Edith Pattou East

ISBN 13: 9780152045630

East

4.14 avg rating
( 32,840 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780152045630: East

Rose has always felt out of place in her family, a wanderer in a bunch of homebodies. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him--in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family--she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she loses her heart, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.
As familiar and moving as "Beauty and the Beast" and yet as fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale "East of the Sun, West of the Moon," a sweeping romantic epic in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In the rural villages of Norway, there is an ancient belief that children inherit the qualities of the direction in which they are born. Nymah Rose, the last daughter of eight siblings born to a poor mapmaker and his superstitious wife, was a North-born baby. It is said that North-born babies are wild, unpredictable, intelligent, and destined to break their mothers' hearts because they all leave hearth and home to travel to the far ends of the earth. To keep her close, Rose’s mother lied and told her she had been born of the obedient and pliable East. But destiny cannot be denied. One day, a great white bear comes to the mapmaker’s door to claim Rose’s birthright. Everything that comes after, as richly imagined by author Edith Pattou, is the basis for one of the most epic romantic fantasies ever told. East is a deftly woven tapestry that melds traditional fairy tale motifs of both Beauty and the Beast and East of the Sun and West of the Moon, with the haunting icy lore of medieval northern lands. Told in a changing chorus of voices, including that of Rose, her hopeful brother Neddy, her regretful father, the charmed white bear, and the Troll Queen whose selfish wish is the catalyst that seals Rose’s fate, East will enchant any and all who venture within its pages. It is a tale for the Ages, and for all ages. Highly recommended. (Ages 12 and older) --Jennifer Hubert

About the Author:

EDITH PATTOU is the author of the two novels to date in the Songs of Eirren series: Hero's Song and Fire Arrow, a Booklist Top Ten Fantasy Novel of the Year, as well as Mrs. Spitzer's Garden, a picture book illustrated by Tricia Tusa. She lives in Columbus, Ohio.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Pattou, Edith
Published by Harcourt Children's Books
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0152045635 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GAT1466DHGG082117H0485A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Pattou, Edith
Published by Harcourt Children's Books
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Savontextbooks
(West Bloomfield, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0152045635 NEW WITH DUST COVER HAWAII AND ALASKA CUSTOMERS PLEASE USE PRIORITY SHIPPING ONLY SHIPS 2 BUS DAYS. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1035074

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Edith Pattou
Published by Harcourt Children's Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0152045635

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Edith Pattou
Published by Harcourt Children's Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0152045635

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Pattou, Edith
Published by Harcourt Children's Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110152045635

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Pattou, Edith
Published by Harcourt Children's Books
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0152045635 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0033076

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds