The Language of Trees: A Novel

3.62 avg rating
( 684 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061898648: The Language of Trees: A Novel

The Language of Trees, like Whitman’s Leaves of Grass though in a magic realist vernacular, refreshingly asserts that deeply American conviction: the gravest natural instinct is to heal and be healed. A shimmeringly heartfelt story.”

—Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked

  

“Crafted with suspenseful pacing and delicate imagery, Ilie Ruby’s book combines the qualities of an irresistible ghost story with a healing tale of redemption.”
—Elizabeth Rosner, author of The Speed of Light

 

A truly stunning literary debut, Ilie Ruby’s The Language of Trees is a fiercely beautiful novel that explores the relationships that define us, the events that shape us, and the places we will go to in order to save ourselves and those we love most. Fans of Jennifer McMahon, Alice Hoffman, and Niall Williams will be captivated by this haunting tale of homecoming and secrets that sparkles with exceptional writing and a gothic edge.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Gripping, suspenseful, magical, and richly atmospheric . . . Ilie Ruby's haunting debut novel, The Language of Trees, is exhilarating fiction that announces the arrival of a truly extraordinary storyteller.

Echo O'Connell knows that the summer holds its secrets. They are whispered in the rustling trees, in the lush scent of the lilacs, in the flurry of the mayflies batting against the screen door, and in the restless spirits that seem to clamor in the scant breezes on hot evenings. It is in summer that she returns home to Canandaigua, to confront these spirits, both living and not, and to share a secret with her first love, Grant Shongo—a secret that will forever change the lives of many people in the town and put to rest the mysterious disappearance of a little boy more than a decade earlier.

Grant, a descendant of the Seneca Indians who call this place "The Chosen Spot," has also come back to face his past. After a broken marriage, he has moved into his childhood home, a lake house that has withstood happiness and tragedy. He knows the spirits of the past must be dealt with—that of the little boy who disappeared all those years ago; the boy's sister, who never overcame the loss; and the love Grant still has for Echo. But before the healing must come the forgiveness. . . .

About the Author:

Ilie Ruby is the founder of The Great Women Series, and a frequent contributor to The New York Times Motherlode, and other publications. She lives near Boston with her husband and the three children they adopted from Africa.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ruby, Ilie
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW000QUA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ruby, Ilie
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks 2010-07-20 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks 2010-07-20, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. 0061898643 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quanities available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS92-9780061898648-11-8461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ruby, Ilie
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061898648

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ruby, Ilie
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061898648

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Ruby, Ilie
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061898643

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ilie Ruby
Published by Avon A, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon A, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Language of Trees, like Whitman s Leaves of Grass though in a magic realist vernacular, refreshingly asserts that deeply American conviction: the gravest natural instinct is to heal and be healed. A shimmeringly heartfelt story. --Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Crafted with suspenseful pacing and delicate imagery, Ilie Ruby s book combines the qualities of an irresistible ghost story with a healing tale of redemption. --Elizabeth Rosner, author of The Speed of Light A truly stunning literary debut, Ilie Ruby s The Language of Trees is a fiercely beautiful novel that explores the relationships that define us, the events that shape us, and the places we will go to in order to save ourselves and those we love most. Fans of Jennifer McMahon, Alice Hoffman, and Niall Williams will be captivated by this haunting tale of homecoming and secrets that sparkles with exceptional writing and a gothic edge. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061898648

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ilie Ruby
Published by Avon A, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon A, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Language of Trees, like Whitman s Leaves of Grass though in a magic realist vernacular, refreshingly asserts that deeply American conviction: the gravest natural instinct is to heal and be healed. A shimmeringly heartfelt story. --Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Crafted with suspenseful pacing and delicate imagery, Ilie Ruby s book combines the qualities of an irresistible ghost story with a healing tale of redemption. --Elizabeth Rosner, author of The Speed of Light A truly stunning literary debut, Ilie Ruby s The Language of Trees is a fiercely beautiful novel that explores the relationships that define us, the events that shape us, and the places we will go to in order to save ourselves and those we love most. Fans of Jennifer McMahon, Alice Hoffman, and Niall Williams will be captivated by this haunting tale of homecoming and secrets that sparkles with exceptional writing and a gothic edge. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061898648

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Ruby, Ilie
Published by Avon A 7/20/2010 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon A 7/20/2010, 2010. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. The Language of Trees. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780061898648

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Ruby, Ilie
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0061898643

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Ilie Ruby
Published by Avon A, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061898643 ISBN 13: 9780061898648
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon A, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. The Language of Trees, like Whitman s Leaves of Grass though in a magic realist vernacular, refreshingly asserts that deeply American conviction: the gravest natural instinct is to heal and be healed. A shimmeringly heartfelt story. --Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Crafted with suspenseful pacing and delicate imagery, Ilie Ruby s book combines the qualities of an irresistible ghost story with a healing tale of redemption. --Elizabeth Rosner, author of The Speed of Light A truly stunning literary debut, Ilie Ruby s The Language of Trees is a fiercely beautiful novel that explores the relationships that define us, the events that shape us, and the places we will go to in order to save ourselves and those we love most. Fans of Jennifer McMahon, Alice Hoffman, and Niall Williams will be captivated by this haunting tale of homecoming and secrets that sparkles with exceptional writing and a gothic edge. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061898648

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book