Arabian Sands: Revised Edition (Travel Library)

4.15 avg rating
( 3,679 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140095142: Arabian Sands: Revised Edition (Travel Library)

"Arabian Sands" is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life-"the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets." In the spirit of T. E. Lawrence, he set out to explore the deserts of Arabia, traveling among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels. His now-classic account is invaluable to understanding the modern Middle East.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003) was a British explorer and travel writer. He was born at Addis Ababa, Abyssinia (now Ethiopia). Educated at Eton and Oxford, he worked in the Sudan Political Service and and later, for a year, as a Political Officer for the Ethiopian Emperor, Haile Selassie. He is best known for two travel books: Arabian Sands (1959) and The Marsh Arabs (1964).
 
Rory Stewart (introducer) has written for the New York Times MagazineGranta, and the London Review of Books, and is the author of The Places In Between and The Prince of the Marshes. A former fellow at the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government, he was awarded the Order of the British Empire by the British government for services in Iraq.

Review:

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, ["Arabian Sands"] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." -"The Daily Telegraph", London "The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life." -"The Sunday Times", London

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Thesiger, Wilfred
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140095144 ISBN 13: 9780140095142
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Crashing Rocks Books
(Punta Gorda, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0140095144 New Book. May have shelf wear from storage. Ships Fast with tracking!. Bookseller Inventory # 9780140095142

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wilfred Thesiger
Published by Penguin Books (1985)
ISBN 10: 0140095144 ISBN 13: 9780140095142
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1985. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0140095144

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Wilfred Thesiger
Published by Penguin Books (1985)
ISBN 10: 0140095144 ISBN 13: 9780140095142
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1985. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0140095144

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Thesiger, Wilfred
Published by Penguin Books (1985)
ISBN 10: 0140095144 ISBN 13: 9780140095142
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1985. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110140095144

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Thesiger, Wilfred
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140095144 ISBN 13: 9780140095142
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0140095144 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0961335

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds