Suspense Lev Grossman Codex

ISBN 13: 9780151010660

Codex

3 avg rating
( 5,983 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780151010660: Codex

About to depart on his first vacation in years, Edward Wozny, a hot-shot young investment banker, is sent to help one of his firm's most important and mysterious clients. When asked to uncrate and organize a personal library of rare books, Edward's indignation turns to intrigue as he realizes that there may be a unique medieval codex hidden among the volumes, a treasure kept locked away for many years and for many reasons. As friends draw Edward into a peculiar and addictive computer game, his obsession deepens as he discovers surprising parallels between the game's virtual reality and the mystery of the codex. An accomplished and entertaining thriller, Codex explores the mysterious power of books in the medieval and modern ages.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The cerebral thriller Codex drops up-and-coming investment banker wunderkind Edward Wozny into the musty realm of medieval literature, where he finds an unexpected break from the rat race--a powerful client's commission to uncrate and organize a library. The diversion quickly becomes an obsession after he enlists the help of the quirkily attractive scholar Margaret Napier. Together they discover his employer, the mysterious Duchess of Bowmry, is in a race with her husband to locate an apocryphal codex that could destroy the Bowmry name. Meanwhile, Edward becomes engrossed in an addicting computer game that bears an uncanny similarity to the object of his search and accelerates his transformation from Wall Street wizard into shiftless dreamer.

For the most part, Edward moves through his adventure merely following Margaret's dedicated lead. As each new twist unfolds, he slips further into the comforting daydream of a life that isn't his but is as thrilling as the race for the codex. Codex wrestles with notions of dreams and reality that commingle as Edward finds himself adrift in a sea of passionate scholars and Old World plots. In all, Lev Grossman's novel is excellent entry into the emerging genre of literary history thrillers with an added twist for the technophile. --Jeremy Pugh

From the Back Cover:

A National Bestseller

"A genuine treat with its sneaky plot and richly textured storytelling." -San Francisco Chronicle

Edward Wozny, a hotshot young banker, is about to leave for vacation when he is sent to help an important yet mysterious client. His task: search the family library for a precious, centuries-old codex that may not even exist. Enlisting the expertise of medievalist Margaret Napier, Edward is determined to solve the mystery of the codex and to decipher the parallels between the codex legend and a computer game that absorbs him in the dark hours of the night.
Weaving the medieval and the modern aspects of its plot in a chilling twist, Codex is a thriller of the highest order.

"Takes its place on the shelf of self-referential, bibliophilic page turners like The Name of the Rose, Possession and A Case of Curiosities, and it's as entertaining as any of them."--The New York Times Book Review

"This puzzle of 'nested secrets within secrets' is tailor-made for fans of The Name of the Rose and The Club Dumas." --Detroit Free-Press
[Author photo]
LEV GROSSMAN is Time magazine's book critic. He has written for the New York Times, Salon, Entertainment Weekly, and Time Out New York. He lives in Brooklyn.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Grossman, Lev
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 10: 0151010668 ISBN 13: 9780151010660
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0151010668 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # HCI7323KWGG050917H0114

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lev Grossman
ISBN 10: 0151010668 ISBN 13: 9780151010660
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36SFFI0003YD

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lev Grossman
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2004)
ISBN 10: 0151010668 ISBN 13: 9780151010660
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0151010668

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lev Grossman
ISBN 10: 0151010668 ISBN 13: 9780151010660
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97801510106601.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Grossman, Lev
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2004-03-08 (2004)
ISBN 10: 0151010668 ISBN 13: 9780151010660
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2004-03-08, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. 0151010668 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0151010668

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lev Grossman
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2004)
ISBN 10: 0151010668 ISBN 13: 9780151010660
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0151010668

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Grossman, Lev
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 10: 0151010668 ISBN 13: 9780151010660
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Book Condition: Brand New. Ships from USA. FREE domestic shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 0151010668

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
23.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Grossman, Lev
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2004)
ISBN 10: 0151010668 ISBN 13: 9780151010660
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110151010668

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Lev Grossman
Published by Harcourt (New York) (2004)
ISBN 10: 0151010668 ISBN 13: 9780151010660
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt (New York), 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. SIGNED First edition. First printing. Hardbound. New! A pristine unread copy, very fine/very fine in all respects. SIGNED BY AUTHOR and dated by author on title page in the month of publication. No inscription, just his name and the date. Comes an archival quality mylar dust jacket protective wrapper. Smoke free. Shipped in well padded box. Opened only for the author to sign. You cannot find a better copy. His first novel.[cs]. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # CASE1-62

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
79.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds