The Chain: Farm, Factory, and the Fate of Our Food

3.89 avg rating
( 255 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062288752: The Chain: Farm, Factory, and the Fate of Our Food

A powerful and important work of investigative journalism that explores the runaway growth of the American meatpacking industry and its dangerous consequences.

On the production line in American packinghouses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Every year, the chain conveyors that set the pace of slaughter have continually accelerated to keep up with America’s growing appetite for processed meat. Acclaimed journalist Ted Genoways uses the story of Hormel Foods and soaring recession-era demand for its most famous product, Spam, to probe the state of the meatpacking industry, including the expansion of agribusiness and the effects of immigrant labor on Middle America.

Genoways interviewed scores of industry line workers, union leaders, hog farmers, and local politicians and activists. He reveals an industry pushed to its breaking point and exposes alarming new trends: sick or permanently disabled workers, abused animals, water and soil pollution, and mounting conflict between small towns and immigrant workers.

The narrative moves across the heartland, from Minnesota, to witness the cut-and-kill operation; to Iowa, to observe breeding and farrowing in massive hog barns; to Nebraska, to see the tense town hall meetings and broken windows caused by the arrival of Hispanic workers; and back to Minnesota, where political refugees from Burma give the workforce the power it needs to fight back.

A work of brilliant reporting, The Chain is a mesmerizing story and an urgent warning about the hidden cost of the food we eat.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

A harrowing investigation of the tortuous path our food products take—from slaughter to Spam

On the production line in American packing-houses, there is one cardinal rule: the chain never slows. Under pressure to increase supply, the supervisors of meat-processing plants have routinely accelerated the pace of conveyors, leading to inhumane conditions, increased accidents, and food of questionable, often dangerous quality. In The Chain, acclaimed journalist Ted Genoways uses the story of Hormel Foods and its most famous product, Spam—a recession-era staple—to probe the state of the meatpacking industry, including the expansion of agribusiness and the effects of immigrant labor on Middle America.

Interviewing scores of line workers, union leaders, hog farmers, and local politicians and activists, Genoways reveals an industry pushed to its breaking point. Along the way, he exposes alarming new trends: sick or permanently disabled workers, abused animals, water and soil pollution, and mounting conflict between small towns and immigrant labor.

The narrative moves across the heartland—from Minnesota, to witness the cut-and-kill operation; to Iowa, to observe breeding and farrowing in massive hog barns; to Nebraska, to see the tense town hall meetings and broken windows in reaction to the arrival of Hispanic workers; and back to Minnesota, where political refugees from Burma give the workforce the power it needs to fight back.

A searching exposé in the tradition of Upton Sinclair, Rachel Carson, and Eric Schlosser, The Chain is a mesmerizing story and an urgent warning about the hidden costs of the food we eat.

About the Author:

Ted Genoways served as the editor of the Virginia Quarterly Review from 2003 to 2012, during which time the magazine won six National Magazine Awards. He is a contributing editor at Mother Jones and an editor-at-large at OnEarth, and is a winner of the James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism. He is a fourth-generation Nebraskan and lives in Lincoln.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Genoways, Ted
Published by Harper Collins 2014-10-14 (2014)
ISBN 10: 006228875X ISBN 13: 9780062288752
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2014-10-14, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062288752B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.63
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Genoways, Ted
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 006228875X ISBN 13: 9780062288752
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 320 pages. 9.00x5.00x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk006228875X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Genoways, Ted
Published by Harper 2014-10-14 (2014)
ISBN 10: 006228875X ISBN 13: 9780062288752
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2014-10-14, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006228875X We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-006228875X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.08
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ted Genoways
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 006228875X ISBN 13: 9780062288752
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 006228875X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
28.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Genoways, Ted
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 006228875X ISBN 13: 9780062288752
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11006228875X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
30.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds