Edith Pattou East

ISBN 13: 9780152045630

East

4.14 avg rating
( 32,064 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780152045630: East

Rose has always felt out of place in her family. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him, she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she finds love, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.
As fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale "East of the Sun and West of the Moon," told in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"The author of "Hero's Song and" Fire Arrow weaves the essentials of the children's fairy tale 'East o' the Sun and West o' the Moon' into a rich tapestry that will resonate with readers . . . What ensues is the stuff of epic tale telling, replete with high drama and compelling characterizations."--"Booklist (starred review)

"A rich tapestry that will resonate with readers . . . . epic tale telling." (starred review)

"The author of "Hero's Song "and" Fire Arrow" weaves the essentials of the children's fairy tale 'East o' the Sun and West o' the Moon' into a rich tapestry that will resonate with readers . . . What ensues is the stuff of epic tale telling, replete with high drama and compelling characterizations."--"Booklist "(starred review)

"Weaves the essentials of the children's fairy tale 'East o' the Sun and West o' the Moon' into a rich tapestry that will resonate with readers . . . the stuff of epic tale telling." -- Booklist * "Compelling . . . Pattou's writing pitches readers gracefully between myth and fantasy, inviting those unaccustomed to either genre to explore the frozen world of questing that she has so vividly created." -- School Library Journal, starred review A Junior Library Guild SelectionAn ALA Notable BookAn ALA Top Ten Best Book for Young Readers
Ohioana Book Award Winner
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

About the Author:

EDITH PATTOU is the author of East, and the two novels in the Songs of Eirren sequence: Hero's Song and Fire Arrow, a Booklist Top Ten Fantasy Novel of the Year, as well as Mrs. Spitzer's Garden, a picture book illustrated by Tricia Tusa. She lives in Columbus, Ohio.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Edith Pattou
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97801520456301.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Pattou, Edith
Published by Harcourt Children's Books
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Savontextbooks
(West Bloomfield, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0152045635 NEW WITH DUST COVER HAWAII AND ALASKA CUSTOMERS PLEASE USE PRIORITY SHIPPING ONLY SHIPS 2 BUS DAYS. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1035074

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Edith Pattou
Published by Harcourt Children's Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0152045635

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Pattou, Edith
Published by Harcourt Children's Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110152045635

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Pattou, Edith
Published by Harcourt Children's Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0152045635 ISBN 13: 9780152045630
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Children's Books, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New item. Bookseller Inventory # QX-244-53-6495106

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds