McMahon, Katharine The Alchemist's Daughter

ISBN 13: 9780753821312

The Alchemist's Daughter

3.25 avg rating
( 4,377 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780753821312: The Alchemist's Daughter
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

From the author of Richard and Judy Book Club choice, THE ROSE OF SEBASTOPOL

'A first-rate historical romance: it's hard to think it will be bettered this year' INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY

When two strangers enters the manor of a brilliant alchemist and his talented young daughter, nothing will remain the same...

Dark secrets haunt the manor house at Selden in Buckinghamshire, where Emilie Selden, motherless, fiercely intelligent and beautiful, has been raised in near isolation by her father. John Selden, student of Isaac Newton, is conducting a secret experiment. He aims to turn Emilie into a brilliant natural philosopher and alchemist and fills her with knowledge while recording every step she takes.

In the spring of 1725, when Emilie is eighteen, father and daughter begin their most daring adventure - an attempt to breathe life into dead matter. But they are interrupted by the arrival of two strangers. During the course of a sultry August, Emilie is caught up in the passion of first love and, listening for the first time to her heart rather than her head, she makes her choice - with consequences that are far-reaching and tumultuous.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A first-rate historical romance: it's hard to think it will be bettered this year (INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY)

This is an intelligent portrait of England in the early 18th century, as experienced by a remarkable young woman (THE TIMES)

What makes THE ALCHEMIST'S DAUGHTER more than a routine entertainment is McMahon's vivid sense of both the natural world and of the smells and illuminated darkness of Selden's workroom. We believe in Emilie and come to love her for all her follies, because she is so passionate in her experience of the world around her (INDEPENDENT)

Book Description:

A classic, page-turning story of secrets and science, passion and betrayal, innocence and experience - in the tradition of Tracy Chevalier and Philippa Gregory

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780307335852: The Alchemist's Daughter

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0307335852 ISBN 13: 9780307335852
Publisher: Broadway Books, 2006
Softcover

9780307238511: The Alchemist's Daughter

Crown ..., 2006
Hardcover

9781407216638: The Alchemist's Daughter

Phoenix, 2006
Softcover

9780739326107: Title: The Alchemists Daughter

Listen..., 2006
Hardcover

9780750526104: The Alchemist's Daughter

Magna ..., 2006
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Katharine McMahon
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2006)
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. From the author of Richard and Judy Book Club choice, THE ROSE OF SEBASTOPOL'A first-rate historical romance: it's hard to think it will be bettered this year' INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAYWhen two strangers enters the manor of a brilliant alchemist and his talented young daughter, nothing will remain the same. Dark secrets haunt the manor house at Selden in Buckinghamshire, where Emilie Selden, motherless, fiercely intelligent and beautiful, has been raised in near isolation by her father. John Selden, student of Isaac Newton, is conducting a secret experiment. He aims to turn Emilie into a brilliant natural philosopher and alchemist and fills her with knowledge while recording every step she takes. In the spring of 1725, when Emilie is eighteen, father and daughter begin their most daring adventure - an attempt to breathe life into dead matter. But they are interrupted by the arrival of two strangers. During the course of a sultry August, Emilie is caught up in the passion of first love and, listening for the first time to her heart rather than her head, she makes her choice - with consequences that are far-reaching and tumultuous. Seller Inventory # HUK9780753821312

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Katharine McMahon
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2006)
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. From the author of Richard and Judy Book Club choice, THE ROSE OF SEBASTOPOL'A first-rate historical romance: it's hard to think it will be bettered this year' INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAYWhen two strangers enters the manor of a brilliant alchemist and his talented young daughter, nothing will remain the same. Dark secrets haunt the manor house at Selden in Buckinghamshire, where Emilie Selden, motherless, fiercely intelligent and beautiful, has been raised in near isolation by her father. John Selden, student of Isaac Newton, is conducting a secret experiment. He aims to turn Emilie into a brilliant natural philosopher and alchemist and fills her with knowledge while recording every step she takes. In the spring of 1725, when Emilie is eighteen, father and daughter begin their most daring adventure - an attempt to breathe life into dead matter. But they are interrupted by the arrival of two strangers. During the course of a sultry August, Emilie is caught up in the passion of first love and, listening for the first time to her heart rather than her head, she makes her choice - with consequences that are far-reaching and tumultuous. Seller Inventory # HUK9780753821312

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Katharine McMahon
Published by Orion 2006-09-06, London (2006)
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion 2006-09-06, London, 2006. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780753821312

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Katharine McMahon
Published by Phoenix (2006)
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Phoenix, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000294868

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

McMahon, Katharine
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780753821312_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

KatharineMcMahon
Published by Hachette
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Brook Bookstore
(Milano, MI, Italy)

Book Description Hachette. Condition: new. TheAlchemist'sDaughter. Seller Inventory # c5160a571136e37a9b37f1979cdc3fe1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.35
From Italy to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Katharine McMahon
Published by Orion Publishing Co
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 3 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780753821312

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Katharine McMahon
Published by W&N 2006-09-06 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description W&N 2006-09-06, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-GRD-9780753821312

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Katharine McMahon
Published by W&N 2006-09-06 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description W&N 2006-09-06, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-HCE-9780753821312

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 14.35
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

McMahon, Katharine
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2006)
ISBN 10: 0753821311 ISBN 13: 9780753821312
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, 2006. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780753821312

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book