The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

3.91 avg rating
( 2,208 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062228864: The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Title: The Riddle of the Labyrinth( The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code) <>Binding: Paperback <>Author: MargalitFox <>Publisher: Ecco

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"A fascinating yarn centered around an unlikely heroine. . . . Fox's deft explanations of the script-solving process allow readers to share in the mental detective work of cracking the lost language."--Publishers Weekly

"Fox's achievement here is to make this fascinating tale accessible to a broader audience."--Washington Post

.".. a nail-biting intellectual and cultural adventure."--The Times UK

"Deft, sharply written ... Fox's account runs with the pace and tension of a detective story - and has much to say about language and writing systems along the way."--The Guardian UK

"[Fox] ... has cracked it, fashioning an intellectual puzzle into an engrossing detective story of driven personalities, hidden clues, perseverance and intuition. In the process, she has uncovered a remarkable woman who had been buried by history."--Sunday Times UK

"As with any good detective story, there's a driving narrative behind the puzzle, peopled by solitary sleuths."--The Guardian US

..". a nail-biting intellectual and cultural adventure."--The Times UK

A fascinating yarn centered around an unlikely heroine. . . . Fox s deft explanations of the script-solving process allow readers to share in the mental detective work of cracking the lost language. --Publishers Weekly"

Fox s achievement here is to make this fascinating tale accessible to a broader audience. --Washington Post"

a nail-biting intellectual and cultural adventure. --The Times UK"

Book Description:

For the first time, the full story of the race to decipher the world's greatest puzzle.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fox, Margalit
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VC-9780062228864

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.87
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Fox, Margalit
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780062228864

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.87
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0062228862

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.59
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Margalit Fox
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Seller Inventory # 97800622288640000000

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco Press 4/15/2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press 4/15/2014, 2014. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780062228864

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Margalit Fox
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece s Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe s earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery. Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox s riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegean--the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen--to the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the deipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code. Seller Inventory # AAS9780062228864

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0062228862. Seller Inventory # Z0062228862ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 0062228862

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.43
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0062228862 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.65. Seller Inventory # OTF-Y-9780062228864

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.87
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Margalit Fox
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062228862 ISBN 13: 9780062228864
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece s Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe s earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery. Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox s riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegean--the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen--to the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the deipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code. Seller Inventory # AAS9780062228864

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book