Crime Fiction Patrick Mercer To Do and Die

ISBN 13: 9780007302789

To Do and Die

3.54 avg rating
( 63 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007302789: To Do and Die

The historical fiction debut from former soldier, BBC defence correspondent and MP Patrick Mercer is a thrilling military actioner set during the Crimean War.

1854. Newspapers report that war is imminent in 'the East' as the Western powers quarrel with Russia over fragments of the crumbling Ottoman empire. Wanting to prove himself to a father who will not let him forget about his own self-proclaimed military glories, Officer Tony Morgan is keen to set sail. Meanwhile, the Morgan's chambermaid, Mary, whom Tony loves but cannot marry, has wedded another officer in his company and will be accompanying the regiment to the front as a nurse.

Arriving at Sebastapol in the Crimea, the company's first engagement with the Russians fill the company with a short-lived confidence. Morgan is eager to prove himself a worthy leader, but in the face of several bloody engagements which decimate the company, he finds himself shaken to the core by the brutality of war. He also has to quell potential mutiny against the cowardly subaltern Carmichael, whose first instincts are always to save his own skin. His romantic longings for Mary are revived after her husband is severely injured and she nevertheless proves herself a noble and brave addition to the company. Facing dire conflict on the battlefield and off, within his company and within himself, Morgan is going to be tested to the limits…

In his fiction debut, Mercer’s twenty years of military service is all there on the page. His mastery of both the broad sweep and the finer details of military engagement is superb and bound to make an impact with military action fans. His characterisation of the regiment is wholly persuasive and he nails soldier psychology, slang and the interactions up and down the chain of command with deceptive ease. This is probably the closest any of us will get to being there.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for To Do and Die:

'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' Daily Mail

‘Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth. His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed’
Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn

‘An excellent fiction debut. Any more please?’
Military Illustrated

‘Mercer creates colourful, believable characters that stay true to the dialect of the time, but remain recognisable to any modern soldier. Fans of Sharpe, Flashman or Matthew Hervey should enjoy this novel’
Soldier magazine

About the Author:

Born in 1956, Patrick Mercer read History at Oxford University before joining the Army where he commanded his battalion in Bosnia and Canada. Previously receiving a gallantry commendation, he was awarded the OBE in 1997. In 1999, he accepted a post as the Defence Reporter for the Today Programme before turning to politics. In the 2001 election, Patrick Mercer won the Tory seat in Newark. A respected historian, he has already published a non-fiction account of the Inkerman battle during the Crimean War.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Book Condition: New. 2009. First Edition. Hardcover. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Book Condition: New. 2009. First Edition. Hardcover. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by Harpercollins Publishers (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Publishers, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 384 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Patrick Mercer
Published by Harper Collins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
30.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007302789

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007302789 ISBN 13: 9780007302789
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007302789 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0002604

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds