Ship of Rome (Masters of the Sea)

3.87 avg rating
( 1,084 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007285235: Ship of Rome (Masters of the Sea)

Against a backdrop of the clash of the Roman and Carthaginian empires, the battle for sovereignty takes place on the high seas Atticus, captain of one of the ships of Rome's small, coastal fleet, is from a Greek fishing family. Septimus, legionary commander, reluctantly ordered aboard ship, is from Rome, born into a traditionally army family. It could never be an easy alliance. But the arrival of a hostile fleet, larger, far more skilful and more powerful than any Atticus has encountered before, forces them to act together. So Atticus, one of Rome's few experienced sailors, finds himself propelled into the middle of a political struggle that is completely foreign to him. Rome need to build a navy fast but the obstacles are many; political animosities, legions adamant that they will only use their traditional methods; Roman prejudice even from friends, that all those not born in Rome are inferior citizens. The enemy are first class, experienced and determined to control the seas. Can Atticus, and the fledgling Roman navy, staffed with inexperienced sailors and unwilling legionaries, out-wit and out-fight his opponents? SHIP OF ROME, full of magnificent sea-battles, packed with strong characters, torn between two powerful empires, is the first book in a new series, MASTERS OF THE SEA, by a brilliant new author.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

John Stack was born and lives in County Cork. He has always wanted to write but has done a variety of jobs ending up in IT. He is presently wiring the second novel in the series. He is married with two children.

From Publishers Weekly:

In this historically accurate debut, Stack vividly recreates the Roman Republic and its first attempts at a Roman navy. Capt. Atticus Perennis is a Roman of Greek ancestry and master of the trireme Aquila. Septimus Capito is one of the first marine Centurions. The two brothers-in-arms must confront both the vagaries of the Senate, with its backstabbing, self-aggrandizing politics, and the difficulties of developing the concept of naval warfare. Characteriza-tion tends to take a backseat to the abundant historical data, as Stack fills his stirring story brimming with the minutiae of Roman military life circa 200 B.C. and the strategic details of conducting battles at sea from slave-powered galleys, but fans of historical naval fiction will be thrilled by this exploration of an oft-ignored era. (July)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

John Stack
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M000728523X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Stack, John
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P11000728523X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
33.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Stack
Published by Harper Collins (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Anderida Books
(LEDBURY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition, first printing of this excellent debut title. Has solitary number 1 on copyright page indicating it's first print status. First in a new series in the tradition of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow. This is a very special copy as it is one of 80 signed, lined: "Vae Victis", dated and numbered copies. All annotations to these books including the numbering were by author John Stack. These numbered copies out of 80 are the only books that John Stack numbered himself and each copy is supplied with a Harper Collins headed letter of provenance which is signed & numbered by author to confirm the authenticity of these books. The line: "Vae Victis" was chosen by the author and translated means "Woe to the vanquished." New and unread. Both the hardcover and dust-wrapper are both in fine condition. Please Note: The photo of the numbered page is for illustration purposes only. The number you will receive will be different.***********PACKED IN A BOX WITH PLENTY OF PROTECTION. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 000212

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 16.51
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Stack
Published by Harper Collins (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Anderida Books
(LEDBURY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition, first printing of this excellent debut title. Has solitary number 1 on copyright page indicating it's first print status. Already into multiple re-print. First in a new series in the tradition of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow. This has been signed, lined: "Rome Victorious!", and dated by author John Stack New and unread. Both the hardcover and dustwrapper are both in fine condition.PACKED WITH CARE. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 000232

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 16.51
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Stack, John
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 000728523X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.1805150

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

John Stack
Published by Harper Collins, UK (2009)
ISBN 10: 000728523X ISBN 13: 9780007285235
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Analecta Books
(Barry, VOG, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, UK, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Gorgeous unblemished copy in new/unread condition. Synopsis : Against a backdrop of the clash of the Roman and Carthaginian empires, the battle for sovereignty takes place on the high seas. Atticus, captain of one of the ships of Rome's small, coastal fleet, is from a Greek fishing family. Septimus, legionary commander, reluctantly ordered aboard ship, is from Rome, born into a traditionally army family. It could never be an easy alliance. But the arrival of a hostile fleet, larger, far more skilful and more powerful than any Atticus has encountered before, forces them to act together. So Atticus, one of Rome's few experienced sailors, finds himself propelled into the middle of a political struggle that is completely foreign to him. Rome need to build a navy fast but the obstacles are many; political animosities, legions adamant that they will only use their traditional methods; Roman prejudice even from friends, that all those not born in Rome are inferior citizens. The enemy are first class, experienced and determined to control the seas. Can Atticus, and the fledgling Roman navy, staffed with inexperienced sailors and unwilling legionaries, outwit and outfight his opponents? SHIP OF ROME, full of magnificent sea-battles, packed with strong characters, torn between two powerful empires, is the first book in a new series, MASTERS OF THE SEA, by a brilliant new author. Bookseller Inventory # 001560

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
64.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 17.51
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds