Fiction Colin McAdam Fall

ISBN 13: 9780099535461

Fall

3.17 avg rating
( 559 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099535461: Fall

A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada's elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, a clever, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. But like everyone else, she is drawn to Julius, the confident and magnetic son of the American ambassador to Canada. They fall in love and Noel keeps watching. In their final year, the boys room together and as Julius grows closer to Fall, Noel's enthusiasm for their relationship shades into something darker as he imagines himself as a confidante to Julius, sensing that the time has come for him to enter Fall's life forever.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Colin McAdam lives in Montreal. His first novel, Some Great Thing, was published in 2004.

From Publishers Weekly:

A tense literary whodunit set in a prestigious Canadian boarding school, McAdam's second novel (after Some Great Thing) delivers suspense and cunning psychological insight. Chapters alternate between the recollections of Noel, a coldly intelligent loner, and the stream-of-consciousness of Julius, a handsome, popular athlete whose girlfriend, Fall, vanishes one day. Unstated but implicit is Fall's fate at the hands of one of the boys, but, as in many literary mysteries, the plot is secondary to the graceful prose and characterizations. The male characters are drawn with precision; Fall less so, as befits their objectification of her, though the relationship between Fall and Julius is depicted with a bittersweet charm. Julius's point of view is particularly well-done, conveying the inner turmoil of a lovestruck teenager. Noel's memories of their senior year, meanwhile, subtly reflect his emotional distance from others while suggesting a solution to the crime. The book is pleasingly paced and absorbing, and likely to appeal to fans of Arturo Perez-Reverte and Jess Walter. (June)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada s elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, a clever, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. But like everyone else, she is drawn to Julius, the confident and magnetic son of the American ambassador to Canada. They fall in love and Noel keeps watching. In their final year, the boys room together and as Julius grows closer to Fall, Noel s enthusiasm for their relationship shades into something darker as he imagines himself as a confidante to Julius, sensing that the time has come for him to enter Fall s life forever. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

McAdam, Colin
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Book Condition: New. A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada's elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 130 x 22. Weight in Grams: 236. . 2010. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada s elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, a clever, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. But like everyone else, she is drawn to Julius, the confident and magnetic son of the American ambassador to Canada. They fall in love and Noel keeps watching. In their final year, the boys room together and as Julius grows closer to Fall, Noel s enthusiasm for their relationship shades into something darker as he imagines himself as a confidante to Julius, sensing that the time has come for him to enter Fall s life forever. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

McAdam, Colin
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. A place of pressure and contradictions, St Ebury is an exclusive boarding school for the children of Canada's elite, where boys must act as men while navigating their adolescence. One of only a handful of girls at the school, Fall is the most beautiful. Noel, ghostly loner, watches her, certain that one day Fall will come to know him deeply. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 130 x 22. Weight in Grams: 236. . 2010. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mcadam Colin
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. pp. 336. Bookseller Inventory # 6324582

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new copy. Bookseller Inventory # 034758

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Colin McAdam
Published by Random House (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780099535461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Colin McAdam
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 336 pages. 7.80x5.08x0.83 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0099535467

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

MCADAM,C
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099535467 ISBN 13: 9780099535461
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780099535461 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE01344615

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds