Adventure Patrick Mercer To Do and Die

ISBN 13: 9780007302789

To Do and Die

3.57 avg rating
( 67 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007302789: To Do and Die

It was Anthony Morgan's first time in battle, his first sight of a soldier dead on the ground beyond him, his first awareness of the sounds of battle as the shells burst above them, the drums sounded and men screamed. Morgan, a subaltern in the 95th's Grenadiers, was determined to prove himself and his camaraderie with his men, in particular his sergeant, brought him under suspicion. But the over-confident British soon learnt that their enemy was a formidable foe, who used the rough terrain considerably better than they did. Several bloody engagements decimated the company. But gradually Morgan mastered his fears, learnt to fight fast and ruthlessly, and facing dire conflicts he was going to be tested to his limits...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born in 1956, Patrick Mercer read History at Oxford University before joining the Army. He commanded his battalion in Bosnia and Canada. Previously receiving a gallantry commendation, he was awarded the OBE in 1997. In 1999, Patrick Mercer accepted a post as the Defence Reporter for the Today Programme. In the 2001 election, he won the Tory seat in Newark. A respected historian, he has already published a non-fiction account of the Inkerman battle during the Crimean War.

Review:

Praise for To Do and Die:'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' Daily Mail`Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth. His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed'Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn`An excellent fiction debut. Any more please?'Military Illustrated`Mercer creates colourful, believable characters that stay true to the dialect of the time, but remain recognisable to any modern soldier. Fans of Sharpe, Flashman or Matthew Hervey should enjoy this novel'Soldier magazine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Book Condition: New. 2009. First Edition. Hardcover. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Book Condition: New. 2009. First Edition. Hardcover. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by Harpercollins Publishers (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Publishers, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 384 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Patrick Mercer
Published by Harper Collins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins 2009 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Robin Summers
(Aldeburgh, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 2009, 2009. Book Condition: New. New hardback. May show some slight shelf wear but content fine and unread. Bookseller Inventory # A143905

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
36.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007302789 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0940614

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds