Seize the Fire: Heroism, Duty, and Nelson's Battle of Trafalgar

3.8 avg rating
( 256 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060753627: Seize the Fire: Heroism, Duty, and Nelson's Battle of Trafalgar

In October 1805 Lord Horatio Nelson, the most brilliant sea commander who ever lived, led the British Royal Navy to a devastating victory over the Franco-Spanish fleets at the great battle of Trafalgar. It was the foundation of Britain's nineteenth-century world-dominating empire. Adam Nicolson's Seize the Fire is not only a close and revealing portrait of a legendary hero in his final action but also a vivid account of the brutal realities of battle; it asks the questions: Why did the winners win? What was it about the British, their commanders and their men, their beliefs and their ambitions, that took them to such overwhelming victory?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Adam Nicols on is the author of Seamanship, God's Secretaries, and Seize the Fire. He has won both the Somerset Maugham and William Heinemann awards, and he lives with his family at Sissinghurst Castle in England.

Review:

“Elegant and imaginative.” (Jonathan Yardley, Washington Post)

“The reader will find nothing dull about this sparkling work...majestic, poetic and, at base, authentic.” (Literary Review)

“Vibrant and welcome addition to the admittedly already large library of Nelsonia.” (Jonathan Bouquet, The Observer)

“A well-reasoned transoceanic rejoinder to Freeman’s Affairs of Honor, and a pleasure for fans of Aubrey and Hornblower.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Bold and provocative...Nicolson’s book stands out from amongst its rivals.” (Sunday Telegraph)

“argued with vigour and written with grace, it is an illuminating piece of interpretive cultural history.” (Sunday Times (London))

“Nicolson’s eye for detail creates a compelling readability.” (Jonathan Mirsky, The Spectator (A Book of the Year))

“full of suspense and vivid, raw descriptions of the butchery...sublime writing” (The Scotsman)

“Of the books marking the bicentenary of...Trafalgar, Adam Nicolson’s can claim to be one of the most original” (The Week)

“strikingly original...Mr. Nicolson brings to life superbly the horror, devastation and gore of Trafalgar.” (The Economist)

“Nicolson brilliantly characterises each navy - British, French, Spanish - as an expression of the countries to which they belonged...vivid” (Country Life)

“Seize the Fire...is so ripping I faced the classic ocean-voyage quandary. Halfway through, my supply of pages dwindling, I started to ration...stirring, vividly written book.” (Independent on Sunday)

“So ripping I faced the classic ocean-voyage quandary. Halfway through, my supply of pages dwindling, I started to ration.” (David Lipsky, New York Times Book Review)

“A masterly reconstruction of this event.” (Christopher Hitchens, Atlantic Monthly)

“A thrilling book.” (Bloomberg News)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Adam Nicolson
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In October 1805 Lord Horatio Nelson, the most brilliant sea commander who ever lived, led the British Royal Navy to a devastating victory over the Franco-Spanish fleets at the great battle of Trafalgar. It was the foundation of Britain s nineteenth-century world-dominating empire. Adam Nicolson s Seize the Fire is not only a close and revealing portrait of a legendary hero in his final action but also a vivid account of the brutal realities of battle; it asks the questions: Why did the winners win? What was it about the British, their commanders and their men, their beliefs and their ambitions, that took them to such overwhelming victory?. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780060753627

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Adam Nicolson
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Seize the Fire: Heroism, Duty, and Nelson's Battle of Trafalgar, Adam Nicolson, In October 1805 Lord Horatio Nelson, the most brilliant sea commander who ever lived, led the British Royal Navy to a devastating victory over the Franco-Spanish fleets at the great battle of Trafalgar. It was the foundation of Britain's nineteenth-century world-dominating empire. Adam Nicolson's "Seize the Fire" is not only a close and revealing portrait of a legendary hero in his final action but also a vivid account of the brutal realities of battle; it asks the questions: Why did the winners win? What was it about the British, their commanders and their men, their beliefs and their ambitions, that took them to such overwhelming victory?. Bookseller Inventory # B9780060753627

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Adam Nicolson
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In October 1805 Lord Horatio Nelson, the most brilliant sea commander who ever lived, led the British Royal Navy to a devastating victory over the Franco-Spanish fleets at the great battle of Trafalgar. It was the foundation of Britain s nineteenth-century world-dominating empire. Adam Nicolson s Seize the Fire is not only a close and revealing portrait of a legendary hero in his final action but also a vivid account of the brutal realities of battle; it asks the questions: Why did the winners win? What was it about the British, their commanders and their men, their beliefs and their ambitions, that took them to such overwhelming victory?. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780060753627

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Nicolson, Adam
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2006. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KS-9780060753627

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.31
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Adam Nicolson
Published by P.S. (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description P.S., 2006. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TH9780060753627

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.58
From Germany to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Adam Nicolson
Published by Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 359 pages. 8.00x5.25x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-0060753625

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Adam Nicolson
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In October 1805 Lord Horatio Nelson, the most brilliant sea commander who ever lived, led the British Royal Navy to a devastating victory over the Franco-Spanish fleets at the great battle of Trafalgar. It was the foundation of Britain s nineteenth-century world-dominating empire. Adam Nicolson s Seize the Fire is not only a close and revealing portrait of a legendary hero in his final action but also a vivid account of the brutal realities of battle; it asks the questions: Why did the winners win? What was it about the British, their commanders and their men, their beliefs and their ambitions, that took them to such overwhelming victory?. Bookseller Inventory # LIE9780060753627

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Adam Nicolson
Published by Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060753625

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.08
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Adam Nicolson
Published by Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060753625

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10.77
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Adam Nicolson
ISBN 10: 0060753625 ISBN 13: 9780060753627
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800607536271.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 19.24
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book