Items related to Jamaica Inn (Virago Modern Classics)

Jamaica Inn (Virago Modern Classics) - Softcover

 
9781844080397: Jamaica Inn (Virago Modern Classics)
View all copies of this ISBN edition
 
 

Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner. - The Times

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After the death of her mother, Mary Yellan crosses the windswept Cornish moors to Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience.

There she finds Patience a changed woman, downtrodden by her domineering, vicious husband Joss Merlyn.

The inn is a front for a lawless gang of criminals, and Mary is unwillingly dragged into their dangerous world of smuggling and murder. Before long she will be forced to cross her own moral line to save herself...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
Daphne du Maurier has no equal (Sunday Telegraph)

A true classic (Amazon.com)

Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written (Good Book Guide)

Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner (The Times)

A dark tale. A brilliant thriller (Daily Express)

A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights (Independent)
Book Description:

* By one of the 20th century's best loved storytellers.
* A classic tale of murder, mystery and passion - compare to Wuthering Heights.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherVirago
  • Publication date2003
  • ISBN 10 1844080390
  • ISBN 13 9781844080397
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages320
  • Rating

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Maurier Daphne Du
Published by HACHETTE, 2003
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Paperback

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: GoldenDragon, Houston, TX, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Paperback. Condition: new. Buy for Great customer experience. Seller Inventory # GoldenDragon1844080390

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 9.91
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 2.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Seller Image

Du Maurier, Daphne, Dame
Published by HACHETTE, 2003
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Softcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: GreatBookPrices, Columbia, MD, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 1479366-n

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 10.39
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 2.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Seller Image

Daphne Du Maurier
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Paperback

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Grand Eagle Retail, Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. On a bitter November evening, young Mary Yellan journeys across the rainswept moors to Jamaica Inn in honour of her mother's dying request. When she arrives, the warning of the coachman begins to echo in her memory, for her aunt Patience cowers before hulking Uncle Joss Merlyn. Terrified of the inn's brooding power, Mary gradually finds herself ensnared in the dark schemes being enacted behind its crumbling walls -- and tempted to love a man she dares not trust. A tale of murder, mystery and romance. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9781844080397

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 13.09
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Maurier Daphne Du
Published by Little, Brown and Company, 2003
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Softcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Majestic Books, Hounslow, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: New. pp. x + 302 + [vi]. Seller Inventory # 7489546

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 8.74
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 6.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Daphne Du Maurier
Published by Virago Press Ltd, 2003
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Paperback

Quantity: Over 20 available

Seller: Monster Bookshop, Fleckney, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9781844080397-GDR

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 9.14
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 8.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Seller Image

Daphne DuMaurier
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Taschenbuch

Quantity: 2 available

Seller: AHA-BUCH GmbH, Einbeck, Germany

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Taschenbuch. Condition: Neu. Neuware - AN UNFORGETTABLE STORY OF MURDER, MYSTERY AND PASSION, FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF REBECCA.'Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner' THE TIMES'Daphne du Maurier has no equal' SUNDAY TELEGRAPH 'Jamaica Inn is a novel about nothing less than pure evil . with an eerie and shocking kind of power, in the novel's astonishing final act' JULIE MYERSON, GUARDIAN In the bitter November wind, Mary Yellan crosses Bodmin Moor to Jamaica Inn. Her mother's dying wish was that she take refuge there with her Aunt Patience. But when Mary arrives, the warning of the coachman echoes in her mind. Jamaica Inn has a desolate power and behind its crumbling walls, Patience is a changed woman, cowering before her brooding, violent husband. When Mary discovers the inn's dark secrets, the truth is more terrifying than anything she could possibly imagine and she is forced to collude in her uncle's murderous schemes. Against her will, she finds herself powerfully attracted to her uncle's brother, a man she dares not trust.Jamaica Inn is a dark and gripping gothic tale that will remind readers of two other great classics, Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights. This was also made into a film, also called Jamaica Inn, directed by Alfred Hitchcock. Seller Inventory # 9781844080397

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 10.94
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 8.36
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Maurier Daphne Du
Published by HACHETTE, 2003
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Softcover

Quantity: Over 20 available

Seller: Ria Christie Collections, Uxbridge, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: New. In. Seller Inventory # ria9781844080397_new

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 9.54
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 9.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Daphne Du Maurier
Published by Virago Press Ltd, 2003
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Paperback

Quantity: 2 available

Seller: Revaluation Books, Exeter, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 320 pages. 7.68x5.00x1.06 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __1844080390

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 9.60
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Maurier Daphne Du
Published by HACHETTE, 2003
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Softcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Books Unplugged, Amherst, NY, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: New. Buy with confidence! Book is in new, never-used condition 0.57. Seller Inventory # bk1844080390xvz189zvxnew

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 19.70
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Daphne du Maurier:
Published by Virago Press, 2003
ISBN 10: 1844080390 ISBN 13: 9781844080397
New Softcover

Quantity: Over 20 available

Seller: Brook Bookstore, Milano, MI, Italy

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: new. Seller Inventory # cc8aebb70dfa25ad48a1f681937ab941

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 13.69
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 6.72
From Italy to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book