The Dark is Rising Sequence: "Over Sea, Under Stone"; The "Dark is Rising"; "Greenwitch"; The "Grey King"; "Silver O" (Puffin Books)

4.29 avg rating
( 13,131 ratings by Goodreads )
9780140316889: The Dark is Rising Sequence:

This spellbinding volume brings together the five novels from Susan Cooper's classic fantasy sequence: "Over Sea", "Under Stone"; "The Dark is Rising"; "Greenwitch"; "The Grey King"; and "Silver on the Tree". Here Barney, Jane and Simon discover an ancient map in Cornwall; the mysterious Merriman reveals his secret purpose; and Will Stanton realizes that he is not just an ordinary boy but has a far greater role in fulfilling his destiny. Creating a magical world where the everyday mingles with the supernatural, "The Dark is Rising Sequence" weaves a story of secret codes, strange prophecies, the legend of King Arthur and a centuries-old conflict between the power of good and the forces of evil.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


Joined by destiny, the lives of the Drew children, Will Stanton, and a boy named Bran weave together in an exquisite, sometimes terrifying tapestry of mystery and quests. In the five-title series of novels known as The Dark Is Rising Sequence, these children pit the power of good against the evil forces of Dark in a timeless and dangerous battle that includes crystal swords, golden grails, and a silver-eyed dog that can see the wind. Susan Cooper's highly acclaimed fantasy novels, steeped in Celtic and Welsh legends, have won numerous awards, including the Newbery Medal and the Newbery Honor. Now all five paperback volumes have been collected in one smart boxed set. These classic fantasies, complex and multifaceted, should not be missed, by child or adult. The set includes Over Sea, Under Stone, The Dark Is Rising, Greenwitch, The Grey King, and Silver on the Tree. (Ages 9 and older) --Emilie Coulter

About the Author:

Susan Cooper was born in Buckinghamshire, read English at Oxford and began her career as a reporter and feature-writer for the Sunday Times. Her sequence of fantasy novels, THE DARK IS RISING, won her numerous international awards, including the Newbery Medal. She has also written a Broadway play and several film scripts for TV and cinema. Susan Cooper lives in Connecticut, USA.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Cooper, Susan
Published by Puffin Books (1984)
ISBN 10: 0140316884 ISBN 13: 9780140316889
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Puffin Books, 1984. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110140316884

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds