An African Millionaire (Penguin Classics)

3.71 avg rating
( 96 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780143106579: An African Millionaire (Penguin Classics)

An excellent addition to Penguin's crime classics: the tantalizing tale of Colonel Clay, literature's first gentleman rogue.

Wealthy, confident and handsome, Sir Charles Van Drift spends his time jetting to exotic locales with his wife and in-laws. But on one fateful trip to the Riviera, Van Drift meets his match in Colonel Clay. Posing alternately as a seer, a curate, and a German professor, the master of disguise swindles Van Drift through three continents and poses a serious risk to his South African diamond fortune. Colonel Clay, the notorious con artist and thief, has triumphed. But who is this master of disguise, really? First serialized in The Strand in 1896, the adventures that comprise An African Millionaire are widely regarded as the first to feature a criminal protagonist and will be greeted enthusiastically by fans and scholars of classic crime fiction.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Grant Allen was born on February 24, 1848 near Kingston, Ontario, in Canada. Though largely forgotten today, during his lifetime he was a prolific and popular writer who published widely in diverse areas, which were as various as his own intellectual pursuits that ranged from the sciences to literature. His best stories, which featured the notorious conartist and thief, Colonel Clay, first appeared in the Strand Magazine and later were collected in the book, An African Millionaire: Episodes in the Life of the Illustrious Colonel Clay (1897), commonly regarded by many critics as the first fictional work to feature a criminal protagonist.

Gary Hoppenstand is a professor of English at Michigan State University and wrote the introduction to Penguin Classics edition of An African Millionaire. He lives in East Lansing, Michigan.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Grant Allen
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. Language: English . Brand New Book. A classic of crime and adventure, Grant Allen s An African Millionaire is perfect for fans of books such as Arsene Lupin, Gentleman Thief. Wealthy, confident and handsome, Charles Van Drift is not accustomed to being swindled and his brush with Colonel Clay both rattles and infuriates him. As his South African diamond fortune takes hit after hit from the quick-witted master of disguise, Allen leaves even the reader guessing: who can you trust? Van Drift grows more suspicious of those around him and a few too many misguided accusations shake the millionaire s confidence. Colonel Clay is in his head. Gary Hoppenstand contributes an introduction discussing the reception of the work when it was first serialised in The Strand and the significance of Colonel Clay as the first recurring gentleman rogue. Bookseller Inventory # APG9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Grant Allen
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801431065790000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Grant Allen
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. Language: English . Brand New Book. A classic of crime and adventure, Grant Allen s An African Millionaire is perfect for fans of books such as Arsene Lupin, Gentleman Thief. Wealthy, confident and handsome, Charles Van Drift is not accustomed to being swindled and his brush with Colonel Clay both rattles and infuriates him. As his South African diamond fortune takes hit after hit from the quick-witted master of disguise, Allen leaves even the reader guessing: who can you trust? Van Drift grows more suspicious of those around him and a few too many misguided accusations shake the millionaire s confidence. Colonel Clay is in his head. Gary Hoppenstand contributes an introduction discussing the reception of the work when it was first serialised in The Strand and the significance of Colonel Clay as the first recurring gentleman rogue. Bookseller Inventory # APG9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Grant Allen
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. A classic of crime and adventure, Grant Allen s An African Millionaire is perfect for fans of books such as Arsene Lupin, Gentleman Thief. Wealthy, confident and handsome, Charles Van Drift is not accustomed to being swindled and his brush with Colonel Clay both rattles and infuriates him. As his South African diamond fortune takes hit after hit from the quick-witted master of disguise, Allen leaves even the reader guessing: who can you trust? Van Drift grows more suspicious of those around him and a few too many misguided accusations shake the millionaire s confidence. Colonel Clay is in his head. Gary Hoppenstand contributes an introduction discussing the reception of the work when it was first serialised in The Strand and the significance of Colonel Clay as the first recurring gentleman rogue. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Allen, Grant
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Allen, Grant (Author); Hoppenstand, Gary (Introduction by)
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143106570

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Allen, Grant
Published by Penguin Classics
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Classics. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143106570 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132137851

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Allen, Grant; Hoppenstand, Gary [Introduction]
Published by Penguin Classics (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Classics, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # INGM9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Grant Allen
Published by Penguin Classics (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Classics, 2012. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TV9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.57
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Allen, Grant (Author)
Published by Penguin Classics (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Classics, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reissue edition. 208 pages. 8.00x5.25x0.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0143106570

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book