Gallows View: The First Inspector Banks Novel

3.78 avg rating
( 7,551 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062009388: Gallows View: The First Inspector Banks Novel

Former London policeman Alan Banks relocated to Yorkshire seeking some small measure of peace. But depravity and violence are not unique to large cities. His new venue, the quaint little village of Eastvale, seems to have more than its fair share of malefactors, among them a brazen Peeping Tom who hides in night's shadows spying on attractive, unsuspecting ladies as they prepare for bed. And when an elderly woman is found brutally slain in her home, Chief Inspector Banks wonders if the voyeur has increased the intensity of his criminal activities. But whether related or not, perverse local acts and murderous ones are combining to profoundly touch Banks's suddenly vulnerable personal life, forcing a dedicated law officer to make hard choices he'd dearly hoped would never be necessary.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

One of the world’s most popular and acclaimed writers, Peter Robinson is the bestselling, award-winning author of the Inspector Banks series; he has also written two short-story collections and three standalone novels, which combined have sold more than ten million copies around the world. Among his many honors and prizes are the Edgar Award, the CWA (UK) Dagger in the Library Award, and Sweden’s Martin Beck Award. He divides his time between Toronto and England.

From AudioFile:

For any narrator with a gift for English accents, Robinson's first Detective Alan Banks novel provides a richly stocked candy store. And Mark Honan has a very sweet tooth. He does any number of northern English dialects, switching from one to another in the blink of an eye and throwing in one or two tough London brogues for good measure. His relish in the performance is not the least of the pleasures in this story, which has the transplanted big-city inspector investigating exactly the kind of depraved and vicious crimes he expected to leave behind. Honan's zealous performance will make it a bit more difficult for listeners to sleep peacefully in the countryside. M.O. © AudioFile 2009, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Robinson, Peter
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW000U68

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 5.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Peter Robinson
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800620093880000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Robinson, Peter
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2016. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062009388

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 6.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Peter Robinson
Published by Harper Paperbacks, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. The classic first novel in Peter Robinson’s internationally bestselling series featuring Inspector Alan Banks—a must-read for fans of Louise Penny, Ian Rankin, and Elizabeth George. Former London policeman Alan Banks relocated to quiet Yorkshire seeking some small measure of peace. But as he soon learns, evil and violence are not unique to large cities. When an elderly woman is found brutally slain in her home in the quaint village of Eastvale, Chief Inspector Banks wonders if a local voyeur has crossed the line from menace to murderer. And before long, Banks finds himself caught in a web of increasingly deadly crimes—a net of danger that threatens his suddenly vulnerable personal life, forcing this dedicated law officer to make hard choices he d dearly hoped would never be necessary. Haunting and harrowing, Gallows View is a powerful novel of suspense that will linger long in the mind. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062009388

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 9.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Peter Robinson
Published by Harper Paperbacks, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. The classic first novel in Peter Robinson’s internationally bestselling series featuring Inspector Alan Banks—a must-read for fans of Louise Penny, Ian Rankin, and Elizabeth George. Former London policeman Alan Banks relocated to quiet Yorkshire seeking some small measure of peace. But as he soon learns, evil and violence are not unique to large cities. When an elderly woman is found brutally slain in her home in the quaint village of Eastvale, Chief Inspector Banks wonders if a local voyeur has crossed the line from menace to murderer. And before long, Banks finds himself caught in a web of increasingly deadly crimes—a net of danger that threatens his suddenly vulnerable personal life, forcing this dedicated law officer to make hard choices he d dearly hoped would never be necessary. Haunting and harrowing, Gallows View is a powerful novel of suspense that will linger long in the mind. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062009388

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 9.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Robinson, Peter
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BegoraBooks
(Aurora, CO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 4N-GWNW-381V

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 6.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Robinson, Peter
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2016. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062009388

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 6.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Peter Robinson
Published by Harper Paperbacks, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. The classic first novel in Peter Robinson’s internationally bestselling series featuring Inspector Alan Banks—a must-read for fans of Louise Penny, Ian Rankin, and Elizabeth George. Former London policeman Alan Banks relocated to quiet Yorkshire seeking some small measure of peace. But as he soon learns, evil and violence are not unique to large cities. When an elderly woman is found brutally slain in her home in the quaint village of Eastvale, Chief Inspector Banks wonders if a local voyeur has crossed the line from menace to murderer. And before long, Banks finds himself caught in a web of increasingly deadly crimes—a net of danger that threatens his suddenly vulnerable personal life, forcing this dedicated law officer to make hard choices he d dearly hoped would never be necessary. Haunting and harrowing, Gallows View is a powerful novel of suspense that will linger long in the mind. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780062009388

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 9.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Robinson, Peter
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062009389

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 7.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Robinson, Peter
ISBN 10: 0062009389 ISBN 13: 9780062009388
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 812751

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 7.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book