Items related to Oryx and Crake

Atwood, Margaret Oryx and Crake

ISBN 13: 9780771008689

Oryx and Crake

4.01 avg rating
( 246,708 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780771008689: Oryx and Crake
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize

Margaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"In the beginning, there was chaos..." Margaret Atwood's chilling new novel Oryx and Crake moves beyond the futuristic fantasy of her 1985 bestseller The Handmaid’s Tale to an even more dystopian world, a world where language--and with it anything beyond the merest semblance of humanity--has almost entirely vanished.

Snowman may be the last man on earth, the only survivor of an unnamed apocalypse. Once he was Jimmy, a member of a scientific elite; now he lives in bitter isolation and loneliness, his only pleasure the watching of old films on DVD. His mind moves backwards and forwards through time, from an agonising trawl through memory to relive the events that led up to sudden catastrophe (most significantly the disappearance of his mother and the arrival of his mysterious childhood companions Oryx and Crake, symbols of the fractured society in which Snowman now finds himself, to the horrifying present of genetic engineering run amok. His only witnesses, eager to lap up his testimony, are "Crakers", laboratory creatures of varying strengths and abilities, who can offer little comfort. Gradually the reasons behind the disaster begin to unfold as Snowman undertakes a perilous journey to the remains of the bubble-dome complex where the sinister Paradice Project collapsed and near-global devastation began.

This, Atwood’s 11th novel, confirms her as one of our most contemporary novelists. Darkly humorous and icily prescient, Oryx and Crake shows a writer deeply concerned with the stark moral issues facing the human race, and accords a glimpse of a future that lies all too uneasily within reach. --Catherine Taylor

Review:

The writing is spare. The structure is tight. The observation of the human condition is both profound and impish. Character is crucial. The issues are huge and we feel the weight of them. Finally, it leaves the reader on a cliff-edge the like of which I have never encountered elsewhere. It was nominated for the Man Booker. I think it should have won (Anita Mason Guardian)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Shipping: 6.72
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780385721677: Oryx and Crake: The Maddaddam Trilogy, Book 1

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0385721676 ISBN 13: 9780385721677
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 2004
Softcover

9780349004068: Oryx And Crake: Margaret Atwood (The Maddaddam Trilogy)

Virago..., 2013
Softcover

9780385503853: Oryx and Crake (Atwood, Margaret Eleanor)

Nan a ..., 2003
Hardcover

9781844080281: Oryx And Crake

Virago, 2004
Softcover

9781408802779: Oryx and Crake

Blooms..., 2009
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Atwood, Margaret
Published by McClelland & Stewart (2003)
ISBN 10: 0771008686 ISBN 13: 9780771008689
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 0771008686-11-25563799

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
29.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.72
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Atwood, Margaret
Published by McClelland & Stewart (2003)
ISBN 10: 0771008686 ISBN 13: 9780771008689
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think0771008686

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
27.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 24.08
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Atwood, Margaret
Published by McClelland & Stewart (2003)
ISBN 10: 0771008686 ISBN 13: 9780771008689
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0771008686-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
39.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12.45
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Atwood, Margaret
Published by Brand: McClelland n Stewart Ltd. (2003)
ISBN 10: 0771008686 ISBN 13: 9780771008689
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Hafa Adai Books
(Moncks Corner, SC, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # Hafa_fresh_0771008686

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
26.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 27.36
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Margaret ATWOOD
Published by McClelland & Stewart Ltd. (2003)
ISBN 10: 0771008686 ISBN 13: 9780771008689
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0771008686

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
51.66
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.72
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Atwood, Margaret
Published by Brand: McClelland n Stewart Ltd. (2003)
ISBN 10: 0771008686 ISBN 13: 9780771008689
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Campbell Bookstore
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # NewCamp0771008686

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
26.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 40.68
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Atwood, Margaret
Published by McClelland & Stewart (2003)
ISBN 10: 0771008686 ISBN 13: 9780771008689
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(LOS ANGELES, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. In shrink wrap. Seller Inventory # Q-0771008686

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
57.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 36.53
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds