The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

3.9 avg rating
( 1,937 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062228864: The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

The decoding of Linear B is one of the world's greatest stories: from the discovery of a cache of ancient tablets recording a lost prehistoric language to the dramatic solution of the riddle nearly seventy years later, it exerts a mesmerising pull on the imagination.

But this captivating story is missing a crucial piece. Two men have dominated Linear B in popular history: Arthur Evans, the intrepid Victorian archaeologist who unearthed Linear B at Knossos and Michael Ventris, the dashing young amateur who produced a solution. But there was a third figure: Alice Kober, without whose painstaking work, recorded on pieces of paper clipped from hymn-sheets and magazines and stored in cigarette boxes in her Brooklyn loft, Linear B might still remain a mystery. Drawing on Kober's own papers - only made available recently - Margalit Fox provides the final piece of the enigma, and along the way reveals how you decipher a language when you know neither its grammar nor its alphabet as well as the stories behind other ancient languages, like the dancing-man Rongorongo of Easter Island.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

An engrossing detective story of driven personalities, hidden clues, perseverance and intuition [Fox] has uncovered a remarkable woman who had been buried by history ( Sunday Times)

[Fox's] enthusiasm is compelling when talking about the raw inventive brainpower of the code-breakers, their unswerving passion, and the magical way that a set of lines and curves in clay can be transformed into something with meaning ( Observer)

The author's triumph lies in her presentation of this complex subject, narrated with the pace and excitement of a detective story ( Country Life)

Truly memerising. It's also a lovely testament to language and the history of linguistics (Lesley McDowell Sunday Herald 2013-07-14)

A nail-biting intellectual and cultural adventure (Ian Finlayson The Times)

Praise for Talking Hands

'Fox provides an exhaustive, energetic and frequently elegant tour through the world of sign language and sign linguistics ... informed by the quiet passion of a natural teacher for her subject'

( New York Times)

A captivating and important book, minutely researched and vividly narrated (Oliver Sacks)

Book Description:

The full story of the race to decipher the world's greatest puzzle, now in paperback.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fox, Margalit
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW0021AV

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Harpercollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062228864

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.17
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062228862

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Fox, Margalit
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622288640000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 202 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Riddle of the Labyrinth is the true story of the quest to solve one of the most mesmerizing linguistic riddles in history and of the three brilliant, obsessed, and ultimately doomed investigators whose combined work would eventually crack the code. An award-winning journalist trained as a linguist, Margalit Fox not only takes readers step-by-step through the forensic process involved in cracking an ancient secret code, she restores one of the primary investigators, Alice Kober, to her rightful place in what is one of the most remarkable intellectual detective stories of all time. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062228864

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Fox, Margalit
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36SE5E0007Z4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.79
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece's Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe's earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery. Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox's riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegeanthe era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helento the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the deipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0062228862

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 202 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Riddle of the Labyrinth is the true story of the quest to solve one of the most mesmerizing linguistic riddles in history and of the three brilliant, obsessed, and ultimately doomed investigators whose combined work would eventually crack the code. An award-winning journalist trained as a linguist, Margalit Fox not only takes readers step-by-step through the forensic process involved in cracking an ancient secret code, she restores one of the primary investigators, Alice Kober, to her rightful place in what is one of the most remarkable intellectual detective stories of all time. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062228864

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062228862 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 16447275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.17
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco Press
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code, Margalit Fox. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062228864

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book