Richard Harland Worldshaker

ISBN 13: 9781416995524

Worldshaker

3.61 avg rating
( 2,439 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781416995524: Worldshaker
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Col is a wealthy child of privilege. Raised to succeed his grandfather as the Supreme Commander of the juggernaut Worldshaker, he has lived a pampered life on the Upper Decks. He has never questioned his place in the world or his bright and illustrious future. But when a Filthy girl stows away in his cabin, suddenly nothing is clear anymore. Quick and clever, Riff is nothing like the Filthies that Col always learned about--the dumb, slow, less-than-human folk who toil away Below, keeping Worldshaker moving. Filthies are supposed to be animal-like, without the power of speech or the ability to think for themselves--but Riff is clever and quick and outspoken, and Col is drawn to her despite himself.

As Col begins to secretly spend more time with Riff, he begins to question everything he was raised to believe was true, and realizes that if Riff is right, then everything he was raised to believe is a lie. And Col himself may be the only person in a position to do something about it--even if it means risking his future.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Aurealis Award winner Harland has a deft hand for balancing the icky and creepy...with fast plotting, family rivalries and dashing heroics. The climax provides a page-turning, pulse-pounding read."--Kirkus Reviews

"Readers looking for their next adventure in steampunk will most certainly find it here...Fans of Philip Reeve's Mortal Engines and Kenneth Oppel's Airborn will find themselves fully engrossed in the rich setting and thrilling action."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author:

Richard Harland is the author of many fantasy, horror, and science fiction novels for young readers, including Worldshaker, Liberator, the Eddon and Vail series, the Heaven and Earth Trilogy, and the Wolf Kingdom quartet, which won the Aurealis Award. He lives in Australia. Visit him at RichardHarland.net.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Harland, Richard
Published by Simon and Schuster 2010-05-18 (2010)
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster 2010-05-18, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9781416995524B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
3.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.60
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Harland, Richard
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. HRD. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # KS-9781416995524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Harland, Richard
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1416995528

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.76
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Harland, Richard
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (2010)
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2010. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1416995528 Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z1416995528ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Richard Harland
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, United States, 2010. Hardback. Condition: New. Reprint ed. Language: English. Brand new Book. Col is a wealthy child of privilege. Raised to succeed his grandfather as the Supreme Commander of the juggernaut Worldshaker, he has lived a pampered life on the Upper Decks. He has never questioned his place in the world or his bright and illustrious future. But when a Filthy girl stows away in his cabin, suddenly nothing is clear anymore. Quick and clever, Riff is nothing like the Filthies that Col always learned about--the dumb, slow, less-than-human folk who toil away Below, keeping Worldshaker moving. Filthies are supposed to be animal-like, without the power of speech or the ability to think for themselves--but Riff is clever and quick and outspoken, and Col is drawn to her despite himself. As Col begins to secretly spend more time with Riff, he begins to question everything he was raised to believe was true, and realizes that if Riff is right, then everything he was raised to believe is a lie. And Col himself may be the only person in a position to do something about it--even if it means risking his future. Seller Inventory # BZV9781416995524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Harland, Richard
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1416995528 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI791934

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Richard Harland
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, United States, 2010. Hardback. Condition: New. Reprint ed. Language: English. Brand new Book. Col is a wealthy child of privilege. Raised to succeed his grandfather as the Supreme Commander of the juggernaut Worldshaker, he has lived a pampered life on the Upper Decks. He has never questioned his place in the world or his bright and illustrious future. But when a Filthy girl stows away in his cabin, suddenly nothing is clear anymore. Quick and clever, Riff is nothing like the Filthies that Col always learned about--the dumb, slow, less-than-human folk who toil away Below, keeping Worldshaker moving. Filthies are supposed to be animal-like, without the power of speech or the ability to think for themselves--but Riff is clever and quick and outspoken, and Col is drawn to her despite himself. As Col begins to secretly spend more time with Riff, he begins to question everything he was raised to believe was true, and realizes that if Riff is right, then everything he was raised to believe is a lie. And Col himself may be the only person in a position to do something about it--even if it means risking his future. Seller Inventory # AAS9781416995524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Richard Harland
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, United States, 2010. Hardback. Condition: New. Reprint ed. Language: English. Brand new Book. Col is a wealthy child of privilege. Raised to succeed his grandfather as the Supreme Commander of the juggernaut Worldshaker, he has lived a pampered life on the Upper Decks. He has never questioned his place in the world or his bright and illustrious future. But when a Filthy girl stows away in his cabin, suddenly nothing is clear anymore. Quick and clever, Riff is nothing like the Filthies that Col always learned about--the dumb, slow, less-than-human folk who toil away Below, keeping Worldshaker moving. Filthies are supposed to be animal-like, without the power of speech or the ability to think for themselves--but Riff is clever and quick and outspoken, and Col is drawn to her despite himself. As Col begins to secretly spend more time with Riff, he begins to question everything he was raised to believe was true, and realizes that if Riff is right, then everything he was raised to believe is a lie. And Col himself may be the only person in a position to do something about it--even if it means risking his future. Seller Inventory # BZV9781416995524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Richard Harland
Published by Simon + Schuster Inc. (2010)
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon + Schuster Inc., 2010. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # TH9781416995524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.29
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Richard Harland
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 1416995528 ISBN 13: 9781416995524
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. Hardback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781416995524

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book