An African Millionaire (Penguin Classics)

3.71 avg rating
( 91 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780143106579: An African Millionaire (Penguin Classics)

A classic of crime and adventure, Grant Allen's An African Millionaire is perfect for fans of books such as Arsene Lupi n, Gentleman Thief. Wealthy, confident and handsome, Charles Van Drift is not accustomed to being swindled and his brush with Colonel Clay both rattles and infuriates him. As his South African diamond fortune takes hit after hit from the quick-witted master of disguise, Allen leaves even the reader guessing: who can you trust? Van Drift grows more suspicious of those around him and a few too many misguided accusations shake the millionaire's confidence. Colonel Clay is in his head. Gary Hoppenstand contributes an introduction discussing the reception of the work when it was first serialised in The Strand and the significance of Colonel Clay as the first recurring gentleman rogue.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Grant Allen was born on February 24, 1848 near Kingston, Ontario, in Canada. Though largely forgotten today, during his lifetime he was a prolific and popular writer who published widely in diverse areas, which were as various as his own intellectual pursuits that ranged from the sciences to literature. Titles of several of his books reveal his breadth of interests, including The Evolutionist at Large (1881), and Biographies of Working Men (1884). As a naturalist and professed socialist, he embraced a number of radical views for his time, such as the advancement of women's rights. For example, his novel The Woman who did (1895), espoused a then controversial literacy critique of sexual conventions and marriage. His best stories, which featured the notorious conartist and thief, Colonel Clay, first appeared in the Strand Magazine and later were collected in the book, An African Millionaire: Episodes in the Life of the Illustrious Colonel Clay (1897), commonly regarded by many critics as the first fictional work to feature a criminal protagonist.

Gary Hoppenstand is a professor of English at Michigan State University. He has twice won the Popular Culture Association's "Best Book" award in the Textbook/Reference category, and he is a former President of the nation Popular Culture Association. Currently, he is the editor of The Journal of Popular Culture.

From the Back Cover:

Though Canadian author CHARLES GRANT BLAIRFINDIE ALLEN (1848-1899) published what is considered one of the first Canadian science fiction books, The British Barbarians, in 1895, he is best remembered today for his creation of Colonel Clay, "the first great thief of short mystery fiction." This series of witty, ironic tales-the complete adventures of the gentleman rogue-are wonderfully entertaining in their own right, but in anticipating the work of the likes of Ellery Queen and Agatha Christie, they are also essential reading for anyone fascinated by the history of mystery fiction. First published in 1897, this replica edition is complete with the charming original illustrations.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Grant Allen
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A classic of crime and adventure, Grant Allen s An African Millionaire is perfect for fans of books such as Arsene Lupin, Gentleman Thief. Wealthy, confident and handsome, Charles Van Drift is not accustomed to being swindled and his brush with Colonel Clay both rattles and infuriates him. As his South African diamond fortune takes hit after hit from the quick-witted master of disguise, Allen leaves even the reader guessing: who can you trust? Van Drift grows more suspicious of those around him and a few too many misguided accusations shake the millionaire s confidence. Colonel Clay is in his head. Gary Hoppenstand contributes an introduction discussing the reception of the work when it was first serialised in The Strand and the significance of Colonel Clay as the first recurring gentleman rogue. Bookseller Inventory # APG9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Grant Allen
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A classic of crime and adventure, Grant Allen s An African Millionaire is perfect for fans of books such as Arsene Lupin, Gentleman Thief. Wealthy, confident and handsome, Charles Van Drift is not accustomed to being swindled and his brush with Colonel Clay both rattles and infuriates him. As his South African diamond fortune takes hit after hit from the quick-witted master of disguise, Allen leaves even the reader guessing: who can you trust? Van Drift grows more suspicious of those around him and a few too many misguided accusations shake the millionaire s confidence. Colonel Clay is in his head. Gary Hoppenstand contributes an introduction discussing the reception of the work when it was first serialised in The Strand and the significance of Colonel Clay as the first recurring gentleman rogue. Bookseller Inventory # APG9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Allen, - Grant
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801431065790000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Grant Allen
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 130mm x 14mm x 196mm. Paperback. An excellent addition to Penguin's crime classics: the tantalizing tale of Colonel Clay, literature's first gentleman rogue.Wealthy, confident and handsome, Sir Charles Van Drift.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 182 pages. 0.168. Bookseller Inventory # 9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Allen, Grant (Author); Hoppenstand, Gary (Introduction by)
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143106570

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Allen, Grant
Published by Penguin Classics
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller
GIANTBOOKSALE
(HAUPPAUGE, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Classics. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143106570 Great book !! Established seller with great ratings! A+ Customer Service! Orders ship from the USA!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0143106570ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Allen, Grant
Published by Penguin Classics
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Classics. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143106570 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2121937009

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Allen, Grant; Hoppenstand, Gary [Introduction]
Published by Penguin Classics (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Classics, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # INGM9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Grant Allen
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # CP-9780143106579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Allen, Grant (Author)
Published by Penguin Classics (2012)
ISBN 10: 0143106570 ISBN 13: 9780143106579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Classics, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reissue edition. 208 pages. 8.00x5.25x0.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0143106570

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book