Items related to Dead Men's Bones: Inspector McLean 4

Dead Men's Bones: Inspector McLean 4

4.14 avg rating
( 2,399 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781405917094: Dead Men's Bones: Inspector McLean 4
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Dead Men's Bones is the fourth novel in James Oswald's phenomenal Inspector McLean series set in Edinburgh and is already a Sunday Times Top Five bestseller.

A family lies slaughtered in an isolated house in North East Fife . . .

Morag Weatherly and her two young daughters have been shot by husband Andrew, an influential politician, before he turned the gun on himself.

But what would cause a rich, successful man to snap so suddenly?

For Inspector Tony McLean, this apparently simple but high-profile case leads him into a world of power and privilege. And the deeper he digs, the more he realizes he's being manipulated by shadowy factions.

Under pressure to wrap up the case, McLean instead seeks to uncover layers of truth - putting the lives of everyone he cares about at risk . . .

The first three titles in the bestselling Inspector McLean series - Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, and The Hangman's Song, are all available as Penguin paperbacks and eBooks. Fans of Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride will love James Oswald's writing.


Praise for the James Oswald and the Inspector McLean series:

'A star of Scotland's burgeoning crime fiction scene' Daily Record

'Crime fiction's next big thing' The Sunday Telegraph

'Literary sensation . . .James' overnight success has drawn comparisons with the meteoric rise of E. L. James and her Fifty Shades of Grey series' Daily Mail

'Fifty Shades of Hay' The Times

'Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers' Daily Mail

'The new Ian Rankin' Daily Record

'The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish' The Herald

'A good read' The Times

'An excellent start to what promises to be a fine series' Guardian

'Classy, occasionally brutal, and with the odd suggestion of the supernatural, this will doubtless be another deserved hit. Oswald's writing is in a class above most in this genre' Daily Express

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

There's a timely feel to this macabre police procedural, which also has shade of the supernatural. After a top politician shoots his family, Detective Tony McLean uncovers an establishment sex-abuse ring, operated at a mental hospital. Creepy, gritty and gruesome (Sunday Mirror)

The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish (The Herald)

Crime fiction's next big thing (The Sunday Telegraph)

Literary sensation . . . James' overnight success has drawn comparisons with the meteoric rise of E L James and her Fifty Shades of Grey series (Daily Mail)

Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers (Daily Mail)

Fifty Shades of Hay (The Times)

From the Back Cover:

'The new Ian Rankin'
Daily Record

DI Tony McLean is urgently called to Fife. A prominent politician has killed his wife and daughters before turning the gun on himself.

No one understands why a loving husband and father would snap so suddenly. Mclean's orders are to leave no stone unturned as he tries to solve this tragic puzzle.

But that means rubbing shoulders with the powerful and privileged - people who don't like ordinary coppers poking their noses into their business.

And if McLean wants to get closer to the truth, he will have to cross the line and put the lives of everyone he cares about in grave danger...

Praise for James Oswald

'Oswald's writing is in a class above'
Express

'Creepy gritty and gruesome'
Sunday Mirror


<>

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Shipping: 0.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781629538297: Dead Men's Bones: An Inspector McLean Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1629538299 ISBN 13: 9781629538297
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books, 2016
Softcover

9781629538280: Dead Men's Bones: An Inspector McLean Novel

Crooke..., 2016
Hardcover

9781405931274: Dead Men's Bones: Inspector McLean 4

Penguin, 2016
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

James Oswald
Published by Penguin 2014-07-03 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New Paperback Quantity: 6
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-GRD-9781405917094

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

James Oswald
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. Morag Weatherly and her two young daughters have been shot by husband Andrew, an influential politician, before he turned the gun on himself. But what would cause a rich, successful man to snap so suddenly? For Inspector Tony McLean, this apparently simple but high-profile case leads him into a world of power and privilege. And the deeper he digs, the more he realises he's being manipulated by shadowy factions. Under pressure to wrap up the case, McLean instead seeks to uncover layers of truth - putting the lives of everyone he cares about at risk . . . A family lies slaughtered in an isolated house in North East Fife. Morag Weatherly and her two young daughters have been shot by husband Andrew, an influential politician, before he turned the gun on himself. But what would cause a rich, successful man to snap so suddenly? Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9781405917094

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.57
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

James Oswald
Published by Penguin 2014-07-03 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6959-PEN-9781405917094

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

James Oswald
Published by Penguin Books Ltd 2014-07-03, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9781405917094

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

OSWALD, JAMES
Published by Penguin (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
My Books Store
(Tallahassee, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Book is in NEW condition. Satisfaction Guaranteed! Fast Customer Service!!. Seller Inventory # MBSN1405917091

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

OSWALD, JAMES
Published by Penguin (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9781405917094_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oswald, James (Author)
Published by Penguin (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 480 pages. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1405917091

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oswald, James
Published by Penguin (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New Paperback Quantity: 6
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9781405917094-GDR

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

James Oswald
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 10
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. A family lies slaughtered in an isolated house in North East Fife. Morag Weatherly and her two young daughters have been shot by husband Andrew, an influential politician, before he turned the gun on himself. But what would cause a rich, successful man to snap so suddenly?. Seller Inventory # B9781405917094

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Oswald, James
Published by Penguin (2014)
ISBN 10: 1405917091 ISBN 13: 9781405917094
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. 2014. 0th Edition. Paperback. A family lies slaughtered in an isolated house in North East Fife. Morag Weatherly and her two young daughters have been shot by husband Andrew, an influential politician, before he turned the gun on himself. But what would cause a rich, successful man to snap so suddenly? Series: Inspector Mclean. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 128 x 29. Weight in Grams: 342. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781405917094

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book