Vanished Kingdoms: The Rise and Fall of States and Nations

3.86 avg rating
( 1,884 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780143122951: Vanished Kingdoms: The Rise and Fall of States and Nations

From the bestselling author of Europe: A History comes a uniquely ambitious masterpiece that will thrill fans of lost civilizations

While Germany, Italy, France, and England dominate our conceptions of Europe, these modern states are relatively recent constructs. In this brilliant work of historical reconstruction, Norman Davies brings back to life the long-forgotten empire of Aragon, which once controlled the Western Mediterranean; the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, once the largest country in Europe, and the Kingdom of the Rock, founded by ancient Britons when neither England nor Scotland existed. In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, Davies subverts our established view of the past and urges us to reconsider the impetus for the rise and fall of nations.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Norman Davies is the bestselling author of several acclaimed books, including Europe: A History; Rising '44: The Battle for Warsaw; and No Simple Victory: World War II in Europe, 1939–1945. He lives in Oxford, England, and Cracow, Poland.

Review:

“An alternative history of Europe that is . . . densely packed yet commendably accessible, magisterial, and uncommonly humane.” — The Boston Globe

 
“Hugely ambitious . . . From the mists, Mr. Davies summons the kingdoms; he records their emergence, their flowering and their demise—whether by ‘internall diseases’ or ‘forraign warre’ in Thomas Hobbes’s words. And he examines the traces that the kingdoms have left behind, in works of art or a piece of rock or perhaps just a place name.” — The Wall Street Journal

 
“Davies resurrects the lands and peoples that were lost in the brutal tide of history. . . . It takes a tremendous feat of empathy to write about countries and peoples that no longer exist. And the amount of information in Vanished Kingdoms that will be new to all but the most expert students of European history is staggering. . . . Fascinating facts and insights flutter on its many pages.”

San Francisco Chronicle

 
“Davies is well known as an iconoclast who punctures the comforting myths of countries that history has blessed. . . . Vanished Kingdoms gives full rein to his historical imagination and enthusiasms, imparting a powerful sense of places lost in time. All across Europe ghosts will bless him for telling their long-forgotten stories.”

The Economist

“Davies is certainly one of the best British historical writers of the past half century, and every gauntlet he throws down is bejeweled. His literary gifts and his capacity for what he nicely calls ‘imaginative sympathy’ are stretched to their limits by this challenging project. . . . Yet Davies succeeds, and it is quite a success.”

Timothy Snyder, The Guardian (London)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Davies, Norman
Published by Penguin Books 2012-11-27 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books 2012-11-27, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780143122951B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.61
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Norman Davies
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801431229510000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Davies, Norman
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780143122951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Norman Davies
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143122959

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Davies, Norman
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780143122951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Davies, Norman
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143122959 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132146784

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Davies, Norman
Published by Penguin Books (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143122959

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Norman Davies
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the bestselling author of Europe: A History comes a uniquely ambitious masterpiece that will thrill fans of lost civilizations While Germany, Italy, France, and England dominate our conceptions of Europe, these modern states are relatively recent constructs. In this brilliant work of historical reconstruction, Norman Davies brings back to life the long-forgotten empire of Aragon, which once controlled the Western Mediterranean; the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, once the largest country in Europe, and the Kingdom of the Rock, founded by ancient Britons when neither England nor Scotland existed. In the tradition of Jared Diamond s Guns, Germs, and Steel, Davies subverts our established view of the past and urges us to reconsider the impetus for the rise and fall of nations. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780143122951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Norman Davies
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the bestselling author of Europe: A History comes a uniquely ambitious masterpiece that will thrill fans of lost civilizations While Germany, Italy, France, and England dominate our conceptions of Europe, these modern states are relatively recent constructs. In this brilliant work of historical reconstruction, Norman Davies brings back to life the long-forgotten empire of Aragon, which once controlled the Western Mediterranean; the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, once the largest country in Europe, and the Kingdom of the Rock, founded by ancient Britons when neither England nor Scotland existed. In the tradition of Jared Diamond s Guns, Germs, and Steel, Davies subverts our established view of the past and urges us to reconsider the impetus for the rise and fall of nations. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780143122951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Norman Davies
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143122959 ISBN 13: 9780143122951
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. From the bestselling author of Europe: A History comes a uniquely ambitious masterpiece that will thrill fans of lost civilizations While Germany, Italy, France, and England dominate our conceptions of Europe, these modern states are relatively recent constructs. In this brilliant work of historical reconstruction, Norman Davies brings back to life the long-forgotten empire of Aragon, which once controlled the Western Mediterranean; the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, once the largest country in Europe, and the Kingdom of the Rock, founded by ancient Britons when neither England nor Scotland existed. In the tradition of Jared Diamond s Guns, Germs, and Steel, Davies subverts our established view of the past and urges us to reconsider the impetus for the rise and fall of nations. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780143122951

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book