Thurley, Simon Lost Buildings of Britain

ISBN 13: 9780670915217

Lost Buildings of Britain

3.5 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780670915217: Lost Buildings of Britain
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In LOST BUILDINGS OF BRITAIN leading historian Simon Thurley takes a journey into our nation's past and reveals the hidden narratives behind what we have lost from our historic landscape. Today they are ruins, destroyed by fire, neglect, war and even progress. But once they were places of great importance and beauty. Sifting through the remains, Thurley paints a fascinating portrait of how our ancestors once lived and worked.

LOST BUILDINGS OF BRITAIN is accompanied by a six-part television series on Channel 4.

The six buildings are: Glastonbury Abbey, the Palace of Whitehall, Nottingham Castle, Millbank Penitentiary, Fonthill Abbey and the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

For fans of Restoration and Simon Jenkins's England's Thousand Best Houses.

To coincide with a major 6-part Channel 4 TV series.

Will establish Simon Thurley alongside Simon Schama and David Starkey as one of our premier TV historians.

About the Author:

Simon Thurley is a world authority on the royal palaces of the Tudor and Stuart kings. From 1990-1997, he was curator of the Historic Royal Palaces. In 1998 he was made director of the Museum of London. Since 2002 he has been Chief Executive of English Heritage.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780141020280: Lost Buildings of Britain

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0141020288 ISBN 13: 9780141020280
Publisher: Penguin, 2015
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Thurley, Simon
Published by Gardners Books (2004)
ISBN 10: 0670915211 ISBN 13: 9780670915217
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Gardners Books, 2004. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0670915211

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
47.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Thurley, Simon
ISBN 10: 0670915211 ISBN 13: 9780670915217
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0670915211

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
86.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds