Patrick Mercer Red Runs the Helmand

ISBN 13: 9780007302772

Red Runs the Helmand

3.74 avg rating
( 27 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007302772: Red Runs the Helmand

A gripping adventure in which Mercer brilliantly brings to life the story of soldiers in the Second Anglo-Afghan War.

Anthony Morgan, now just appointed as general, has two of his sons, one his legitimate heir, one his bastard, both fighting in the ranks.

Morgan has arrived just as one of the rival princelings has begun to control Herat, and is determined to carve out some power for himself, and so embarks upon marching to Kandahar, determined to remove the British governor and take the city and province as his own kingdom.

Morgan's life is not made easier by problems with the other generals and in particular his own difficulties in dealing with the growing rivalry between his two sons.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for To Do and Die:

'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' Daily Mail

‘Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth. His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed’
Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn

‘An excellent fiction debut. Any more please?’
Military Illustrated

‘Mercer creates colourful, believable characters that stay true to the dialect of the time, but remain recognisable to any modern soldier. Fans of Sharpe, Flashman or Matthew Hervey should enjoy this novel’
Soldier magazine

About the Author:

Born in 1956, Patrick Mercer read History at Oxford University before joining the Army. He commanded his battalion in Bosnia and Canada. Previously receiving a gallantry commendation, he was awarded the OBE in 1997. In 1999, Patrick Mercer accepted a post as the Defence Reporter for the Today Programme. In the 2001 election, he won the Tory seat in Newark. A respected historian, he has already published a non-fiction account of the Inkerman battle during the Crimean War.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. A gripping adventure in which Mercer brilliantly brings to life the story of soldiers in the Second Anglo-Afghan War. Num Pages: 400 pages, map. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 131 x 196 x 24. Weight in Grams: 308. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Book Condition: New. A gripping adventure in which Mercer brilliantly brings to life the story of soldiers in the Second Anglo-Afghan War. Num Pages: 400 pages, map. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 131 x 196 x 24. Weight in Grams: 308. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A gripping adventure in which Mercer brilliantly brings to life the story of soldiers in the Second Anglo-Afghan War. Anthony Morgan, now just appointed as general, has two of his sons, one his legitimate heir, one his bastard, both fighting in the ranks. Morgan has arrived just as one of the rival princelings has begun to control Herat, and is determined to carve out some power for himself, and so embarks upon marching to Kandahar, determined to remove the British governor and take the city and province as his own kingdom. Morgan s life is not made easier by problems with the other generals and in particular his own difficulties in dealing with the growing rivalry between his two sons. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007302772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A gripping adventure in which Mercer brilliantly brings to life the story of soldiers in the Second Anglo-Afghan War. Anthony Morgan, now just appointed as general, has two of his sons, one his legitimate heir, one his bastard, both fighting in the ranks. Morgan has arrived just as one of the rival princelings has begun to control Herat, and is determined to carve out some power for himself, and so embarks upon marching to Kandahar, determined to remove the British governor and take the city and province as his own kingdom. Morgan s life is not made easier by problems with the other generals and in particular his own difficulties in dealing with the growing rivalry between his two sons. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007302772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Patrick Mercer
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800073027720000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by Harper Collins 2012-01-01 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2012-01-01, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302772B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.68
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Patrick Mercer
Published by Harper 2012-04-12 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2012-04-12, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00015896

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FC-9780007302772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0007302770

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007302770 ISBN 13: 9780007302772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 7302770

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book