Gill Lewis Scarlet Ibis

ISBN 13: 9780192793553

Scarlet Ibis

4.11 avg rating
( 266 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780192793553: Scarlet Ibis
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Longlisted for the 2015 Carnegie Medal.

Red asks, 'Will we always be together?'
'Always,' I say. 'Just you and me in that little boat, watching the scarlet ibis flying back to the Caroni Swamp.'

Scarlet's used to looking after her brother, Red. He's special - different. Every night she tells him his favourite story - about the day they'll fly far away to the Caroni Swamp in Trinidad, where thousands of birds fill the sky.

But when Scarlet and Red are split up and sent to live with different foster families, Scarlet knows she's got to do whatever it takes to get her brother back . . .

A wonderfully moving new novel from the author of Sky Hawk and White Dolphin.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for Gill Lewis' novels: Opens your eyes, touches your heart, and is so engaging it almost turns the pages for you. (Michael Morpurgo)

Moving, gripping and full of well-drawn, convincing characters, this is a powerful and inspirational book. (Daily Mail)

Exciting yet sensitive, tender and thought-provoking. (Booktrust)

. . . a beautiful read with a fast paced plot and ends with an uplifting message of emotional survival and hope. (We Love This Book)

This is a lyrical, emotive, engrossing adventure. (Sunday Times, Nicolette Jones)

A beautifully-told, nail-biting tale, that will inspire and empower anyone who reads it. (Kate Humble)

I absolutely loved this beautiful tale of friendship and hope. There's obvious appeal for fans of Lauren St John and Michael Morpurgo, and she's most definitely a writer to watch. (Bookseller)

I read the book in more or less a single sitting, then at the end I skipped back to read the best bits again. There aren't many novels you can say that about. (Lorna Bradbury, The Telegraph)

I absolutely loved this: a deeply moving account of two siblings sent to live with foster families...A powerful and emotional story. (Fiona Noble, The Bookseller)

Lewis makes you feel as though you are there with Scarlet and Red fighting their fights and feeling their pain. (Charlotte Seager, The Guardian)

Book Description:

How far would you go to protect someone you love?

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780192793560: Scarlet Ibis

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  019279356X ISBN 13:  9780192793560
Publisher: OUP Oxford, 2015
Softcover

9781481449410: Scarlet Ibis

Athene..., 2018
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gill Lewis
Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0192793551 ISBN 13: 9780192793553
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0192793551

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
28.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.46
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds