Hanif, Mohammed A Case of Exploding Mangoes

ISBN 13: 9780099516743

A Case of Exploding Mangoes

3.72 avg rating
( 6,827 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099516743: A Case of Exploding Mangoes

There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world's sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan's military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of:

1.Mechanical failure

2.Human error

3.The CIA's impatience

4.A blind woman's curse

5.Generals not happy with their pension plans

6.The mango season

Or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri?

Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif's debut novel takes one of the subcontinent's enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar's dream.

Winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Zesty, highly inventive...Hanif is a gifted writer...His explosive finale is brilliantly constructed" ( Daily Mail)

"Exuberant and satirical: this is an angry comedy about Zia's brutal legacy to Pakistan" ( Observer)

"Witty, elegaic and deliciously anarchic" (John Le Carré)

"A Pakistan not reducible to generals, jets and jihadisa...a debut novel shaped as much by the subcontinents fascination with history and historical figures as by political thrillers in the tradition of Forsyth and Le Carre.... Along the way there is plenty of humour and slapstick... Cadet life is entertainingly evoked, overflowing with japes, jerkoffs, hashish highs and liquored lows... The most unexpected aspect of Mangoes is also its most compelling - the wryly told story of a love affair between two cadets" ( Guardian)

"Entertaining.... darkly comic.... There are sharply observed sketches of toadying ministers, mindlessly efficient security chiefs, filthy prison cells, sex-mad Arab sheikhs and erudite communist prisoners...as a piece of political satire, A Case of Exploding Mangoes deserves a high mark" ( Independent)

Book Description:

A superb debut novel centred around the assassination of the Pakistani dictator General Zia.

Winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hanif, Mohammed
Published by Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0099516748. Bookseller Inventory # Z0099516748ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hanif, Mohammed
Published by Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0099516748. Bookseller Inventory # Z0099516748ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hanif, Mohammed
Published by Vintage Books 2009-01-01 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books 2009-01-01, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0099516748. Bookseller Inventory # Z0099516748ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Mohammed Hanif
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world s sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan s military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of: 1.Mechanical failure 2.Human error 3.The CIA s impatience 4.A blind woman s curse 5.Generals not happy with their pension plans 6.The mango season Or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri? Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif s debut novel takes one of the subcontinent s enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar s dream. Winner of the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099516743

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hanif, Mohammed
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995167430000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mohammed Hanif
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world s sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan s military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of: 1.Mechanical failure 2.Human error 3.The CIA s impatience 4.A blind woman s curse 5.Generals not happy with their pension plans 6.The mango season Or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri? Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif s debut novel takes one of the subcontinent s enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar s dream. Winner of the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099516743

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mohammed Hanif
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 18mm. Paperback. There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world's sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan's mili.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 304 pages. 0.219. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099516743

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Mohammed Hanif
Published by Vintage 2009-06-04 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 2009-06-04, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00564977

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Mohammed Hanif
Published by Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. Why did a Hercules C130, the world's sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan's military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of: mechanical failure, human error, the CIA's impatience, a blind woman's curse or Generals not happy with their pension plans. This novel takes one of the subcontinent's enduring mysteries. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 20. Weight in Grams: 218. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099516743

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Mohammed Hanif
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world's sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan's military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of: 1.Mechanical failure 2.Human er. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099516743_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book