Fiction Edith Pattou East

ISBN 13: 9780152052218

East

4.14 avg rating
( 31,770 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780152052218: East

Paperback. Pub Date: 2005 Pages: 528 Publisher: the Graphia Rose has always felt out of place in her Family a wanderer in a bunch of Homebodies So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him-in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family-she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle. where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery. she loses her heart. discovers her purpose. and realizes her travels have only just begun. As familiar and moving as Beauty and the Beast and yet as fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be. East is a novel retelling of the classic tale East of the Sun. West of the Moon . a sweeping romantic epic in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine. A young woman journeys to a distant castle on the back of a great white bear who is the vic...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.
As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale "East of the Sun and West of the Moon," told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

Review:

"The author of "Hero's Song and" Fire Arrow weaves the essentials of the children's fairy tale 'East o' the Sun and West o' the Moon' into a rich tapestry that will resonate with readers . . . What ensues is the stuff of epic tale telling, replete with high drama and compelling characterizations."--"Booklist (starred review)

"A rich tapestry that will resonate with readers . . . . epic tale telling." (starred review)

"The author of "Hero's Song "and" Fire Arrow" weaves the essentials of the children's fairy tale 'East o' the Sun and West o' the Moon' into a rich tapestry that will resonate with readers . . . What ensues is the stuff of epic tale telling, replete with high drama and compelling characterizations."--"Booklist "(starred review)

"Weaves the essentials of the children's fairy tale 'East o' the Sun and West o' the Moon' into a rich tapestry that will resonate with readers . . . the stuff of epic tale telling." -- Booklist * "Compelling . . . Pattou's writing pitches readers gracefully between myth and fantasy, inviting those unaccustomed to either genre to explore the frozen world of questing that she has so vividly created." -- School Library Journal, starred review A Junior Library Guild SelectionAn ALA Notable BookAn ALA Top Ten Best Book for Young Readers
Ohioana Book Award Winner
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Pattou, Edith
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers (2005)
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Barnes & Nooyen Books
(Spring, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Condition, Paperback book, Bookseller Inventory # 1703010039

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Edith Pattou
Published by Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0152052216

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Pattou, Edith
Published by HARCOURT BRACE and CO (2005)
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARCOURT BRACE and CO, 2005. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780152052218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Edith Pattou
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801520522180000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Pattou, Edith
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers (2005)
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0152052216

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.40
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Edith Pattou
Published by Harcourt Children s Books, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children s Books, United States, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 203 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun. As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale East of the Sun and West of the Moon, told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780152052218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Pattou, Edith
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Softcover Quantity Available: 6
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. A young woman goes to the ends of the earth--and beyond--to rescue the man she loves in this sweeping epic. Bookseller Inventory # 9148065

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Edith Pattou
Published by Harcourt Children s Books, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children s Books, United States, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 203 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun. As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale East of the Sun and West of the Moon, told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780152052218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Pattou, Edith
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Movie Mars
(Matthews, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0152052216 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 4126564

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Edith Pattou
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 528 pages. Dimensions: 8.0in. x 5.2in. x 1.3in.Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun. As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale East of the Sun and West of the Moon, told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780152052218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book