Kohn, Rebecca The Gilded Chamber

ISBN 13: 9780141020501

The Gilded Chamber

3.7 avg rating
( 2,147 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780141020501: The Gilded Chamber

One girl, one nation, one chance . . .

Esther's story is one of the most dramatic in the Bible: a renowned beauty, she used her feminine wiles to capture the heart of a king and so win the deliverance of her people from the threat of death. The Gilded Chamber creatively re-works the famous story to show us how this young girl came to be in the harem of King Xerxes and how her path to womanhood enabled her to save a nation and find peace.

This is a tale of strength, seduction and survival, of the solidarity of women, and its descriptions of the Persian palace and the secrets contained within those walls will hold you spellbound to the final page.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"The Gilded Chamber" is a world unto itself and one well worth entering. (Margaret George, author of "Mary, Called Magdalene") A triumph of historical imagination and a must-read for lovers?and lovers of Jewish history. (Steven Pressfield, author of "Gates of Fire") Fans of Orson Scott Card's "Sarah" and Anita Diamant's "The Red Tent" have a new author to follow in Kohn. ("Library Journal") Evocatively and sensuously told. ("Booklist") Evokes Anita Diamant's "The Red Tent" in style and Arthur Golden's "Memoirs of a Geisha" in setting.? ("The Jewish Journal")

About the Author:

Rebecca Kohn lives in New Hampshire with her husband and daughter. The Gilded Chamber is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kohn, Rebecca
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. One girl, one nation, one chance .Esther s story is one of the most dramatic in the Bible: a renowned beauty, she used her feminine wiles to capture the heart of a king and so win the deliverance of her people from the threat of death. The Gilded Chamber creatively re-works the famous story to show us how this young girl came to be in the harem of King Xerxes and how her path to womanhood enabled her to save a nation and find peace. This is a tale of strength, seduction and survival, of the solidarity of women, and its descriptions of the Persian palace and the secrets contained within those walls will hold you spellbound to the final page. Bookseller Inventory # APG9780141020501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kohn, Rebecca
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. One girl, one nation, one chance .Esther s story is one of the most dramatic in the Bible: a renowned beauty, she used her feminine wiles to capture the heart of a king and so win the deliverance of her people from the threat of death. The Gilded Chamber creatively re-works the famous story to show us how this young girl came to be in the harem of King Xerxes and how her path to womanhood enabled her to save a nation and find peace. This is a tale of strength, seduction and survival, of the solidarity of women, and its descriptions of the Persian palace and the secrets contained within those walls will hold you spellbound to the final page. Bookseller Inventory # APG9780141020501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kohn, Rebecca
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801410205010000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kohn, Rebecca
Published by Penguin (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Y-Not-Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Next day dispatch. International delivery available. 1000's of satisfied customers! Please contact us with any enquiries. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000064655

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kohn, Rebecca
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 199mm x 24mm. Paperback. One girl, one nation, one chance .Esther's story is one of the most dramatic in the Bible: a renowned beauty, she used her feminine wiles to capture the heart of a king and so win the de.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.252. Bookseller Inventory # 9780141020501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kohn, Rebecca
Published by Penguin (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 368 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0141020504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Kohn, Rebecca
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2005. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # CP-9780141020501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Kohn, Rebecca
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0141020504 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0141020504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.15
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Kohn, Rebecca
Published by Penguin Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0141020504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Kohn, Rebecca
ISBN 10: 0141020504 ISBN 13: 9780141020501
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 199mm x 24mm. Paperback. One girl, one nation, one chance .Esther's story is one of the most dramatic in the Bible: a renowned beauty, she used her feminine wiles to capture the heart of a king and .Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.252. Bookseller Inventory # 9780141020501

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 22.10
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds