Drumveyn: Perthshire Cycle, Book 1 (Coronet books)

4.2 avg rating
( 230 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780340738924: Drumveyn: Perthshire Cycle, Book 1 (Coronet books)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Four months after Sir Charles Napier's death, his widow, Madeleine, finding it hard to free herself from his lingering domination, still maintains the oppressive lifestyle he had ordained, and which had finally driven her children from their large and remote Scottish home.



Then Madeleine becomes aware of people needing her: her betrayed daughter Lisa; her son, Archie, with his plans for the estate and the problems of his foundering marriage; a friend at a crossroads in her life; an abandoned child and an unwanted baby. In meeting these challenges Madeleine discovers self-confidence and independence, and a new beginning at the heart of a wider, happier family in a transformed Drumveyn.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Drumveyn had me hooked from the first page (Barbara Erskine)

Warm, friendly, involving ...lovely (Reay Tannahill)

A real find ... the genuine storyteller's flair (Mary Stewart)

An absorbing story with a perfectly painted background (Financial Times)

The power of a natural-born storyteller (The Lady)

A welcome new storyteller (Rosamunde Pilcher)

Book Description:

A Scottish tale of love and independence in the tradition of Mary Stewart and Rosamunde Pilcher

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780140251142: Drumveyn

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0140251146 ISBN 13: 9780140251142
Publisher: Penguin, 1997
Softcover

9780451191397: Drumveyn

Penguin, 1997
Softcover

9780718139841: Drumveyn

Michae..., 1996
Hardcover

9780708937426: Drumveyn

Ulvers..., 1997
Hardcover

9780340765845: Drumveyn

Coronet, 1999
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Raife, Alexandra
ISBN 10: 0340738928 ISBN 13: 9780340738924
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # E-0340738928

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
67.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.89
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Raife, Alexandra
Published by Hodder & Stoughton (1999)
ISBN 10: 0340738928 ISBN 13: 9780340738924
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hodder & Stoughton, 1999. Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0340738928

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
75.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.89
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds