Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success

4.03 avg rating
( 4,125 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061946240: Bounce: Mozart, Federer, Picasso, Beckham, and the Science of Success

In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success—in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that you’d want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Why have all the sprinters who have run the 100 meters in under ten seconds been black?

What's one thing Mozart, Venus Williams, and Michelangelo have in common?

Is it good to praise a child's intelligence?

Why are baseball players so superstitious?

Few things in life are more satisfying than beating a rival. We love to win and hate to lose, whether it's on the playing field or at the ballot box, in the office or in the classroom. In this bold new look at human behavior, award-winning journalist and Olympian Matthew Syed explores the truth about our competitive nature—why we win, why we don't, and how we really play the game of life. Bounce reveals how competition—the most vivid, primal, and dramatic of human pursuits—provides vital insight into many of the most controversial issues of our time, from biology and economics, to psychology and culture, to genetics and race, to sports and politics.

Backed by cutting-edge scientific research and case studies, Syed shatters long-held myths about meritocracy, talent, performance, and the mind. He explains why some people thrive under pressure and others choke, and weighs the value of innate ability against that of practice, hard work, and will. From sex to math, from the motivation of children to the culture of big business, Bounce shows how competition provides a master key with which to unlock the mysteries of the world.

About the Author:

A two-time Olympian and a graduate of Oxford University, Matthew Syed is a columnist for The Times (London), a commentator for the BBC, and a recipient of the British Press Award for Sports Journalist of the Year, and was named British Sports Feature Writer of the Year by the Sports Journalists' Association.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Syed, Matthew
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061946240

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Syed, Mathew
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061946249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Syed, Matthew
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061946240

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Matthew Syed
Published by Harperluxe, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperluxe, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. large type edition. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success--in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that you d want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwell s The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061946240

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Matthew Syed
Published by Harperluxe, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperluxe, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. large type edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success--in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that you d want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwell s The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061946240

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Matthew Syed
Published by HarperLuxe (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1 Lrg. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061946249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Matthew Syed
Published by Harperluxe, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperluxe, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. large type edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success--in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that you d want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwell s The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061946240

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Syed, Matthew
Published by HarperLuxe (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061946249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Matthew Syed
Published by HarperLuxe
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 408 pages. Dimensions: 8.9in. x 5.9in. x 1.1in.In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to successin sports, business, school, and just about anything else that youd want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwells The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061946240

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Matthew Syed
ISBN 10: 0061946249 ISBN 13: 9780061946240
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Why have all the sprinters who have run the 100 meters in under ten seconds been black?What's one thing Mozart, Venus Williams, and Michelangelo have in common?Is it good to praise a .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 399 pages. 0.435. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061946240

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book