Howard, Greg The Whispers

ISBN 13: 9780241367087

The Whispers

 
9780241367087: The Whispers
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A coming-of-age tale that will make you laugh and cry, perfect for fans of Time Travelling With a Hamster and The Goldfish Boy.

Before she disappeared, Riley's mama used to tell him stories about the Whispers, mysterious creatures with the power to grant wishes.

Riley wishes for lots of things. He wishes his secret crush Dylan liked him back. He wishes the bumbling detective would stop asking awkward questions. But most of all he wishes his mother would come home . . .

Four months later, the police are no closer to finding out the truth - and Riley decides to take matters into his own hands.

But do the Whispers really exist?
And what is Riley willing to do to find out?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A heartbreaking, beguiling debut . . . This poignant journey through the badlands of grief is crammed with tenderness, wit and warmth. (The Guardian)

Howard pulls off the trick of making Riley's real quest even more heart-wrenching than the fantasy that drives it. This taut, moving tale delves beyond loss into issues of sexuality, conformity and self-acceptance . . . "The Whispers" is a masterful exploration into the power of storytelling but also its dangers, including self-denial and escapism. (The New York Times)

Howard triumphs in the delicate treatment of complex themes - trauma, religion and sexuality, to name a modest few - rendering The Whispers a suitable tale for readers of R. J. Palacio's thoughtful bestseller, Wonder. (NYALitFest 2018-12-03)

About the Author:

Greg Howard grew up near the coast of South Carolina. His hometown of Georgetown, South Carolina is known as the "Ghost Capital of the South" and was always a great source of material for his overactive imagination. Raised in a staunchly religious home, Greg escaped into the arts: singing, playing piano, acting, writing songs, and making up stories. These days, Greg resides in Nashville, TN with his husband, Steve, and their three rescued fur babies. Molly, Toby, and Riley.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Greg Howard
Published by Penguin Random House Children's UK, United Kingdom (2019)
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Penguin Random House Children's UK, United Kingdom, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A coming-of-age tale that will make you laugh and cry, perfect for fans of Time Travelling With a Hamster and The Goldfish Boy.Before she disappeared, Riley's mama used to tell him stories about the Whispers, mysterious creatures with the power to grant wishes.Riley wishes for lots of things. He wishes his secret crush Dylan liked him back. He wishes the bumbling detective would stop asking awkward questions. But most of all he wishes his mother would come home . . .Four months later, the police are no closer to finding out the truth - and Riley decides to take matters into his own hands.But do the Whispers really exist?And what is Riley willing to do to find out?. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780241367087

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Greg Howard
Published by Penguin Random House Children's UK, United Kingdom (2019)
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Penguin Random House Children's UK, United Kingdom, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A coming-of-age tale that will make you laugh and cry, perfect for fans of Time Travelling With a Hamster and The Goldfish Boy.Before she disappeared, Riley's mama used to tell him stories about the Whispers, mysterious creatures with the power to grant wishes.Riley wishes for lots of things. He wishes his secret crush Dylan liked him back. He wishes the bumbling detective would stop asking awkward questions. But most of all he wishes his mother would come home . . .Four months later, the police are no closer to finding out the truth - and Riley decides to take matters into his own hands.But do the Whispers really exist?And what is Riley willing to do to find out?. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780241367087

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Greg Howard
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2019)
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2019. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780241367087

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Howard, Greg
Published by Puffin (2019)
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New Paperback Quantity Available: 11
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Puffin, 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0004092371

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Greg Howard (author)
Published by Penguin Books Ltd 2019-01-17, London (2019)
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd 2019-01-17, London, 2019. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780241367087

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Greg Howard
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description 2019. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Since his mother's disappearance four months ago, Riley has become increasingly frustrated by the incompetence of the police and apathy of his family and friends. In desperation, Riley tur.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 256 pages. 0.207. Seller Inventory # 9780241367087

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Greg Howard
Published by Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780241367087

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.78
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 11.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Howard, Greg
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 33785073-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.07
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Greg Howard
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2019)
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New Quantity Available: 11
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2019. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780241367087

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Howard, Greg
Published by Puffin (2019)
ISBN 10: 0241367085 ISBN 13: 9780241367087
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Puffin, 2019. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 256 pages. 7.72x5.04x0.94 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0241367085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.37
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 30
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book