Believing Is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art

3.56 avg rating
( 200 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140168242: Believing Is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art

Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Mary Anne Staniszewski studies culture and art in relation to political and social notions. Her books are Believing Is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art and The Power of Display: A History of Exhibition Installations at the Museum of Modern Art .Staniszewski organized a symposium on contemporary slavery at Exit Art in New York. Staniszewski holds a PhD in Art History from the Graduate School and University Center, City University of New York, and is a professor at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0140168249 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132207509

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # BKTY9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0140168249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0140168249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books 1995-01-01 (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books 1995-01-01, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1st. 0140168249 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0140168249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne (Author)
Published by Penguin Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 1st edition. 320 pages. 8.25x5.75x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 0140168249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
23.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
Published by Penguin Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110140168249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds