Science Fiction Edith Pattou East

ISBN 13: 9780152052218

East

4.14 avg rating
( 32,412 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780152052218: East

Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.

As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale "East of the Sun and West of the Moon," told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In the rural villages of Norway, there is an ancient belief that children inherit the qualities of the direction in which they are born. Nymah Rose, the last daughter of eight siblings born to a poor mapmaker and his superstitious wife, was a North-born baby. It is said that North-born babies are wild, unpredictable, intelligent, and destined to break their mothers' hearts because they all leave hearth and home to travel to the far ends of the earth. To keep her close, Rose’s mother lied and told her she had been born of the obedient and pliable East. But destiny cannot be denied. One day, a great white bear comes to the mapmaker’s door to claim Rose’s birthright. Everything that comes after, as richly imagined by author Edith Pattou, is the basis for one of the most epic romantic fantasies ever told. East is a deftly woven tapestry that melds traditional fairy tale motifs of both Beauty and the Beast and East of the Sun and West of the Moon, with the haunting icy lore of medieval northern lands. Told in a changing chorus of voices, including that of Rose, her hopeful brother Neddy, her regretful father, the charmed white bear, and the Troll Queen whose selfish wish is the catalyst that seals Rose’s fate, East will enchant any and all who venture within its pages. It is a tale for the Ages, and for all ages. Highly recommended. (Ages 12 and older) --Jennifer Hubert

About the Author:

EDITH PATTOU is the author of East, and the two novels in the Songs of Eirren sequence: Hero's Song and Fire Arrow, a Booklist Top Ten Fantasy Novel of the Year, as well as Mrs. Spitzer's Garden, a picture book illustrated by Tricia Tusa. She lives in Columbus, Ohio.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Pattou, Edith
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2005. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # V6-9780152052218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Edith Pattou
Published by Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Muffin Hartcourt Trade. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0152052216

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Pattou, Edith
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2005. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780152052218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Pattou, Edith
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 817482

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Edith Pattou
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801520522180000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Edith Pattou
Published by Harcourt Children s Books, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children s Books, United States, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun. As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale East of the Sun and West of the Moon, told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780152052218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Pattou, Edith
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers (2005)
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0152052216

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Pattou, Edith
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. A young woman goes to the ends of the earth--and beyond--to rescue the man she loves in this sweeping epic. Bookseller Inventory # 9148065

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Edith Pattou
Published by Harcourt Children s Books, United States (2005)
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children s Books, United States, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun. As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale East of the Sun and West of the Moon, told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780152052218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Edith Pattou
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 0152052216 ISBN 13: 9780152052218
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 528 pages. Dimensions: 8.0in. x 5.2in. x 1.3in.Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun. As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale East of the Sun and West of the Moon, told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780152052218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book