Masters of the Sea ? Ship of Rome

3.86 avg rating
( 1,048 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007285235: Masters of the Sea ? Ship of Rome

Against a backdrop of the clash of the Roman and Carthaginian empires, the battle for sovereignty takes place on the high seas.

Atticus, captain of one of the ships of Rome's small, coastal fleet, is from a Greek fishing family. Septimus, legionary commander, reluctantly ordered aboard ship, is from Rome, born into a traditionally army family. It could never be an easy alliance. But the arrival of a hostile fleet, larger, far more skilful and more powerful than any Atticus has encountered before, forces them to act together.

So Atticus, one of Rome's few experienced sailors, finds himself propelled into the middle of a political struggle that is completely foreign to him. Rome need to build a navy fast but the obstacles are many; political animosities, legions adamant that they will only use their traditional methods; Roman prejudice even from friends, that all those not born in Rome are inferior citizens.

The enemy are first class, experienced and determined to control the seas. Can Atticus, and the fledgling Roman navy, staffed with inexperienced sailors and unwilling legionaries, outwit and outfight his opponents?

SHIP OF ROME, full of magnificent sea-battles, packed with strong characters, torn between two powerful empires, is the first book in a new series, MASTERS OF THE SEA, by a brilliant new author.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Against a backdrop of the clash of the Roman and Carthaginian empires, the battle for sovereignty takes place on the high seas

Review:

‘Strong characters, excellent action, SHIP OF ROME builds to a suberb climax’
CONN IGGULDEN

‘Peopled with characters both fictional and historical, this debut novel - the first in the Masters Of The Sea series - gives a fascinating and evocative insight into the high politics and military life of the times’
Daily Mail

‘This is a seriously entertaining book for anyone who enjoys stirring descriptions of ancient warfare. You can almost taste the salt, see the blood and hear the shouts and screams…John Stack is to be welcomed into the ranks of first-rate historical writers’
Tuam Herald

‘Crank up the testosterone, this one’s a fighter!’
U Magazine Ireland

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stack, John
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 000728523X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.08
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Stack
Published by Harper Collins (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Anderida Books
(LEDBURY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition, first printing of this excellent debut title. Has solitary number 1 on copyright page indicating it's first print status. First in a new series in the tradition of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow. This is a very special copy as it is one of 80 signed, lined: "Vae Victis", dated and numbered copies. All annotations to these books including the numbering were by author John Stack. These numbered copies out of 80 are the only books that John Stack numbered himself and each copy is supplied with a Harper Collins headed letter of provenance which is signed & numbered by author to confirm the authenticity of these books. The line: "Vae Victis" was chosen by the author and translated means "Woe to the vanquished." New and unread. Both the hardcover and dust-wrapper are both in fine condition. Please Note: The photo of the numbered page is for illustration purposes only. The number you will receive will be different.***********PACKED IN A BOX WITH PLENTY OF PROTECTION. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 000212

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Stack
Published by Harper Collins (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Anderida Books
(LEDBURY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition, first printing of this excellent debut title. Has solitary number 1 on copyright page indicating it's first print status. Already into multiple re-print. First in a new series in the tradition of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow. This has been signed, lined: "Rome Victorious!", and dated by author John Stack New and unread. Both the hardcover and dustwrapper are both in fine condition.PACKED WITH CARE. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 000232

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stack, John
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11000728523X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
29.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15.38
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

John Stack
Published by Harper Collins, UK (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Analecta Books
(Barry, VOG, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, UK, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Gorgeous unblemished copy in new/unread condition. Synopsis : Against a backdrop of the clash of the Roman and Carthaginian empires, the battle for sovereignty takes place on the high seas. Atticus, captain of one of the ships of Rome's small, coastal fleet, is from a Greek fishing family. Septimus, legionary commander, reluctantly ordered aboard ship, is from Rome, born into a traditionally army family. It could never be an easy alliance. But the arrival of a hostile fleet, larger, far more skilful and more powerful than any Atticus has encountered before, forces them to act together. So Atticus, one of Rome's few experienced sailors, finds himself propelled into the middle of a political struggle that is completely foreign to him. Rome need to build a navy fast but the obstacles are many; political animosities, legions adamant that they will only use their traditional methods; Roman prejudice even from friends, that all those not born in Rome are inferior citizens. The enemy are first class, experienced and determined to control the seas. Can Atticus, and the fledgling Roman navy, staffed with inexperienced sailors and unwilling legionaries, outwit and outfight his opponents? SHIP OF ROME, full of magnificent sea-battles, packed with strong characters, torn between two powerful empires, is the first book in a new series, MASTERS OF THE SEA, by a brilliant new author. Bookseller Inventory # 001560

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
64.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Stack, John
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 000728523X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0924681

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 30.77
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds