Items related to Black Water

Doughty, Louise Black Water

ISBN 13: 9780571278671

Black Water

3.4 avg rating
( 1,423 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780571278671: Black Water
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

John Harper lies awake at night in an isolated hut on an Indonesian island, listening to the rain on the roof and believing his life may be in danger. But he is less afraid of what is going to happen than of something he's already done.

In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own troubled history. They begin an affair - but can he allow himself to get involved when he knows this might put her at risk?

Moving between Europe during the cold war, California and the Civil Rights struggle, and Indonesia during the massacres of 1965 and the decades of military dictatorship that follow, Black Water is an epic novel that explores some of the darkest events of recent world history through the story of one troubled man.

Black Water confirms Louise Doughty's position as one of our most important contemporary novelists. She writes with fierce intelligence and a fine-tuned sense of moral ambiguity that makes her fiction resonate in the reader's mind long after the final page has been turned.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Beautifully written but at times disconcertingly dark, this is a good one for sitting out flight delays. Source: Stylist

[A]n intelligent thriller so full of shadows that it prickles with the anticipatory tension of a violent storm on a muggy day. Source: Metro

Doughty at her suspenseful best, working on a totally different canvas ... Doughty writes superbly about ... sexual passion as a force for change and possible redemption, when the stakes couldn't be higher. A forgotten part of Indonesia's turbulent history is well evoked. Author: Kate Saunders Source: The Times

Ruthless and ambitious ... a truly gripping read, centering on themes of morality, race and judgement. Source: Press Association

Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré. Source: Kirkus

Doughty's language is punchy, visually striking and emotionally potent ... This is a compelling and vivid psychological drama, with plenty of bite. Author: Leyla Sanai Source: Guardian

The set pieces are done with an almost P.M. Hubbard-like ability to unsettle, and there are domestic scenes, often heavy with significance, that are so well rendered that they approach the comic ... This is a book for Graham Greene and John le Carré lovers, misanthropes often, who delight in extreme moral quandary. Source: Spectator

Book Description:

'Black Water will delight fans of Graham Greene and John le Carre' Spectator

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781250141026: Black Water

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
Publisher: Picador USA, 2017
Softcover

9780571278664: Black Water

Faber ..., 2016
Softcover

9780374114015: Black Water

Sarah ..., 2016
Hardcover

9780571323555: Black Water

Faber ..., 2016
Hardcover

9788380532328: Black Water

Burda ..., 2017
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Louise Doughty
Published by Faber & Faber, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Beech, Mark (illustrator). Main. Language: English. Brand new Book. John Harper lies awake at night in an isolated hut on an Indonesian island, listening to the rain on the roof and believing his life may be in danger. But he is less afraid of what is going to happen than of something he's already done.In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own troubled history. They begin an affair - but can he allow himself to get involved when he knows this might put her at risk?Moving between Europe during the cold war, California and the Civil Rights struggle, and Indonesia during the massacres of 1965 and the decades of military dictatorship that follow, Black Water is an epic novel that explores some of the darkest events of recent world history through the story of one troubled man.Black Water confirms Louise Doughty's position as one of our most important contemporary novelists. She writes with fierce intelligence and a fine-tuned sense of moral ambiguity that makes her fiction resonate in the reader's mind long after the final page has been turned. Seller Inventory # AA99780571278671

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 7.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Faber & Faber (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Beech, Mark (illustrator). Seller Inventory # 28705628-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 6.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Louise Doughty
Published by FABER & FABER, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Beech, Mark (illustrator). Main. Language: English. Brand new Book. John Harper lies awake at night in an isolated hut on an Indonesian island, listening to the rain on the roof and believing his life may be in danger. But he is less afraid of what is going to happen than of something he's already done.In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own troubled history. They begin an affair - but can he allow himself to get involved when he knows this might put her at risk?Moving between Europe during the cold war, California and the Civil Rights struggle, and Indonesia during the massacres of 1965 and the decades of military dictatorship that follow, Black Water is an epic novel that explores some of the darkest events of recent world history through the story of one troubled man.Black Water confirms Louise Doughty's position as one of our most important contemporary novelists. She writes with fierce intelligence and a fine-tuned sense of moral ambiguity that makes her fiction resonate in the reader's mind long after the final page has been turned. Seller Inventory # FOY9780571278671

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 10.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Louise Doughty
Published by Faber & Faber 2017-03-30 (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New Paperback Quantity: 20
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Beech, Mark (illustrator). Seller Inventory # 6959-TBS-9780571278671

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 0.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Louise Doughty
Published by Faber & Faber 2017-03-30 (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New Paperback Quantity: 4
Seller:
International Bookstore
(Wallingford, OXON, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Beech, Mark (illustrator). Seller Inventory # 6959-GRD-9780571278671

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 10.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 0.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Doughty, Louise,Doughty, Louise,Doughty, Louise
Published by Faber & Faber (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Bestsellersuk
(Hereford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Beech, Mark (illustrator). No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service â " all orders are dispatched next working day. Seller Inventory # mon0000768207

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 2.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Louise Doughty
Published by Faber & Faber, London (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Beech, Mark (illustrator). Paperback. John Harper lies awake at night in an isolated hut on an Indonesian island, listening to the rain on the roof and believing his life may be in danger. But he is less afraid of what is going to happen than of something he's already done.In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own troubled history. They begin an affair - but can he allow himself to get involved when he knows this might put her at risk? Moving between Europe during the cold war, California and the Civil Rights struggle, and Indonesia during the massacres of 1965 and the decades of military dictatorship that follow, Black Water is an epic novel that explores some of the darkest events of recent world history through the story of one troubled man. Black Water confirms Louise Doughty's position as one of our most important contemporary novelists. She writes with fierce intelligence and a fine-tuned sense of moral ambiguity that makes her fiction resonate in the reader's mind long after the final page has been turned. John Harper lies awake at night in an isolated hut on an Indonesian island, listening to the rain on the roof and believing his life may be in danger. In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own troubled history. They begin an affair - but can he allow himself to get involved when he knows this might put her at risk? Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780571278671

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 11.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Louise Doughty
Published by Faber & Faber 2017-03-30, London (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Beech, Mark (illustrator). Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780571278671

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 8.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Faber & Faber (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New Softcover Quantity: 4
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Beech, Mark (illustrator). Seller Inventory # ria9780571278671_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 9.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Faber & Faber (2017)
ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
New Paperback Quantity: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: Brand New. Beech, Mark (illustrator). 384 pages. 7.80x5.30 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0571278671

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 7.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book