Captain Corelli's Mandolin. Louis de Bernires

3.95 avg rating
( 66,098 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099496984: Captain Corelli's Mandolin. Louis de Bernires

It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, a young Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscien-tious but far from fanatical soldier, whose main aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time to be civilised, humorous - and a consumate musician. when the local doctor's daughter's letters to her fiance go unanswered, the working of the eternal triangle seems inevitable. But can this fragile love survive as a war of bestial savagery gets closer and the lines are drawn between invader and defender

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"Brims with all the grand topics of literature — love and death, heroism and skull-duggery, humor and pathos, not to mention art and religion…A good old-fashioned novel." — Washington Post Book World "An exuberant mixture of history and romance, written with a wit that is incandescent" — Los Angeles Times Book Review "Stunning…A high-spirited historical romance…Remarkable." — The New York Times Book Review

“His novel will give pleasure to all sorts of readers. It is also so good that it will last.” —A.S. Byatt writing in Evening Standard

Captain Corelli’s Mandolin is an emotional, funny, stunning novel which swings with wide smoothness between joy and bleakness, personal lives and history…it’s lyrical and angry, satirical and earnest.” — Observer
“A wonderful, hypnotic novel of fabulous scope and tremendous iridescent charm.” —Joseph Heller
“It is funny, heartbreaking, and horrifying in its fictional testimony…. Captain Corelli's Mandolin, delightful and sad, comic and at the same time nearly unbearable in its portrayal of European darkness during the war, is a tour de force depiction of the triumph of life over evil by one of Europe's great comic writers of our time.” — Booklist

“Dazzling.…a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens.…So joyous and heartbreaking, so rich and musical and wise, that reading it is like discovering anew the enchanting power of fiction.” — San Francisco Chronicle

From the Inside Flap:

Extravagant, inventive, emotionally sweeping, Corelli's Mandolin is the story of a timeless place that one day wakes up to find itself in the jaws of history. The place is the Greek island of Cephallonia, where gods once dabbled in the affairs of men and the local saint periodically rises from his sarcophagus to cure the mad. Then the tide of World War II rolls onto the island's shores in the form of the conquering Italian army.
Caught in the occupation are Pelagia, a willful, beautiful young woman, and the two suitors vying for her love: Mandras, a gentle fisherman turned ruthless guerilla, and the charming, mandolin-playing Captain Corelli, a reluctant officer of the Italian garrison on the island. Rich with loyalties and betrayals, and set against a landscape where the factual blends seamlessly with the fantastic, Corelli's Mandolin is a passionate novel as rich in ideas as it is genuinely moving.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Louis de Bernieres
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, a young Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscien-tious but far from fanatical soldier, whose main aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time to be civilised, humorous - and a consumate musician. when the local doctor s daughter s letters to her fiance go unanswered, the working of the eternal triangle seems inevitable. But can this fragile love survive as a war of bestial savagery gets closer and the lines are drawn between invader and defender. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099496984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Louis De Bernieres
Published by Vintage Classics 2005-09-01 (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Classics 2005-09-01, 2005. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00410340

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Louis de Bernieres
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, a young Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscien-tious but far from fanatical soldier, whose main aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time to be civilised, humorous - and a consumate musician. when the local doctor s daughter s letters to her fiance go unanswered, the working of the eternal triangle seems inevitable. But can this fragile love survive as a war of bestial savagery gets closer and the lines are drawn between invader and defender. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099496984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Louis De Bernieres
Published by Random House (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2005. Book Condition: New. 2005. Limited Ed. Paperback. It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, an Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscientious but far from fanatical soldier, whose main aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time to be civilised, humorous - and a consummate musician. Num Pages: 560 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 124 x 35. Weight in Grams: 478. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099496984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Louis De Bernieres
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. 2005. Limited Ed. Paperback. It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, an Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscientious but far from fanatical soldier, whose main aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time to be civilised, humorous - and a consummate musician. Num Pages: 560 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 124 x 35. Weight in Grams: 478. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099496984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Louis de Bernieres
Published by Vintage Classics (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Classics, 2005. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780099496984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Louis de Bernieres
Published by Vintage Classics
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Classics. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099496984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Louis de Bernieres
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, a young Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscien-tious but far from fanatical soldier, whose main aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099496984_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bernieres Louis De
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. pp. 548. Bookseller Inventory # 8271464

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Louis de Bernières
Published by Random House 2005-09-01, London (2005)
ISBN 10: 0099496984 ISBN 13: 9780099496984
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2005-09-01, London, 2005. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099496984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book