Swarns, Rachel L. American Tapestry (P.S.)

ISBN 13: 9780061999871

American Tapestry (P.S.)

3.69 avg rating
( 302 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061999871: American Tapestry (P.S.)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself.In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research--in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family--author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama's black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know.At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Extraordinary. . . . A fascinating account of the First Lady's family. . . . No political [book] has ever looked like this one."--New York Times Book Review

"Richly detailed. . . . A lushly layered portrait of the nation itself. . . .Swarns weaves a narrative in which massive social changes (slavery, Reconstruction, the Great Migration) and the microscopic details of DNA play equally important roles."--Boston Globe

"Swarns has unearthed and disseminated crucial American history here. . . . A remarkable, only-in-America story that Swarns tells with care and thoughtfulness. . . . Her passion for the story is clear and striking. . . . This book is a worthy and significant endeavor."--Washington Post

"Tremendously moving. . . . Swarns provides numerous tales of heartbreak and achievement, many of which essentially make up the American story."--Kirkus Reviews

"[A] meticulous, detailed investigation into Mrs. Obama's family tree. . . . American Tapestry holds rewards."--Denver Post

"Swarns discovers an interesting world that not only helps to define the First Lady's personal background but is also an essential piece of the fabric that makes up America's roots. . . . A great glimpse into America's multicultural foundations."--Upscale Magazine

"[A] layered, scrupulously researched, and wrenching chronicle."--Publishers Weekly

"A meticulously researched and eloquently written real-life detective story."--Essence

"Swarns paints a vivid, intriguing portrait of people whose struggles, losses, and triumphs speak volumes about the pull of family and the power of American endurance."--Los Angeles Times

"An engrossing book. . . . Swarns outlines the fascinating journeys taken by various ancestors of First Lady Michelle Obama--the people who, across the generations, helped make her who she is today."--Library Journal

From the Back Cover:

Michelle Obama's family saga is a remarkable, quintessentially American story--a journey from slavery to the White House in five generations. In this prodigiously researched epic, New York Times correspondent Rachel L. Swarns traces that complex and fascinating tale--from the men who fought in the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, to the mothers and fathers who endured the horrors of slavery and the indignities of segregation to build a better future for their children--uncovering details about Mrs. Obama's black, white, and multiracial forebears that even the First Lady herself did not know.

Though an intimate family history, American Tapestry is also the collective chronicle of our changing nation, a beautifully rendered and singularly inspiring story with resonance for us all.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780061999864: American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0061999865 ISBN 13:  9780061999864
Publisher: Amistad Press,U.S. (a division o..., 2012
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Swarns, Rachel L
Published by Amistad (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Amistad, 2013. Paperback. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780061999871

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.22
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Rachel L. Swarns
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself.In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research--in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family--author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama's black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know.At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves. Seller Inventory # AAV9780061999871

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.87
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Rachel L. Swarns
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself.In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research--in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family--author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama's black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know.At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves. Seller Inventory # BTE9780061999871

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Swarns, Rachel L.
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 19302176-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.38
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Swarns, Rachel L
Published by Amistad (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Amistad, 2013. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0061999873_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Swarns, Rachel L
Published by Amistad 2013-04-09 00:00:00 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Visible Voice Books
(Cleveland, OH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Amistad 2013-04-09 00:00:00, 2013. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061999873 Amistad 2013-04-09 00:00:00 Used books show some shelf wear. Rarely contain notes/highlighting. Please contact seller for specific condition queries. Seller Inventory # 68778

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.16
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Swarns, Rachel L
Published by Amistad
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Amistad. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061999873. Seller Inventory # Z0061999873ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.37
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Swarns, Rachel L
Published by Amistad
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Amistad. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061999873. Seller Inventory # Z0061999873ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.37
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Swarns, Rachel L.
Published by Amistad Press 4/9/2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Amistad Press 4/9/2013, 2013. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. American Tapestry: The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780061999871

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Swarns, Rachel L.
Published by AMISTAD (2013)
ISBN 10: 0061999873 ISBN 13: 9780061999871
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description AMISTAD, 2013. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # LQ-9780061999871

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book