Believing is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art

3.58 avg rating
( 191 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140168242: Believing is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art

This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801401682420000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 1995. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 208 x 150 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Believing is Seeing: Creating the Culture of Art, Mary Anne Staniszewski, This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth. Bookseller Inventory # B9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Publishing Group 1995-01-01, New York, N.Y. |London (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group 1995-01-01, New York, N.Y. |London, 1995. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 208 x 150 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mary Anne Staniszewski
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. 208 x 150 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. This is a look at the principles of art history. Working from the thesis that modernity is the culture that invented what art is, the author by means of the pictorial essay offers a cultural critique of the contemporary circumstances that have influenced our notions of what art actually is, how we attempt to value it, how we have come to make a business of it. Like film, photography and other forms of mass culture, the author studies how popular taste influences the aesthetic criteria that determine its worth. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne (Author)
Published by Penguin Books (1995)
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1995. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 1st edition. 320 pages. 8.25x5.75x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-0140168249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1995. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.35
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Staniszewski, Mary Anne
ISBN 10: 0140168249 ISBN 13: 9780140168242
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1995. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780140168242

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.35
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book