Winterdance: the Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod

4.24 avg rating
( 4,308 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780156001458: Winterdance: the Fine Madness of Running the Iditarod

Winterdance is an unforgettable account of Gary Paulsen's most ambitious quest: to know a world beyond his knowing, to train for and run the Iditarod. Fueled by an all-consuming passion for running dogs, Paulsen entered the grueling 1,180-mile race across Alaska in dangerous ignorance and with fierce determination. For seventeen days, Paulsen and his team of fifteen dogs ran through breathtaking and treacherous Arctic terrain. They crossed the barren, moonlike landscape of the Alaskan interior and witnessed sunrises that cast a golden blaze over the vast waters of the Bering Sea. They endured blinding wind, snowstorms, frostbite, dogfights, moose attacks, sleeplessness, hallucinations - and the relentless push to go on. He crossed the finish line, but it wasn't enough: Paulsen was obsessed and wanted to race again. Though the dangers of the Iditarod were legion, more frightening still was the knowledge that he could not stop racing dogs of his own free will.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

An incredible, breathtaking true adventure of Alaskan dog-racing and of the mesmerising Arctic landscape

About the Author:

Gary Paulsen is an American writer, perhaps best known for coming of age stories about nature and the wilderness. He is the author of more than 200 books, numerous short stories and several plays. He won the MARGARET EDWARDS AWARD from the American Library Association in 1997.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Paulsen, Gary
Published by Mariner Books 1995-02-17 (1995)
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books 1995-02-17, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0156001454. Bookseller Inventory # Z0156001454ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Paulsen, Gary
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0156001454. Bookseller Inventory # Z0156001454ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Paulsen, Gary
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Nationwide Book Industries
(Holbrook, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0156001454 9780156001458. Bookseller Inventory # Z0156001454ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Paulsen, Gary
Published by Mariner Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books, 1995. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of Jack London, Gary Paulsen presents an unforgettable account of his participation in the 1,100-mile-long dogsled race called the "Iditarod". For 17 days, Paulsen and his team of dogs endured blinding wind, snowstorms, moose attacks, and more--yet relentlessly pushed on to the end. "The best author of man-against-nature adventures writing today".--Publishers Weekly. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0156001454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Paulsen, Gary
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801560014580000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Paulsen, Gary
Published by Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0156001454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.86
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Paulsen, Gary
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New Paperback Quantity Available: 13
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 817851

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Paulsen, Gary
Published by Mariner Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0156001454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Paulsen, Gary
Published by Cengage Learning EMEA, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cengage Learning EMEA, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 226 x 145 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Winterdance is an unforgettable account of Gary Paulsen s most ambitious quest: to know a world beyond his knowing, to train for and run the Iditarod. Fueled by an all-consuming passion for running dogs, Paulsen entered the grueling 1,180-mile race across Alaska in dangerous ignorance and with fierce determination. For seventeen days, Paulsen and his team of fifteen dogs ran through breathtaking and treacherous Arctic terrain. They crossed the barren, moonlike landscape of the Alaskan interior and witnessed sunrises that cast a golden blaze over the vast waters of the Bering Sea. They endured blinding wind, snowstorms, frostbite, dogfights, moose attacks, sleeplessness, hallucinations - and the relentless push to go on. He crossed the finish line, but it wasn t enough: Paulsen was obsessed and wanted to race again. Though the dangers of the Iditarod were legion, more frightening still was the knowledge that he could not stop racing dogs of his own free will. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780156001458

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Paulsen, Gary
Published by Cengage Learning EMEA, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 0156001454 ISBN 13: 9780156001458
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cengage Learning EMEA, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 226 x 145 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Winterdance is an unforgettable account of Gary Paulsen s most ambitious quest: to know a world beyond his knowing, to train for and run the Iditarod. Fueled by an all-consuming passion for running dogs, Paulsen entered the grueling 1,180-mile race across Alaska in dangerous ignorance and with fierce determination. For seventeen days, Paulsen and his team of fifteen dogs ran through breathtaking and treacherous Arctic terrain. They crossed the barren, moonlike landscape of the Alaskan interior and witnessed sunrises that cast a golden blaze over the vast waters of the Bering Sea. They endured blinding wind, snowstorms, frostbite, dogfights, moose attacks, sleeplessness, hallucinations - and the relentless push to go on. He crossed the finish line, but it wasn t enough: Paulsen was obsessed and wanted to race again. Though the dangers of the Iditarod were legion, more frightening still was the knowledge that he could not stop racing dogs of his own free will. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780156001458

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book