Rotenberg, David Shanghai

ISBN 13: 9780143052289

Shanghai

3.8 avg rating
( 96 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780143052289: Shanghai

An epic saga in the tradition of Noble House and Tai-Pan, Shanghai weaves an ancient prophecy with modern history to create a stunning tale of the evolution of what could be the 21st century's most important city. China, 207 B.C. On the Holy Mountain, China's first emperor, Q'in She Huang, reveals to his followers a stunning secret, and entrusts them with a sacred task. Scenes intricately carved into a narwhal tusk show the future of China - a future both glorious and terrifying. First will come the Age of White Birds on Water, bringing a darkness that will engulf the nation until the second prophecy comes true - the Age of the 70 Pagodas, which signals the beginning of the great rebirth. The Emperor's chosen three - his favourite concubine, head Confucian and personal bodyguard - must bring these prophecies to life by passing their traditions on for generations and keeping the ivory tusk a closely guarded secret. A path of smoke points them towards the place where all this will come to pass. A place at the bend in the river. A place that will be called Shanghai. Centuries later, the descendents of the Emperor's chosen confidantes observe as Shanghai is invaded by opium traders and missionaries from Europe, America and the Middle East. Of them all, two brothers will be central to the evolution of the city. Richard and Maxi Hordoon, Iraqi Jews whose penniless father died in debt to the powerful scion of the Sassoon family, need to change the way business is done in this slowly developing backwater in order to make their fortunes, but Sassoon's far-reaching powers put him ahead of them at every turn. Throughout generations, these foreign families will clash and intertwine; their combined fates shaping what will become the centrepiece of the new China.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rotenberg, David
ISBN 10: 0143052284 ISBN 13: 9780143052289
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801430522890000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rotenberg, David (Author)
Published by Penguin Global (2009)
ISBN 10: 0143052284 ISBN 13: 9780143052289
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Global, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 788 pages. 7.40x4.20x1.90 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0143052284

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rotenberg, David
Published by Penguin Canada
ISBN 10: 0143052284 ISBN 13: 9780143052289
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143052284 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2122029145

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

David Rotenberg
Published by Penguin Global (2009)
ISBN 10: 0143052284 ISBN 13: 9780143052289
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Global, 2009. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0143052284

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Rotenberg, David
Published by Penguin Canada 2009-05-05 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0143052284 ISBN 13: 9780143052289
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada 2009-05-05, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0143052284 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0143052284

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Rotenberg, David
Published by Penguin Canada (2009)
ISBN 10: 0143052284 ISBN 13: 9780143052289
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Canada, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0143052284

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds