Believing is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art

3.59 avg rating
( 181 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780140168242: Believing is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art

This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801401682420000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books 1995-01-01 (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 3
Seller
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books 1995-01-01, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1st. 0140168249 Brand new and ships pronto! Multiple quantities available. Bookseller Inventory # B102-9780140168242-11-14023

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 208 x 150 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0140168249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.91
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1995. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0140168249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 208 x 150 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 1995. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0140168249 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 4266500

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0140168249. Bookseller Inventory # Z0140168249ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. New. This item is new unopened, never used and still in its original manufacturer condition. Tracking number will be provided to you so that you may track your order (for all USA orders). Bookseller Inventory # 9111655

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book