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0156033984

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book