Items related to Hood

Donoghue, Emma Hood

ISBN 13: 9781555834531

Hood

3.6 avg rating
( 2,559 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781555834531: Hood
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

From the New York Times bestselling author of Room, Emma Donoghue, Hood is a graceful tale of a young woman who must come toterms with love and loss in the wake of her partner's sudden passing. The NewYork Times Book Review calls Hood "utterly charming," writing that,"Ms. Donoghue displays her confidence by avoiding the grandiose and the showy, and dipping into the ordinary with control and the occasional sustainingdescriptive flashes of a born writer." For readers of Jeanette Winterson's Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and JoyceCarol Oates's The Widow's Story, Donoghue's Hood is a masterfullycrafted narrative of relationships and a daring, deft exploration of the love'simperfection--and how it can nonetheless dominate our lives as we grow andchange.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

A tale of grief and lust, frustration and hilarity, death and family

Penelope O'Grady and Cara Wall are risking disaster when, like teenagers in any intolerant time and place--here, a Dublin convent school in the late 1970s--they fall in love. Yet Cara, the free spirit, and Pen, the stoic, craft a bond so strong it seems as though nothing could sever it: not the bickering, not the secrets, not even Cara's infidelities.

But thirteen years on, a car crash kills Cara and rips the lid off Pen's world. Pen is still in the closet, teaching at her old school, living under the roof of Cara's gentle father, who thinks of her as his daughter's friend. How can she survive widowhood without even daring to claim the word? Over the course of one surreal week of bereavement, she is battered by memories that range from the humiliating, to the exalted, to the erotic, to the funny. It will take Pen all her intelligence and wit to sort through her tumultuous past with Cara, and all the nerve she can muster to start remaking her life.

About the Author:

Emma Donoghue was born in Dublin and lived in England for many years before moving to Canada. She writes in many genres, including theatre, radio drama and literary history, but is best known for her fiction, both historical (Slammerkin, The Sealed Letter, Astray, Frog Music) and contemporary (Stir-fry, Hood, Landing, Touchy Subjects). Her seventh novel, Room, won the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize and the Commonwealth Writers' Prize (Canada and the Caribbean region) and was shortlisted for the Man Booker and Orange Prizes. It sold more than two million copies. Donoghue scripted the film adaptation, a Canadian-Irish film by Lenny Abrahamson starring Brie Larson, which was nominated for four Academy Awards, including Best Picture.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780062117106: Hood

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
Publisher: HarperPerennial, 2011
Softcover

9780060171100: Hood

Harper..., 1996
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Donoghue, Emma
Published by Alyson Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 1555834531 ISBN 13: 9781555834531
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # Q-1555834531

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
83.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds